GT vs CSK head-to-head IPL record: Stats, total matches and history

Gujarat Titans (GT) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will face each other in Qualifier 1 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 on Tuesday, May 23 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

The Titans became the first team to qualify for the playoffs in 2022 and it was not any different for them even this time around. In 2023, Hardik Pandya’s men finished on top of the table with 20 points and a net run rate of +0.809 thanks to victories in 10 out of 14 matches. They will go into the game after beating Faf du Plessis’ Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by six wickets on Sunday at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

The Super Kings, captained by MS Dhoni, went through to the playoffs after finishing second in the table with 17 points and a net run rate of +0.652 thanks to wins in eight out of 14 matches. It was also the 12th time when the Super Kings went through to the playoffs out of 14 seasons. Back in 2020 and 2022, CSK failed to go through to the second round. The Super Kings defeated the Delhi Capitals (DC) by 77 runs in their previous match.

GT vs CSK head-to-head record

The Titans and the Super Kings do not have a long history. It is because, the Titans came into existence only last year. But in this short phase, GT have beaten CSK all three times.

Here is a look at how the current GT vs CSK head-to-head record stands:

Matches played 3
GT won 3
CSK won 0
N/R 0

GT vs CSK IPL match results

As mentioned earlier, the Titans have dominated the Super Kings thus far. It remains to be seen if CSK can turn their fortunes around in the upcoming match of IPL 2023.

Here is a more detailed look at how this rivalry has unfolded:

Date Winner Won by Venue
31/03/2023 Gujarat Titans 5 wickets Ahmedabad
17/04/2022 Gujarat Titans 3 wickets Pune
15/05/2022 Gujarat Titans 7 wickets Mumbai


GT vs CSK IPL stats

Most runs

Ruturaj Gaikwad is the leading run-scorer in matches between the two teams. The right-handed batter, who has been in excellent touch for the Yellow Army this season, has notched 218 runs. Second in the list is David Miller, who has scored 109 runs. Wriddhiman Saha, Shubman Gill and Ambati Rayudu also feature in the list.

Player name Runs
Ruturaj Gaikwad 218
David Miller 109
Wriddhiman Saha 103
Shubman Gill 81
Ambati Rayudu 58


Most wickets

Mohammed Shami and Alzarri Joseph are joint highest wicket-takers in matches between the Titans and the Super Kings. Both GT fast bowlers have five wickets apiece to their names. Dwayne Bravo, Rajvardhan Hangargekar and Rashid Khan have three wickets apiece to their names.


Player name Wickets
Mohammed Shami 5
Alzarri Joseph 5
Dwayne Bravo 3
Rajvardhan Hangargekar 3
Rashid Khan 3
IPL Purple Cap 2023
Photo Credit: Icon Sport

Best match in the Gujarat Titans vs Chennai Super Kings head-to-head

Back on March 31, 2023, the Titans and the Super Kings locked horns in a humdinger at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. It happened to be the first match of IPL 2023. The Titans went on to win the game by five wickets to make a tremendous start to their campaign. Rashid Khan became the Player of the Match for his stupendous spell of bowling.

Here is how the match unfolded

After being put in to bat first, the Super Kings put up a healthy score of 178 for the loss of seven wickets. Ruturaj Gaikwad was the star of the show for CSK after he scored 92 runs off 50 balls with four fours and nine sixes. But he did not get enough support from the other batters as the Super Kings lost momentum in the second half of their innings.

Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu and Shivam Dube got into double digits, but failed to make their starts count. MS Dhoni hit a four and six to score 14 and injected some momentum late in the innings. Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, and Alzarri Joseph picked up two wickets apiece.

Thereafter, Shubman Gill stepped up to make sure that the Titans chased down the target with four balls to spare. The Young Turk scored 63 runs off 36 balls with six fours and three sixes. He was also involved in a partnership of 53 runs with Sai Sudharsan, who looked good in his 22-run knock before Rajvardhan Hangargekar accounted for his wicket.

Hardik Pandya struggled to get going while Vijay Shankar also strained to rotate the strike on a regular basis, but Rashid Khan and Rahul Tewatia held their nerve to take GT past the finish line. With seven runs needed off the last over, Tewatia hit Tushar Dehspande for a six followed by a four to seal the fate of the game.



Rohit is an experienced cricket writer based in India