WI vs AUS Series 2021: Live Telecast & Streaming Details, Match Timings, Full Schedule, Squads

WI vs AUS – Series Preview

West Indies is all set to host Australia for a limited-overs series in the month of July. Both the teams will play 5 T20Is and 3 ODIs starting July 9. The main focus will be on the five-match T20I series which will be a good preparation for both sides ahead of the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021. The Aaron Finch-led Australian side hasn't had a great record in the T20Is. In the WI vs AUS 2021 series, the visitors will be up against a formidable Caribbean outfit led by Kieron Pollard.

Glenn Maxwell IPL 2021 RCB
Glenn Maxwell has pulled out of Australia's tour of West Indies 2021 (Image Source: BCCI/IPL)

The upcoming series will be an opportunity for Australia to make a few selections call before the T20 showdown in UAE in the absence of their key senior players. The likes of Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, and a few others have opted out of Australia's first away tour in over four months. On the other hand, West Indies will aim to find their best combination considering the return of some of their seasoned players in this format.


Here’s a look at the Australia tour of West Indies 2021 in detail:

West Indies vs Australia 2021 Full Schedule & Match Timings
Chris Gayle WI
Chris Gayle could play a decisive role in the T20Is against Australia (Image Source: Twitter/ICC)

WI vs AUS 2021 T20I series schedule

West Indies and Australia will lock horns against each other in 5 T20I matches. The shortest format has been given greater priority keeping in mind the upcoming T20 World Cup in 2021. The first T20I will kickstart on July 10. All the matches will be played at the Daren Sammy National Cricket stadium situated at St Lucia due to COVID protocols.

[table id=23 /]


WI vs AUS 2021 ODIs series schedule

The three-match ODIs will hit the floors after a gap of three days from July 21. All the ODIs will be restricted to a solitary venue. Kensington Oval in Barbados will play host to the ODI series.

[table id=24 /]


WI vs AUS Head to Head Records | H2H Stats
WI vs AUS T20 WC 2014
West Indies have an edge over Australia in T20Is

Head to Head in T20Is 

  • Matches played: 11
  • West Indies won: 6
  • Australia won: 5

West Indies and Australia have faced each other 11 times in the T20 format. Interestingly, West Indies have a narrow edge over Australia as far as the WI vs AUS head-to-head records are concerned with six wins against five losses. The five-match T20I series might potentially witness the home team stretching their lead and could also be an opportunity for Australia to improve their T20 numbers against West Indies.

ALSO READ Best Captain in IPL

Head to Head in ODIs

  • Matches played: 140
  • West Indies won: 60
  • Australia won: 74
  • Tie: 3
  • NR: 3

In the ODI format, Australia has a clear advantage over West Indies with 74 wins out of the 160 matches played so far. The Aussies had an invincible run in the 2010s and have continued to establish their supremacy in this format. The three ODIs might see the hosts reduce the gap in the no of wins between the two teams in their head-to-head records in ODIs.


West Indies vs Australia 2021 Live Telecast & Streaming Details
FanCode WI live streaming partner
FanCode to broadcast West Indies vs Australia series in India

The Australia tour of West Indies 2021 will be broadcasted live on the FanCode streaming app in India. FanCode has acquired the official rights to telecast live cricket action in India. The live action for Australia's tour of the West Indies begins at 5 AM IST on July 10. Here's a look at various live streaming platforms for the WI vs AUS 2021 series in respective countries:

India: FanCode App

Australia: Fox Sports

West Indies: Flow Sports

England: Sky Sports

South Africa: SuperSport

Pakistan: PTV Sports, Ten Sports


WI vs AUS Squads – T20I & ODIs

West Indies

WI T20I squad 2021
West Indies will expect a lot from the duo of Pollard and Pooran in the summer of 2021 (AP Photo)

West Indies s one of the most dangerous teams in the T20 format. Looking ahead at the upcoming T20 World Cup, WICB has already announced an 18-man provisional squad for the home summer including T20Is against South Africa, Australi, and West Indies. The WI squad saw a return for some of the seasoned T20 players including Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, and Dwayne Bravo.

Under the leadership of Pollard, the WI squad boasts of enough players capable of taking down any side on any given day. While the hosts haven't announced their 15-man squad for the T20Is against Australia, it will be interesting to see who they leave out based upon the performances against the Proteas.



WI T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran (VC), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

The Windies camp is yet to announce their ODI squad.



Aaron Finch Australia Captain
Finch will hold the key for Australia vs West Indies in the upcoming series (Image Source: Getty Images)

Australia earlier a list of 23 players who were considered for the overseas tours of West Indies and Bangladesh. Unfortunately, as many as 7 players pulled out citing personal reasons. The likes of Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, David Warner, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Jhye Richardson, and Kane Richardson withdrew their names due to different reasons. Steve Smith, who was suffering from an elbow injury, was unavailable on medical grounds.


Wes Agar earned his maiden call-up, while Tasmania's Nathan Ellis and leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha were added as reserves. With a young Australian outfit, it will be a challenge for Aaron Finch to find their perfect combination for the upcoming series. The experience of Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Mises Henriques will surely come to help Australia's cause against West Indies in 2021.

Australia ODI and T20I Squad: Aaron Finch (Captain), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Riley Meredith, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa