T20 World Cup Winners List – All teams from 2007 to 2022


Cricket is among the most popular sports globally. In that sense, cricket leagues are no less than festivals around the world. Throughout the year, different cricket tournaments keep us hooked. However, the most coveted of them all are World Cup Tournaments. Initially, there was World Cup for only 50-over matches. However, looking to the popularity of short-form cricket, T20 World Cup started in 2007.

Ever since then, this tournament has had its own spark and cult following. If you are too a fan of cricket, you must be waiting to witness T20 World Cup 2022. That will begin soon. However, before that, we have curated this post where we are reminding you of the T20 World Cup Winners so far!

T20 World Cup 2022

One of the famous cricket series celebrated internationally is the Men's T20 World Cup. It is organized by International Cricket Council (ICC). A total of 16 nations participate in the tournament. The teams are selected on the basis of their ICC T20 ranking. This tournament is held every 2 years.

List of T20 World cup winners 2007-2022

Let's take a look at the winners of previous T20 world cup editions to warm up for the T20 world cup 2022 mania. Check the list below:

Year Winners Runner Up Margin Venue
2007 India Pakistan 5 Runs South Africa
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka 8 Wickets England
2010 England Australia 7 Wickets West Indies
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka 36 Runs Sri Lanka
2014 Sri Lanka India 6 Wickets Bangladesh
2016 West Indies England 4 Wickets India
2021 Australia New Zealand 8 Wickets Oman and UAE
2022 Coming Soon Coming Soon Coming Soon Australia
Also Read -> ICC T20 world cup 2022: Top teams and players to watch out

The very first edition of ICC T20 was held in 2007 where South Africa was the host. The final match was between India and Pakistan with India lifting the cup. Presently, West Indies is the most successful team in the T20 championship winning the T20 World Cup title twice (in 2012 and 2016).

Now that we are in 2022, it rings the bells for T20 World Cup 2022. This year, Australia will serve as the host. T20 World Cup 2022 schedule was announced by ICC on 21st January 2022. The tournament is scheduled to take place between 16th October 2022 to 13th November 2022. Altogether 45 matches will take place between in stadiums of Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney. The semi-final matches of the T20 World Cup 2022 are scheduled on the 9th and 10th of November at Sydney Cricket Ground and Adelaide Oval respectively. The final match will be held on 13th November 2022 under lights at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, and South Africa are under super 12s in the T20 World Cup 2022 standings while, Nambia, Scotland, Sri Lanka, and West Indies will have to play the qualifiers preceding the main draw.

As the most-awaited T20 world cup 2022 is around the corner, every cricket lover is excited to enjoy the tournament. To warm up the enthusiastic audience, it would be interesting to relive the past T20 world cups and its winners. So let’s get started!

T20 World cup 2007: Winner – India

The first T20 world cup final match was played in Johannesburg on 24th September 2007 between India and Pakistan. Under the captainship of Mahindra Singh Dhoni, India won the toss and chose to bat first. India scored 168 runs, and Pakistan tried chasing the target but lost early wickets. Gautam Gambhir played astounding innings of 74 runs, and Rohit Sharma scored 30 runs on 16 balls. In the last over, the Pakistan team was under pressure for 13 runs to win the title, but they couldn't make it. Thus, India won the title of the T20 world cup 2007 championship.

Also Read -> WC T20 2022 India squad

T20 World cup 2009: Winner – Pakistan

In the T20 world cup 2009, Pakistan and Sri Lanka fought the final match on 21st June 2007. Tillakaratne Dilshan lost his wicket in the very first over, and this was the point when Sri Lanka lost its grip over the match. Only Kumar Sangakkara played well from Sri Lanka by scoring 64 runs which helped the team to reach 138 runs in total. Pakistan team successfully touched the target on the scoreboard with the astonishing fifty by Shahid Afridi. Thus, Pakistan won the T20 world cup 2009 championship.

T20 World cup 2010: Winner – England

T20 world cup 2010 final match was played between England and Australia. Although the team lost the tournament's first game against West Indies, with their rocking performance in all the other matches, they won the T20 world cup 2010 trophy. Kevin Pieterson was given the title of “Player of the series”. The West Indies was the host of the match but the host lost to the visitors.

T20 World cup 2012: Winner – West-Indies

The 4th T20 world cup was held in Sri Lanka where West Indies and Sri Lanka clashed for the cup. Under the captaincy of Darren Sammy, West Indies became T20 World Cup 2012 champions for the first time. West Indies had won the toss and chose to bat. The whole team put up a score of 137/6. The incredible performance by Marlon Samuels helped the team to reach 137. Then, the Sri Lanka team tried their best to touch the target of 138, but they all were bowled out at only 101.

T20 World cup 2014: Winner – Sri Lanka

The T20 World Cup 2014 final match was played between India ad Sri Lanka in Dhaka on 6th April 2014. India got the chance to bat first, but they lost the game. Virat played well and scored 78 runs, but the slow innings by Yuvraj Singh decreased the run rate. India scored 130 runs in all. Sri Lanka chased the target successfully through the starling performance by Kumar Sangakkara with 52 runs on 35 balls. Finally, the winner of the T20 world cup 2012 was Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka after winning the 2014 T20 World Cup. Image source: @indianexpress.com

T20 World cup 2016: Winner – West Indies

West Indies and England played the final match of the T20 world cup 2016 in Kolkata on 3rd April 2016. West Indies won the trophy for the second time by beating England. England team scored 156 runs, and the west Indies successfully reached the target on the scoreboard. Marlon Samuels was the man of the match due to his commendable performance of 84 runs.

T20 World cup 2021: Winner – Australia

In 2021, the T20 world cup was fought between Australia and New Zealand. Australia wins the T20 world cup 2021 championship trophy unexpectedly by defeating New Zealand. David Warner was declared the man of the series for scoring 289 runs in 7 matches.

Final Say

So, these were the winners of the T20 World Cup so far. This year, we’ll get another winner on the list and it would be interesting to witness whether there would be a new entry on the list or an old winner will add its name to one more T20 World Trophy.