Preliminary Australia squad for World Cup 2023 announced

Cricket Australia, on Monday – August 7, named an 18-man provisional Australia squad for the upcoming ICC Men's Cricket World Cup in India.

The 18 players named will be participating in Australia's ODIs against South Africa and India prior to the World Cup, after which a final 15-man squad would be announced for the mega-event. The board also named the T20I squad for the South Africa series, led by Mitchell Marsh.

Also Read: 2023 ODI World Cup warm-up matches schedule announced

Marnus Labuschagne misses out from Australia squad

Australia squad
Photo by Icon Sport

A long stretch of ordinary returns in the ODI format has led to Marnus Labuschagne‘s omission from Australia's 50-over squad. After his first seven ODIs, the middle-order batter averaged over 50 in the format. However, his form has been on a steep decline ever since. Now, 30 ODIs into his career, he averages a mere 31.37, which is disappointing for a player of his calibre. Since the beginning of 2022, Labuschagne has scored just three fifties in 16 innings, while crossing the 30-run mark just four times in the same period of time.

Glenn Maxwell and Pat Cummins to miss South Africa ODIs

Due to the expected birth of his first child, Glenn Maxwell is set to miss Australia's ODIs against South Africa. The all-rounder will be back in action for the ODI series against India, though. With all his experience of playing across different venues in the country in the Indian Premier League, he is going to be monumental to Australia's success in the World Cup in Indian conditions.

Skipper Pat Cummins is also not going to participate in the ODIs against South Africa. He is suffering from a fractured wrist, due to which he would be out of action for six weeks. He will, however, join the Australian squad in South Africa to continue his recovery and also prepare for the ODIs against India.

Alos Read: Pat Cummins injury: Australia captain likely to miss India ODIs

Two surprise names in Australia squad in ODIs

Aaron Hardie and Tanveer Sangha are two surprise inclusions in the ODI squad. Hardie was the leading run-getter in the latest edition of the Big Bash League He bagged 460 runs in 15 games while striking at over 140. Sangha is a right-arm leg-spinner who has not played any professional cricket since a year. His last professional outing for any team was in August 2022, during The Hundred. He took 16 wickets at an average of 17.38 in the 2021-22 edition of the BBL, and had notched 21 wickets at an average of 18.29 in the edition before that.

Mitchell Marsh set to lead T20I Australia squad

Cricket Australia also announced their T20I squad for the South Africa tour. Mitchell Marsh has been appointed as the new T20I captain, while the likes of David Warner, Cameron Green, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Cummins have been rested.

“Mitch has long been a senior player within the white-ball structure, with this an opportunity for him to add to his leadership skills at the international level. We look forward to him taking that step in South Africa,” George Bailey said.

Steve Smith has been included in the T20I squad and is set to open the innings in the series. In the latest edition of the BBL, he scored 346 runs at a staggering average of 86.5 and a destructive strike rate of 174.7 while opening for the Sydney Sixers.

Matthew Short who was the Player of the Tournament in the 2022-23 edition of the BBL has earned himself a call-up. He scored 458 runs and grabbed 11 wickets in the season. He also featured in this year's edition of the IPL, where he represented Punjab Kings. 27-year-old Spencer Johnson has been included as well for his left-arm pace bowling.

Australia's preliminary 18-man squad for the World Cup

Pat Cummins (captain), David Warner, Steve Smith, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Alex Carey, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa, Tanveer Sangha

Australia's T20I squad for South Africa series

Mitchell Marsh (captain), Matthew Short, Josh Inglis, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Tim David, Marcus Stoinis, Aaron Hardie, Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Ellis, Spencer Johnson, Adam Zampa


A strong believer in the fact that Kohli and Paes are the greatest Indian superstars!