ICC unveils fixtures for T20 World Cup 2024 in West Indies and USA

The fixtures for T20 World Cup 2024 co-hosted by West Indies and the United States have been revealed by ICC. The tournament, running from June 1 to June 29, will feature 20 teams in the biggest ICC tournament of all-time. This ninth edition of the tournament promises to be a cricketing spectacle like no other.

The 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup is going big, featuring a record 20 teams. They've been divided into four groups, and the top two from each group will proceed to the Super Eights stage. 

India achieve rare Test feat in South Africa

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by ICC (@icc)

The lineup is diverse, featuring cricketing giants such as India, Pakistan, England, Australia, South Africa, and the West Indies, along with emerging cricketing nations like Afghanistan, Namibia, Uganda, and Nepal.

The tournament kicks off with a bang. On June 1, at the Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium in Dallas, the USA faces off against Canada. Right after that, on June 2, the West Indies start their campaign against Papua New Guinea at the Guyana National Stadium.

The Groups for T20 World Cup 2024

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

In a monumental moment for cricket, one of the sport's most intense rivalries, India versus Pakistan, will unfold in New York on June 9. This high-stakes showdown will be held in a state-of-the-art 34,000-seat modular stadium, just 30 miles from Manhattan in Nassau County. Anticipation is soaring, and fans from across the world are expected to flock to this cricketing extravaganza.

Defending champions England will launch their title defense on June 4 in Barbados, where they'll face Scotland. Meanwhile, the 2022 finalists, Pakistan, are set to clash with the USA in Dallas on June 6. 

Other thrilling group stage matchups include Sri Lanka taking on South Africa in New York on June 3, and archrivals England and Australia locking horns in Barbados on June 8. Mark your calendars for June 12, when the West Indies will go head-to-head with New Zealand at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad and Tobago.

The 2024 T20 World Cup will also mark a special moment for cricket. Uganda, making their tournament debut, will face Afghanistan in Guyana on June 3. Nepal, returning to the competition for the first time since 2014, will kick off their campaign against Sri Lanka at Broward County Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida.

After the group stage, the top two teams from each group will advance to the Super Eights stage. These matches are scheduled to be played in popular Caribbean tourist destinations like Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Saint Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. 

fixtures for T20 World Cup 2024
Photo by Icon sport

The top two teams from each Super Eight group will proceed to the semi-finals, set to take place in Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago on June 26 and June 27, respectively. The grand finale will unfold at the iconic Kensington Oval in Barbados on June 29, where one team will emerge as the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Champions 2024.

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice expressed his excitement, stating, “The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 marks an exciting expansion of our sport with more teams than ever before set to compete in this event.” He also emphasized the significance of the USA hosting a major ICC event for the very first time, making a strong statement in the world's largest sports market.

Cape Town pitch in focus: Rohit Sharma slams ICC after Test finishes in five sessions

With the fixtures unveiled, fans from Pakistan, the Netherlands, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh are eagerly looking forward to the matches at Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium, where stars from Major League Cricket will represent their nations.

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 promises to be a thriller with the tournament expanding to 20 nations and to newer venues in the World. 

Full fixtures for T20 World Cup 2024

Fixtures for T20 World Cup 2024
Credits: ICC

Rohit is an experienced cricket writer based in India