India tour of England 2022 – Squad, Schedule and Venue

The most expected India tour of England 2022 will start with a rescheduled Test match (fifth Test match of the series), 3-match T20I series, and 3-match ODI series. 

The last Test match of the 5-match Test series was postponed last September due to the covid breakout in the Indian camp. India was leading the series 2-1 after the end of four Tests. A draw, at least, in the fifth Test will seal the series for the visitors.

The T20I series will follow the longer format, kickstarting on July 7, while the ODI series will commence on July 17.

India vs England – 5th Test Match Schedule

Date Match Details Venue Time

July 1 (Friday)

England vs India, 5th Test

Edgbaston, Birmingham

3:00 PM IST/ 09:30 AM GMT / 10:30 AM LOCAL

Squads

England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced a 15-man squad for the rescheduled one-off Test (5th) in the India tour of England in 2022.

Sam Billings was called up to the Test squad after Ben Foakes, their first-choice wicket keeper, tested positive during the third Test against New Zealand. Otherwise, the same squad from the New Zealand series is retained for this Test. About the Playing XI news, England will look to play James Anderson, who was rested on the third and final Test match against New Zealand, in place of Jamie Overton.

On the other hand, the Indian team has seen a big transformation since they played their last Test of the series the previous year. The captaincy has seen a shift from Virat Kohli to Rohit Sharma, and so have few coaching roles. You can now bet on the India Vs England match on Bet365 Mobile.

Also, the latest report of the new Indian captain, Rohit Sharma, being ruled out due to the positive results means the pacer Jasprit Bumrah will don the captaincy role. It’s been 35 years since any fast bowler has captained the Indian team in the longest format. 

With the other opener KL Rahul also ruled out due to injury, Mayank Agarwal will pair up with Shubman Gill for the Indian men in the whites on Friday morning. Cheteshwar Pujara, who has been tried as an opener in the past is also in contention to open the bat. It is also an interesting wait to see whether Srikar Bharat, who was impressed in the Leichesture warm-up game will fancy a chance to debut in this biggie.

With the conditions generally green and seam-friendly, Ravichandran Ashwin’s place in the squad is also in doubt, with India expected to play with four-seamers in their Playing XI.

India tour of England 2022

England Squad

Ben Stokes (Durham) captain, James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Harry Brook (Yorkshire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Jack Leach (Somerset), Alex Lees (Durham), Craig Overton (Somerset), Jamie Overton (Surrey), Matthew Potts (Durham), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Joe Root (Yorkshire)

India Squad

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shubhman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, Srikar Bharat, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jaasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

Weather Forecast

Birmingham is known for its cool and cloudy weather, with decent showers expected for the first three days of this Test match. 

What to expect?

When the England all-rounder Moeen Ali was asked who would win the Edgbaston Test match, he stated, “If this series had finished off last year, India would've won it. If you had asked me 4-5 weeks ago, I would've said India would win. But now I feel (that) England will win. India is a little bit undercooked”.

There is more truth to this statement, as most of the mainstays in the Indian lineup are missing the game for various reasons, and the change in leadership and coaching staff might take a bit to settle. But, on the contrary, England is coming to this Test after white-washing the World Test champions New Zealand in the 3-match Test series this month.

Overall, a cricket fan could expect nothing shorter than an interesting Test match with a great set of players on both sides.  Have a higher chance with our online cricket betting guides on Bet365 Cricket.

India tour of England – T20I & ODI Series Schedule

Six venues have been picked for the limited-overs series in the India tour of England 2022.

The first T20 match will start at 10.30 PM for the Indian viewers, whereas the other two games in the T20 series will begin at 7.00 PM IST. The ODI games will start at 5.30 PM except for the final ODI, which starts two hours earlier.

Date Match Details Venue Time

July 07 (Thursday)

England vs India, 1st T20I

The Rose Bowl, Southampton

10:30 PM IST / 05:00 PM GMT / 06:00 PM LOCAL

July 09 (Saturday)

England vs India, 2nd T20

Edgbaston, Birmingham

7:00 PM IST / 01:30 PM GMT / 02:30 PM LOCAL

July 10 (Sunday)

England vs India, 3rd T20

Trent Bridge, Nottingham

7:00 PM IST / 01:30 PM GMT / 02:30 PM LOCAL

July 12 (Tuesday)

England vs India, 1st ODI

Kennington Oval, London

5:30 PM IST / 12:00 PM GMT / 01:00 PM LOCAL

July 14 (Thursday)

England vs India, 2nd ODI

Lord's, London

5:30 PM IST / 12:00 PM GMT / 01:00 PM LOCAL

July 17 (Sunday)

England vs India, 3rd ODI Emirates

Old Trafford, Manchester

3:30 PM IST / 10:00 AM GMT / 11:00 AM LOCAL

Squad Details

The limited overs squads for the India tour of England 2022 have not been announced yet by both cricket boards. Bookmark this blog for further updates.

India tour of England 2022

What to expect?

India is expected to play their fully strengthened limited-overs squad, especially in the shortest format, with the T20 World Cup happening this year. Playing against England will provide the much-needed rehearsal for the men in blue as the hosts are one of the strongest teams in the format.