MS Dhoni IPL captaincy record for CSK and RPS

Here is MS Dhoni IPL captaincy record after the former India skipper stepped down from the role of CSK leader before the 2024 season. The cricketing world was in for a surprise on the eve of the opening game of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. MS Dhoni relinquished captaincy of Chennai Super Kings and handed it over to Ruturaj Gaikwad as the latter attended the captains’ meet as well. The development took many by surprise as everyone felt Dhoni would lead CSK this season and end his career as captain.

But like he does always, Dhoni stunned one and all with his decision and ends as the most successful captain in the history of IPL. This also marks the end of an era with none of Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma is the captain in the cash-rich league.

Interestingly, Dhoni had done the same ahead of IPL 2022 handing over the reins to Ravindra Jadeja. But he returned back at the helm after CSK lost six out of eight matches and helped them win the 2023 edition.

Ruturaj Gaikwad announced as CSK captain after MS Dhoni steps down

MS Dhoni IPL captaincy record

MS Dhoni IPL captaincy record
Photo by Icon Sport

Overall, MS Dhoni led in 226 matches in the IPL. He led CSK right from the inception of the Indian Premier League (IPL) until 2015 before the franchise was banned for two years. He played for the Rising Pune Supergiant for two seasons and led them in 2016 before playing under Steve Smith in 2017. 

Dhoni then returned to the helm for CSK in 2018 before relinquishing captaincy in 2022 for six matches. However, he had to take it back again and after leading the Chennai franchise to their fifth IPL title, the 42-year-old has finally bid adieu to captaincy this time.

In MS Dhoni IPL captaincy record, he won 133 matches while at the helm of his side and lost 91 out of them with two matches ending in no result. A win percentage of 58.84 with such longevity is certainly a proud record to have. MS Dhoni led CSK to five IPL titles but at the same time, he couldn’t replicate similar success with RPS in 2016. However, the team made it to the final in 2017 when Smith was the captain.

If Dhoni’s record as the captain of CSK is taken into consideration, then he led the five-time champions in a staggering 235 matches including the ones in the now defunct Champions League T20 tournament. He won that competition twice as well with CSK. In IPL, Dhoni led CSK in 212 matches winning 128 and losing 82 while a couple of matches ended in no result.

The Men in Yellow was extremely consistent under his leadership as CSK ended outside top four only twice since 2008 – in 2020 and 2022, and reached final 10 times including four consecutive appearances from 2010 to 2013.

It goes without saying that Dhoni led in most matches (226) in IPL with Rohit Sharma behind him having led the Mumbai Indians in 158 matches.

Ruturaj Gaikwad has big shoes to fill as he has the experience of leading only in 13 T20 matches so far with eight wins and five losses.


A strong believer in the fact that Kohli and Paes are the greatest Indian superstars!