Most runs in a calendar year in ODI cricket | Most ODI runs

Sachin and Sourav hold the top-2 spots for most runs in a calendar year in ODIs

Sachin and Sourav hold the top-2 spots for most runs in a calendar year in ODIs

Currently, Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for most runs in a calendar year in ODI cricket. The former Indian opener scored a massive 1894 runs at an average of 65.31 in 1998. Sachin’s innings of 143 against Australia at Sharjah in 1998 still happens to be one of the most impactful ODI innings of his career. It was a dream year for Sachin when he scored nine ODI hundreds in a year in 1998.

Even after more than 20 years, Sachin’s record for most ODI runs in a calendar year remains to withstand. On a couple of occasions, players reached to his tally of ODI runs in a year, but could never overhaul his figures achieved in 1998.

Here’s a list of players with most runs in a calendar year:

Most runs in a calendar year in ODIs

SR Tendulkar (INDIA)199834334189414365.311854102.1597018840
SC Ganguly (INDIA)199941413176718346.50232576.00410118326
R Dravid (INDIA)199943435176115346.34234375.1668316412
SR Tendulkar (INDIA)199632322161113753.70195482.4469016317
ML Hayden (AUS)2007323031601181*59.29179589.1956116835
Saeed Anwar (PAK)199636365159511551.45174291.56310015920
SC Ganguly (INDIA)200032324157914456.39190882.7576015135
RG Sharma (INDIA)201928271149015957.30165789.9276114636
MJ Guptill (NZ)2015323251489237*55.14154296.5648316242
ME Waugh (AUS)199936363146810644.48194275.5921111356
G Kirsten (SA)200036363146711544.45200473.2021311410
V Kohli (INDIA)201726267146013176.84147399.1167213622
G Kirsten (SA)1996292941442188*57.68172483.6464113310
SR Tendulkar (INDIA)2007333221425100*47.50166585.58113319212
RT Ponting (AUS)2007272461424134*79.11155391.6958014416
DA Warner (AUS)201623231138817363.091316105.4774014822
V Kohli (INDIA)201134345138111747.62161485.564821277
V Kohli (INDIA)201926252137712359.86142996.365711338
KS Williamson (NZ)201527262137611857.33153189.8739014912
Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK)201334327137396*54.92186773.5401518728
Yousuf Youhana (PAK)2002323051362141*54.48160484.9156211627
BC Lara (WI)199330303134915349.96186572.334711544
SD Hope (WI)201928264134517061.13172677.9248011721
SC Ganguly (INDIA)199738353133811341.81191969.72110312812
KC Sangakkara (SL)200636333133310944.43168279.2511211374
SR Tendulkar (INDIA)200034340132814639.05162481.7736014313
SC Ganguly (INDIA)199836353132812441.50190369.7847113713
IJL Trott (ENG)201129283131513752.60164380.032101992
HH Gibbs (SA)200237373131015338.52148388.3353817114
Mohammad Hafeez (PAK)2013333351301140*46.46154284.3754112225
JH Kallis (SA)200039389130098*44.82195266.59011310318
RG Sharma (INDIA)2017212131293208*71.83130099.4665111646
Yuvraj Singh (Asia/INDIA)200736335128712145.96143889.4919111933
Ijaz Ahmed (PAK)199638365128111741.32163878.20192100+18+
V Kohli (INDIA)2013343061268115*52.83130097.5347313720
M Azharuddin (INDIA)1998373341268153*43.72165676.573829810
DPMD Jayawardene (SL)200134314126011646.66153881.9237210110
KC Sangakkara (SL)201428281125612846.51143287.704821364
AD Mathews (SL)20143231111244139*62.20139189.4319011123
AC Gilchrist (AUS)199937370124115433.54139389.0826213417
SC Ganguly (Asia/INDIA)20073230212409844.28169873.02012213122
DL Haynes (WI)1985282751232145*56.00168872.98371114+5+
IVA Richards (WI)1985292551231103*61.55132992.62112095+21+
CH Gayle (WI)2006323231217133*41.96145283.8144516524
PA de Silva (SL)199728274121213452.69140386.3838111211
AB de Villiers (Afr/SA)200733325120914644.77131092.2938513826
TM Dilshan (SL)2015252411207161*52.47133090.754621338
JH Kallis (SA)2002333251204104*44.59159775.3911009716
V Kohli (INDIA)2018141451202160*133.551172102.5563012313
ST Jayasuriya (SL)200133331120210737.56144483.2428312826
KC Sangakkara (SL)201325234120116963.21134189.56210311614
MS Dhoni (INDIA)200929247119812470.47140085.572907918
RT Ponting (AUS)200929291119812642.78147781.1129012112
RG Sharma (INDIA)201328274119620952.00148080.8128011930
AB de Villiers (SA)2015201831193162*79.53865137.915509158
MS Atapattu (SL)2002323231192123*41.10167571.162801352
RT Ponting (AUS/ICC)2005292821191141*45.80141784.0538211420
PA de Silva (SL)199630295118814549.50129591.7345211815
DPMD Jayawardene (SL)2006363451185126*40.86134987.842821244
KC Sangakkara (SL)201231292118413343.85149679.143609411
ST Jayasuriya (SL)1997262631178151*51.211037113.5939313530
DM Jones (AUS)199022225117414569.05148978.844718114
Younis Khan (PAK)20023634611739041.89150477.99012210010
Yousuf Youhana (PAK)200333314116810643.25147779.0711139711
RT Ponting (AUS)199824242116614553.00151676.91360936
MEK Hussey (AUS)200933317116683*48.58128490.8001108116
AB de Villiers (SA)201327263116312850.56119897.073719421
S Dhawan (INDIA)201326252116211950.52118797.895411469
Yousuf Youhana (PAK)2000414151161100*32.25184063.09175808
TM Dilshan (SL)201325256116012561.05143181.063701261
SPD Smith (AUS)201626252115416450.17129489.1837210215
RT Ponting (AUS)2003343161154140*46.16141381.675408727
ST Jayasuriya (SL)200626251115315748.041073107.4552213728
A Jadeja (INDIA)1999363471144103*42.37148477.082527526
SR Tendulkar (INDIA)200321211114115257.05130687.363811317
AJ Finch (AUS)2019232311141153*51.86127689.424639836
SR Watson (AUS)2011232221139185*56.951046108.8928011642
WJ Cronje (SA)199429293113311243.57164069.082727114
V Sehwag (INDIA)200230303113012641.851076105.0135317110
KC Sangakkara (SL)201127253112711151.22153773.32190949
G Gambhir (INDIA)200827273111911346.62123690.533711246
TM Dilshan (SL)2012313031119160*41.44132284.6443311810
GW Flower (ZIM)2001333331116142*37.20147575.66253918
SC Ganguly (INDIA)2002323011114117*38.41134782.7019212619
Inzamam-ul-Haq (PAK)199929284110610746.08157170.4011018110
Ijaz Ahmed (PAK)1997313121104139*38.06145176.081828222
M Azharuddin (INDIA)1997363251104111*40.88155071.22190558
MS Dhoni (Asia/INDIA)2007373381103139*44.12123189.601738723

(Stat Courtesy: ESPNCricinfo)


Also Read   Most Runs in a calendar year in Test cricket |  Most Centuries in ODIs


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) / Most Asked Questions


Q: Most runs in a calendar year?

Ans: Kumar Sangakkara has scored most runs in a calendar year in 2014. The Sri Lankan batsman scored 2868 runs at an average of 53.11.

Q: Most ODI runs in a calendar year?

Ans: Sachin Tendulkar has scored most runs in a calendar year in ODI cricket. He scored 1894 runs in 1998.

Q: Most runs in a calendar year in 2019?

Ans: Virat Kohli has scored most runs in a calendar in 2019. He scored 2455 runs in 2019 at an average of 64.60.

Q: Most ODI runs in the calendar year 2020?

Ans: Aqib Ilyas from Oman has scored most ODI runs in the calendar year in 2020.

Q: Most runs in a calendar year in the T20 format?

Ans: Chris Gayle scored most T20 runs in a calendar year in 2015. He scored 1665 runs in 2015.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)