PBKS vs RR head-to-head IPL record: Stats, total matches and history

Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) will face each other in Match No.66 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 on Saturday, May 20 at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) Stadium in Dharamsala.

The Kings, led by Shikhar Dhawan, are alive in the race for a playoff berth, but chances of them going through are remote. They are placed eighth in the table and need plenty of factors to go in their favour. They will go into the game after losing to David Warner’s Delhi Capitals (DC) by 15 runs on Wednesday. Liam Livingstone scored 94 and tried his heart out, but his valiant efforts went in vain.

The Royals, on the other hand, are also in a must-win scenario. They will look to bounce back losing to the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by a mammoth margin of 112 runs in their last home match at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. Sanju Samson’s men were bowled out for 59. But since their net run rate is still in the positives, they have a better chance of advancing to the playoffs than PBKS.

READ: PBKS vs RR prediction

PBKS vs RR head-to-head record

The Royals are leading the head-to-head count for the time being. But PBKS have the potential to close the gap with a win in the next match.

Here is a look at how the current PBKS vs RR head-to-head record stands:

Matches played 25
PBKS won 11
RR won 14
N/R 0


PBKS vs RR IPL match results

The Royals have won four out of their last six matches against the Kings. But on most instances, the matches went right down to the wire. The two teams have pretty much been equally matched throughout.

Here is a more detailed look at how this rivalry has unfolded:

Date Winner Won By Venue
05-Apr-2023 Punjab Kings 5 Runs Guwahati
07-May-2022 Rajasthan Royals 6 Wickets Mumbai
21-Sep-2021 Rajasthan Royals 2 Runs Dubai
12-Apr-2021 Punjab Kings 4 Runs Mumbai
30-Oct-2020 Rajasthan Royals 7 Wickets Abu Dhabi
27-Sep-2020 Rajasthan Royals 4 Wickets Sharjah
16-Apr-2019 Punjab Kings 12 Runs Mohali
25-Mar-2019 Punjab Kings 14 Runs Jaipur
8-May-2018 Rajasthan Royals 15 Runs Jaipur
6-May-2018 Punjab Kings 6 Wickets Indore
21-Apr-2015 Punjab Kings One-Over Eliminator Ahmedabad
10-Apr-2015 Rajasthan Royals 26 Runs Pune
23-May-2014 Punjab Kings 16 Runs Sharjah
20-Apr-2014 Punjab Kings 7 Wickets Mohali
9-May-2013 Rajasthan Royals 8 Wickets Mohali
14-Apr-2013 Rajasthan Royals 6 Wickets Jaipur
5-May-2012 Rajasthan Royals 43 Runs Mohali
6-Apr-2012 Rajasthan Royals 31 Runs Jaipur
21-Apr-2011 Punjab Kings 48 Runs Mohali
7-Apr-2010 Rajasthan Royals 9 Wickets Jaipur
24-Mar-2010 Rajasthan Royals 31 Runs Mohali
05-May-2009 Rajasthan Royals 78 Runs Durban
26-Apr-2009 Punjab Kings 27 Runs Cape Town
28-May-2008 Punjab Kings 41 Runs Mohali
21-Apr-2008 Rajasthan Royals 6 Wickets Jaipur
Who will win IPL 2023?
Photo Credit: Icon Sport

PBKS vs RR IPL stats

Most runs

Sanju Samson, the skipper of the Royals, is the leading run-scorer in matches between the two teams. The right-handed batter has scored 594 and will be looking to add more to his tally. KL Rahul and Shaun Marsh are the other batters to have scored above 400 runs. Ajinkya Rahane and Jos Buttler also feature in the list.

Player name Runs
Sanju Samson 594
KL Rahul 490
Shaun Marsh 409
Ajinkya Rahane 373
Jos Buttler 325

Most wickets

Arshdeep Singh is the joint leading wicket-taker in contests between the two IPL teams. The left-armer has 14 wickets to his name. Piyush Chawla, who is playing for the Mumbai Indians, also has 14 scalps to show for his efforts. Siddharth Trivedi, Mohammed Shami and James Faulkner also feature in thew list.

Player name Wickets
Arshdeep Singh 14
Piyush Chawla 14
Siddharth Trivedi 11
Mohammed Shami 10
James Faulkner 10


Best match in the Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals head-to-head

Back on September 27, 2020, the Royals and the Kings were involved in a humdinger at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. In the end, it was RR, who won the match by four wickets with three balls remaining.

Here is how the match unfolded

After being put in to bat first, the Kings scored 223 for the loss of two wickets in their 20 overs. Mayank Agarwal was their star performer after he scored 106 runs off 50 balls with 10 fours and seven sixes. However, his knock went in vain as the Royals chased the target down in 19.3 overs.

Sanju Samson became the Player of the Match after he scored 82 runs off 42 balls with four fours and seven sixes. Steve Smith also chipped in with a knock of 50. But it was Rahul Tewatia, who scored 53 off 31 with seven sixes and took the Royals past the finish line. Tewatia hit Sheldon Cottrell for 30 runs in a single over to bring the Royals right back into the contest.



Rohit is an experienced cricket writer based in India