CSK vs MI head-to-head IPL record: Stats, total matches and history

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) are two of the most successful teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL), with a long history of rivalry.

In IPL history, the two teams have met 35 times, with MI winning 20 matches and CSK winning 15. CSK, on the other hand, has a stronger head-to-head record versus MI in the IPL playoffs. Chennai Super Kings lost to Mumbai Indians in the 2019 IPL finals by 1 run.

One of the key factors that has contributed to the rivalry between CSK and MI is the presence of some of the biggest names in world cricket in both teams. CSK has had players like MS Dhoni, Ben Stokes, and Ravindra Jadeja, while MI has had players like Rohit Sharma, Jofra Archer, and Suryakumar Yadav. The on-field battles between these players have been intense and have often decided the outcome of the match.

Overall, the CSK vs MI rivalry is one of the most exciting and fiercely contested rivalries in the IPL, and fans of both teams eagerly look forward to their matches.Β 

CSK vs MI head to head

So far in the IPL, both teams have played 35 games. MI won 20 of these games, while CSK won 15. The CSK vs MI head to head is fiercer and more close than it seems according to the statistics shown here. The matches played between these teams always goes down the wire.

Matches played 35
CSK won 15
MI won 20
Tie 0

CSK vs MI match results

The CSK vs MI head to head stats over the years in the IPL have been difficult to call. The match between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings is expected to take place for the second time in the IPL 2023. The second El Clasico IPL match of the season will be held at Chepauk Stadium.

Tournament Β  Venue Winner Margin
2023 IPL Mumbai CSK 7 Wickets
2022 IPL Mumbai MI 5 Wickets
2022 IPL Navi Mumbai CSK 3 Wickets
2021 IPL Dubai CSK 20 runs
2021 IPL Delhi MI 4 Wickets
2020 IPL Abu Dhabi CSK 5 Wickets
2020 IPL Sharjah MI 10 Wickets
2019 IPL Mumbai MI 37 runs
2019 IPL Chennai MI 46 runs
2019 IPL Chennai MI 6 Wickets
2019 IPL Hyderabad MI 1 Run
2018 IPL Mumbai CSK 1 wicket
2018 IPL Pune MI 8 wickets
2015 IPL Mumbai CSK 6 wickets
2015 IPL Chennai MI 6 wickets
2015 IPL Mumbai MI 25 runs
2015 IPL Kolkata MI 41 runs
2014 IPL Dubai CSK 7 wickets
2014 IPL Mumbai CSK 4 wickets
2014 IPL Mumbai CSK 7 wickets
2013 IPL Chennai MI 9 runs
2013 IPL Mumbai MI 60 runs
2013 IPL Delhi CSK 48 runs
2013 IPL Kolkata MI 23 runs
2012 IPL Chennai MI 8 wickets
2012 IPL Mumbai MI 2 wickets
2012 IPL Bangalore CSK 38 runs
2011 IPL Mumbai MI 8 runs
2010 IPL Mumbai MI 5 wickets
2010 IPL Chennai CSK 24 runs
2010 IPL Navi Mumbai CSK 22 runs
2009 IPL Cape Town MI 19 runs
2009 IPL Port Elizabeth CSK 7 wickets
2008 IPL Chennai CSK 6 runs
2008 IPL Mumbai MI 9 wicket

CSK vs MI IPL stats

Most runs

Suresh Raina tops the list among the batters who have played for any of the teams in this Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians head to head. He is followed by Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni close behind. However, Raina has retired from the game and FAF currently plays for RCB in the 2023 IPL.

Player name Runs scored
Suresh Raina 736
Rohit Sharma 732
MS Dhoni 710
Ambati Rayudu 652
Kieron Pollard 636

Β Most wickets

Lasith Malinga has taken the most wickets (37) in the bowling department, followed by Dwayne Bravo (37) and Harbhajan Singh (26). Dwayne Bravo has retired from cricket and is back in the CSK dugout as their bowling coach for the 2023 season. Lasith Malinga is the bowling coach for RR this season, and Harbhajan Singh has retired. As mentioned earlier, Pollard, too, is on the management side of things this year for Mumbai. Jadeja’s 3 wicket haul in the previous match against MI makes his tally go up to 21.

Player name Wickets
Lasith Malinga 37
Dwayne Bravo 37
Harbhajan Singh 26
Ravindra Jadeja 21
Kieron Pollard 15

Best match in the Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians head to head

Β A memorable match between CSK and MI was the final of the 2010 IPL. This match was played at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai, and it was a closely contested match that went down to the wire.

MI won the toss and elected to field first. CSK got off to a good start, with Murali Vijay and Matthew Hayden putting on a 44-run partnership for the opening wicket. However, CSK lost wickets at regular intervals and were struggling at 139/4 in the 17th over.

That's when Suresh Raina played a brilliant innings of 57 off just 35 balls to take CSK to a competitive total of 168/5 in their 20 overs. In reply, MI got off to a poor start, losing their first wicket for just 1 run.

However, Sachin Tendulkar scored 48 runs and Kieron Pollard played a blistering innings of 27 off just 10 balls to give MI a chance. Unfortunately for Mumbai there were short by 22 runs which CSK their first IPL title. The match was a thrilling encounter that showcased the competitive and fierce rivalry between CSK and MI.

Hopefully the second contest between these teams this season will live up to the same expectations.