WC history: List of bowlers with World Cup Hat-Tricks

Picking a hattrick is one of the most arduous jobs as a bowler. Getting a batsman out on three consecutive deliveries requires special skill along with accuracy and a bit of luck. It is a bowler's dream to claim a hat-trick in a World Cup, at the pinnacle of world cricket. However, not every bowler in fortunate to create this piece of history. In last twelve World Cup editions, on a mere 11 instances, a bowler has been able to pick a hat-trick at the world's biggest cricket platform.

In 1987, India's Chetan Sharma became the first bowler ever to claim a World Cup Hattrick. Sharma registered himself in the history books when he claimed this special feat against New Zealand at Nagpur in the 1987 Cricket World Cup.

World Cup hattrick in 2019
Mohammad Shami became the second Indian bowler to pick a World Cup hat-trick

Most recently in the 2019 Cricket World Cup, Mohammad Shami became the second Indian bowler to pick a hat-trick in World Cup history. He achieved this landmark in a group stage match against Afghanistan at the Rose Bowl in Southampton in WC 2019. Shami was also the first bowler to claim a World Cup hat-trick in the 2019 edition of the Cricket World Cup.


Click Here to Relive Mohammad Shami's World Cup Hattrick


Later in the same tournament, Trent Boult became the first New Zealand bowler to pick a hat-trick in World Cup history. The left-arm swing bowler unlocked this major achievement against Australia at the ‘Home of Cricket' in Lord's.

Only once in World Cup history, a bowler has claimed more than one hat-trick in his playing career. In 2011 Cricket World Cup, Lasith Malinga became the first bowler to pick two World Cup hattricks. He claimed four wickets in four balls against South Africa in 2007 while registered a hat-trick against Kenya at Colombo in 2011.

Here's a look at List of bowlers who have claimed a World Cup hat-trick:

Bowler Opponent Players Date Venue
Chetan Sharma (India) New Zealand Ken Rutherford, Ian Smith and Ewen Chatfield 31 October 1987 Nagpur
Saqlain Mushtaq (Pakistan) Zimbabwe Henry Olonga, Adam Huckle, Pommie Mbangwa 11 June 1999 The Oval
Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka) Bangladesh Hannan Sarkar, Mohammad Ashraful, Ehsanul Haque 14 February 2003 Pietermaritzburg
Brett Lee (Australia) Kenya Kennedy Otieno, Brijal Patel, David Obuya 15 March 2003 Durban
Lasith Malinga

(Sri Lanka)

South Africa Shaun Pollock, Andrew Hall, Jacques Kallis, Makhaya Ntini 28 March 2007 Georgetown
Kemar Roach (West Indies) Netherlands Pieter Seelaar, Bernard Loots, Berend Westdijk 28 February 2011 New Delhi
Lasith Malinga

(Sri Lanka)

Kenya Tanmay Mishra, Peter Ongondo, Shem Ngoche 1 March 2011 Colombo
Steven Finn (England) Australia Brad Haddin, Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Johnson 14 February 2015 Melbourne
JP Duminy

(South Africa)

Sri Lanka Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara and Tharndhu Kaushal 18 March 2015 Sydney
Mohammed Shami (India) Afghanistan Mohammad Nabi, Aftab Alam and Mujeeb Ur Rahman 22 June 2019 Southampton
Trent Boult

(New Zealand)

Australia Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Starc and Jason Behrendorff 29 June 2019 Lord’s