MI vs RR head-to-head IPL record: Stats, total matches and history

Mumbai Indians (MI) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) will lock horns in Match No.42 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 on Sunday, April 30 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

MI, led by Rohit Sharma, are not in the greatest of positions as they are placed ninth in the table with six points and a net run rate of -0.620. They will go into the game after losing to Hardik Pandya’s Gujarat Titans (GT) by 55 runs at the same venue in Mumbai.

The Royals, led by Sanju Samson, on the other hand, have a great chance of moving to the top of the table, displacing the Titans. They are placed in the table with 10 points and a net run rate of +0.939 thanks to wins in five out of eight games. They defeated MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 32 runs in their previous match.

READ: MI vs RR head-to-head record

MI vs RR head-to-head record

MI and the Royals have had a long history as they have been playing since the first edition. It was only in the 2016 and 2017 editions when they didn’t face each other as the Royals were serving a two-year suspension period.

Here is a look at how the current MI vs RR head-to-head record stands:

Matches Played 29
MI won 15
RR won 13
Tie 0
No result 1


MI vs RR IPL match results

There is very little to separate the two teams. From 2018 to 2019, the Royals won four matches in a row and it remains to be the highest winning streak between them.

Here is a more detailed look at how this rivalry has unfolded:

Date Winner Won By Venue
30-Apr-2022 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Mumbai
02-Apr-2022 Rajasthan Royals 23 Runs Mumbai
05-Oct-2021 Mumbai Indians 8 Wickets Sharjah
29-April-2021 Mumbai Indians 7 Wickets Delhi
26-Oct-2020 Rajasthan Royals 8 Wickets Abu Dhabi
6-Oct-2020 Mumbai Indians 57 Runs Abu Dhabi
20-April-2019 Rajasthan Royals 5 Wickets Jaipur
13-Apr-2019 Rajasthan Royals 4 Wickets Mumbai
13-May-2018 Rajasthan Royals 7 Wickets Mumbai
22-April-2018 Rajasthan Royals 3 Wickets Jaipur
1-May-2015 Mumbai Indians 8 Runs Mumbai
14-April-2015 Rajasthan Royals 7 Wickets Ahmedabad
25-May-2014 Mumbai Indians 5 Wickets Mumbai
19-May-2014 Mumbai Indians 25 Runs Ahmedabad
24-Apr-2013 Mumbai Indians 4 Wickets Kolkata
17-April-2013 Rajasthan Royals 87 Runs Jaipur
15-April-2013 Mumbai Indians 14 Runs Mumbai
20-May-2012 Mumbai Indians 10 Wickets Jaipur
11-Apr-2012 Mumbai Indians 27 Runs Mumbai
20-May-2011 Rajasthan Royals 10 Wickets Mumbai
29-April-2011 Rajasthan Royals 7 Wickets Jaipur
11-April-2010 Mumbai Indians 37 Runs Jaipur
13-March-2010 Mumbai Indians 4 Runs Mumbai (BS)
14-May-2009 Rajasthan Royals 3 Wickets Durban
21-Apr-2009 Match Abandoned Durban
26-May-2008 Rajasthan Royals 5 Wickets Jaipur
7-May-2008 Mumbai Indians 7 Wickets Mumbai (DY)
IPL head to head
Yashasvi Jaiswal of RR. Courtesy: IPL

MI vs RR IPL stats

Most runs

Sanju Samson is the leading run-scorer in matches between the two teams. Jos Buttler is second in the list with 467 runs. Both Samson and Buttler will have a chance to add to their tally on Sunday. Kieron Pollard and Rohit Sharma also feature in the list.

Player Name Runs
Sanju Samson 576
Jos Buttler 467
Ajinkya Rahane 409
Kieron Pollard 405
Rohit Sharma 405


Most wickets

Jasprit Bumrah is the leading wicket-taker in contests between the two sides. The pacer, who is currently nursing a back injury, has 17 wickets to his name. The likes of Dhawal Kulkarni, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh and Shane Watson also feature in the list.

Player Name Wickets
Jasprit Bumrah 17
Dhawal Kulkarni 17
Kieron Pollard 16
Harbhajan Singh 14
Shane Watson 13

Best match in the Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals head-to-head

Back on March 13, 2010, MI beat RR by four runs at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. Yusuf Pathan smashed his way to a hundred off 37 balls, but his valiant efforts went in vain.

Here is a look at how the match unfolded:

After opting to bat first, MI put up a big score of 212 for the loss of six wickets. Saurabh Tiwary and Ambati Rayudu were the standout batters for Mumbai. While Tiwary scored 53 off 33, Rayudu raced his way to 55 off 33. The duo put on 110 runs for the fourth wicket. Sanath Jayasuriya, Sachin Tendulkar and Aditya Tare also made viral contributions.

Dimitri Mascarenhas was the pick of the bowlers for the Royals with figures of 4-0-34-2. The pacer picked up the crucial wickets of Tendulkar and Tare. Amit Uniyal picked up two wickets as well.

Yusuf Pathan tried his heart out after the Royals lost four early wickets. The right-handed batter hit nine fours and eight sixes in his knock before getting run out. He also put on a partnership of 107 runs with Paras Dogra, who scored 41 off 29 with two fours and as many sixes.

Lasith Malinga bowled brilliantly for MI after he finished with figures of 4-0-22-2. Ali Murtuza and Rajagopal Satish accounted for one wicket apiece.



Rohit is an experienced cricket writer based in India