List of all IPL Teams with their Owners | IPL Team Owners

IPL Team Owners | IPL 2021

Each team in the IPL is either owned by an individual or a group of people. It is these IPL team owners who manage their franchises as they continue to play a major role in shaping the IPL since 2008. Here’s a look at IPL team owners who own their respective franchise in IPL 2021:


Click here to see Who will win today’s IPL match?

IPL TeamOwners NameBest IPL Season
Chennai Super Kings Chennai Super Kings Cricket LimitedChampions (2010, 2011, 2018)
Delhi CapitalsGMR Group and JSW GroupFinalists (2020)
Punjab KingsMohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, Karan PaulFinalists (2014)
Mumbai IndiansReliance IndustriesChampions (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020)
Kolkata Knight RidersRed Chillies Entertainment and Mehta GroupChampions (2012 and 2014)
Sunrisers HyderabadSun TV NetworkChampions (2016)
Rajasthan Royals
Amisha Hathiramani, Manoj Badale, Lachlan Murdoch, Ryan Tkalcevic, Shane Warne
Champions (2008)
Royal Challengers BangaloreUnited SpiritsFinalists (2016)


More info about IPL Team owners in 2021


IPL Team owners
CSK IPL Team owner in 2021 (Image Source: Indian Express)

CSK IPL Team owner 2021

The Chennai-based franchise, Chennai Super Kings is owned by Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited. Earlier, India Cements owned CSK from 2008 to IPL 2014, but due to conflict of Issue, the CSK IPL Team ownership was changed to a separate entity as CSK cricket ltd. N.Srinivasan, the vice-chairman and the MD of India Cements happens to be the key figure in CSK’s cricket-related activities.


ALSO READ Most Expensive Players in IPL Auction each season since 2008


Delhi IPL Team Owner 2021

Delhi Capitals is co-owned by the GMR group and the JSW group with equal shares in the franchise. In 2018, the GMR group sold 50% shares to JSW, extending the team ownership between the two co-owners. Parth Jindal, the Managing Director of the JSW (Jindal South West) is the chairman of Delhi Capitals. Parth is an active member who looks after the functioning of the franchise. He was also seen at the IPL auction in 2020.

IPL Team Owners
Anand Kripalu owns RCB in IPL 2021 (Image Source: IPL/BCCI)

RCB IPL Team Owner 2021

United Spirits has been the parent company to own Royal Challengers Bangalore since IPL 2008. However, Vijay Mallya was always regarded as the RCB team owner before he stepped down as the director of Royal Challengers Sports Private Limited (RCSPL) in 2016. The change in team ownership ahead of IPL 2016 did bring a change of fortunes for RCB as they witnessed their best IPL season in 2016. For the last five years, United Spirits are the sole team owner for RCB.


ALSO READ 4 Seasons when teams changed their IPL Team Logos


RR IPL Team Owner 2021

Rajasthan Royals is owned by a group of investors. Amisha Hathiramani, the daughter of Suresh Chellaram, owns 44.2% shares in the Rajasthan Royals setup. Also, Manoj Badale, who is one of the co-owners for RR, owns 32.4% stakes in the Jaipur-based franchise. Other team owners for RR in IPL include Shane Warne with a 3% share along with Lachlan Murdoch who owns 11.7% shares in the franchise.

IPL Team Owners
Shahrukh Khan is co-owner for KKR in the IPL (Image Source: IPL/BCCI)

KKR IPL Team Owner 2021

Shahrukh Khan’s Red Chillies Entertainment company and Mehta Group are the two team owners for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL. With stakes of 55% and 45% respectively, Shahrukh, and the Mehta Group  – headed by Juhi Chawala and her husband Jay Mehta, bought KKR in IPL 2008 for a price of $75.09 million. During most KKR matches in the IPL, both the team owners are spotted cheering for the ‘Men in Purple’ in the stadium.


MI IPL Team Owner 2021

The most successful IPL franchise, Mumbai Indians is owned by Reliance Industries since the inaugural IPL edition in 2008. Akash Ambani, the son of Mukesh Ambani, Chairman and MD of Reliance Industries, actively takes part in the functioning of the IPL  franchise alongside his mother, Nita Ambani. The two have been seen cheering for Mumbai not only at the stadiums but even giving a pep talk in the MI dressing room on various occasions. Undoubtedly, Ambanis are the most passionate IPL team owners among all the teams.

IPL Team Owners
Preity Zinta os co-owner of KXIP in IPL (Image Source: CricTracker)

Punjab Kings IPL Team Owner 2021

Punjab Kings is majorly owned by Dabur’s Mohit Burman with maximum shares (46%) in the franchise. Ness Wadia (23%), Priety Zinta (23%), and Karan Paul (8%) are the other three owners for Punjab in the IPL. However, Preity Zinta is the face of Punjab Kings. Despite underperforming in most IPL seasons, Zinta has been a key supporter for Punjab over the years. She has been regularly spotted at all IPL matches for the Punjab-based franchise.


SRH IPL Team Owner 2021

The Hyderabad-based franchise, SRH is owned by Sun TV Network since IPL 2013. The franchise replaced Deccan Chargers after the 2012 IPL edition to represent Hyderabad in the IPL. Kalinithi Maran, the CEO of the Sun TV Network in the IPL team owner while her daughter, Kaviya Maran, has been spotted cheering for the team on various occasions in the stadiums.

IPL Owner – Who owns the IPL?

Indian Premier League (IPL) is an Indian domestic T20 tournament owned by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). BCCI has a separate governing body that takes the decisions pertaining to all the activities involving IPL. Currently, Brijesh Patel is the chairman of the IPl governing council.


How to Watch IPL 2021 Live for Free?

Indian Premier League (IPL) is undoubtedly the most followed T20 cricket leagues around the globe. All IPL followers can follow CricNerds or binge on how to watch ipl live guide for live IPL action in 2021.