ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule, Venues, Teams, Time Table, Date & Match Timings

T20 World Cup 2021 has been shifted to the UAE and Oman. ICC T20 World Cup 2021 schedule, Venues, and Match List have been officially released by the ICC


Latest News on T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule

The T20 World Cup 2021 will kickstart from October 17 with the final slated to be played on November 14. Earlier, the 2021 T20 World Cup was scheduled to be played in India in the October-November period. However, with the current COVID-19 situation in India, BCCI has plans to shift the tournament to UAE and Oman.

β€œDue to the COVID-19 situation in our country, we may shift the tournament to UAE. We are monitoring the situation closely, the health and safety of players are paramount we will take a final call soon,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah told ANI.

ALSO READ Team India T20 WC 2021 Schedule & Match List, SquadΒ 

The remaining IPL 2021 matches will also be held in the UAE during September and October. The IPL 2021 final will be played on October 15 in the UAE.


ALSO READ Β List of T20 World Cup winners (2007-2021)


Teams & Qualification
T20 World Cup Qualifiers
Team Captains posed with the trophy ahead of the T20 WC Qualifiers (Image Source: Twitter/ICC)

The T20 World Cup 2021 comprises two phases. The first phase will see the eight teams, distributed in a group of four, vie for the top two spots in their group. This round will consist of 12 matches with the top two teams from both groups qualifying for the Super 12s.

The six of these teams qualified for the tournament via the ICC T20 World Cup qualifiers held in 2019 along with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh who were ranked ninth and tenth respectively in the ICC Team rankings in T20Is. Here's a look at the participating teams in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Four teams from Round 1 will qualify for the Super 12s to join the top-8 ranked T20I teams in the upcoming T20 WC:

QualifiedRound 1
EnglandPapua New Guinea
South AfricaBangladesh
West IndiesSri Lanka
New ZealandNamibia


ALSO READ India's Predicted Squad for the T20 World Cup 2021


T20 World Cup 2021 Venues
host venues for T20 WC 2021
Dubai International Stadium will be one of the host venues for T20 WC 2021

The 16-team tournament will be co-hosted in UAE and Oman as a two-stage tournament. As mentioned earlier, in Round 1 teams will be split into two groups of four each, which will take place at one of the venues in the UAE and Oman. However, the Super 12s will be played entirely in the UAE. The three venues at Sharjah, Abu Dhabi, and Dubai will host the matches for the group stage and the knockouts including the T20 World Cup 2021 final.

Earlier, BCCI had shortlisted nine venues for the T20 World Cup in India, but due to the grim situation in the country, it is highly risky to proceed with the marquee tournament in India.


T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule | Match List & Timings

ICC has announced the official schedule for the T20 World Cup 2021. The tournament will kick off with Round 1 from October 17 in Oman. Hosts Oman will lock horns in the opening match against Papua New Guinea in Group B.


Round 1 Schedule – Top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the Super 12s.

DateMatchTimings (In IST)VenueGroup
17-Oct-21Oman Vs Papua New Guinea3:30 PMOmanGroup B
17-Oct-21Bangladesh Vs Scotland7:30 PMOmanGroup B
18-Oct-21Ireland Vs Netherlands3:30 PMOmanGroup A
18-Oct-21Sri Lanka Vs Namibia7:30 PMOmanGroup A
19-Oct-21Scotland Vs Papua New Guinea3:30 PMOmanGroup B
19-Oct-21Oman Vs Bangladesh7:30 PMOmanGroup B
20-Oct-21Namibia Vs Netherlands3:30 PMAbu DhabiGroup A
20-Oct-21Sri Lanka Vs Ireland7:30 PMAbu DhabiGroup A
21-Oct-21Bangladesh Vs Papua New Guinea3:30 PMAbu DhabiGroup B
21-Oct-21Oman Vs Scotland7:30 PMAbu DhabiGroup B
22-Oct-21Namibia Vs Ireland3:30 PMSharjahGroup A
22-Oct-21Sri Lanka Vs Netherlands7:30 PMSharjahGroup A


Super 12s Schedule

Match Timings: The afternoon games on double-header days will commence at 2 PM local time (3:30 PM IST). The evening games will begin at 6 PM local time (7:30 PM IST).

Group 1 Schedule

DateMatch CentersTimings (In IST)Venue
23-Oct-21Australia Vs South Africa3:30 PMAbu Dhabi
23-Oct-21England Vs West Indies7:30 PMDubai
24-Oct-21A1 Vs B23:30 PMSharjah
26-Oct-21South Africa Vs West Indies3:30 PMDubai
27-Oct-21England Vs B23:30 PMAbu Dhabi
28-Oct-21Australia Vs A17:30 PMDubai
29-Oct-21West Indies Vs B23:30 PMSharjah
30-Oct-21South Africa Vs A13:30 PMSharjah
30-Oct-21England Vs Australia7:30 PMDubai
01-Nov-21England Vs A17:30 PMSharjah
02-Nov-21South Africa Vs B23:30 PMAbu Dhabi
04-Nov-21Australia Vs B23:30 PMDubai
04-Nov-21West Indies Vs A17:30 PMAbu Dhabi
06-Nov-21Australia Vs West Indies3:30 PMAbu Dhabi
06-Nov-21England Vs South Africa7:30 PMSharjah


Group 2 Schedule

DateMatch CentersTimings (In IST)VenueGroup
24-Oct-21India Vs Pakistan7:30 PMDubaiGroup 2
25-Oct-21Afghanistan Vs B17:30 PMSharjahGroup 2
26-Oct-21Pakistan Vs New Zealand7:30 PMSharjahGroup 2
27-Oct-21B1 Vs A27:30 PMAbu DhabiGroup 2
29-Oct-21Afghanistan Vs Pakistan7:30 PMDubaiGroup 2
31-Oct-21Afghanistan Vs A23:30 PMAbu DhabiGroup 2
31-Oct-21India Vs New Zealand7:30 PMDubaiGroup 2
02-Nov-21Pakistan Vs A27:30 PMAbu DhabiGroup 2
03-Nov-21New Zealand Vs B13:30 PMDubaiGroup 2
03-Nov-21India Vs Afghanistan7:30 PMAbu DhabiGroup 2
05-Nov-21New Zealand Vs A23:30 PMSharjahGroup 2
05-Nov-21India Vs B17:30 PMDubaiGroup 2
07-Nov-21New Zealand Vs Afghanistan3:30 PMAbu DhabiGroup 2
07-Nov-21Pakistan Vs B17:30 PMSharjahGroup 2
08-Nov-21India Vs A27:30 PMDubaiGroup 2

The top-4 teams from the Super 12s will qualify for the ICC T20 World Cup knockouts 2021. The T20 WC final 2021 will be played on November 14.


Knockout/Playoff Schedule:
Match NoDateTeamsMatches
1November 10, 2021TBD vs TBDSemi-Final 1
2November 11, 2021TBD vs TBDSemi-Final 2
3November 14, 2021TBD vs TBDFinal