Afghanistan vs Bangladesh result: Highlights, scorecard, and man of the match

The Afghanistan vs Bangladesh result in match 3 of the World Cup 2023 saw the Tigers win the game by 6 wickets.

Afghanistan's batting journey began on a sunny day, with them sent to the crease after losing the toss. They got off to a promising start, accumulating 83 runs in the initial 15 overs, losing only one wicket in the process.

The opener, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, seemed like a formidable force at the crease, managing to score 36 runs off 41 balls.

Afghanistan vs Bangladesh result: Highlights, scorecard and man of the match
Photo by Icon Sports

However, the tide turned when the Bangladeshi skipper, Shakib Al Hasan, took the ball into his hands and claimed his second victim, Rahmat Shah. This marked the beginning of a downward spiral for the Afghan side as they started losing wickets in quick succession.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz led the Tigers' bowling attack with precision, ultimately restricting the Afghan innings to a total of 156 runs in 38 overs. Miraz displayed his ability with the ball, bagging three crucial wickets, and matching his counterpart, the Tiger captain.

Shoriful Islam contributed with two wickets, while Mustafizur Rahman and Taskin Ahmed each chipped in with one wicket.

With a relatively modest target to chase, the Bangladeshi batsmen were initially not burdened by pressure. However, a brilliant throw from Najibullah Zadran led to the dismissal of Tanzid Hasan. A few overs later, Litton Das was bowled by Fazalhaq Farooqi, thanks to an inside edge.

As Bangladesh found themselves in a slightly precarious situation after losing two quick wickets, Najibullah's fielding error granted Miraz a second chance. He capitalized on this opportunity by forging a resilient 97-run partnership with Najmul Hasan Shanto.

Australia vs India Dream11 prediction

This partnership brought Bangladesh within touching distance of victory. Although Miraz eventually lost his wicket to Naveen-ul-Haq, Shanto stood firm and steered Bangladesh to a well-deserved triumph.

Afghanistan vs Bangladesh result: Bangladesh won by 6 wickets

Bangladesh displayed a dominating performance in their opening match of the ICC World Cup 2023, as they beat Afghanistan by 6 wickets.

Match Highlights

Afghanistan's innings: Opener Gurbaz showcased his skills with 47 runs before a superb catch by Tanzid dismissed him. Ibrahim Zadran added a brisk 22, but Shakib removed him. Afghanistan faced difficulties in maintaining momentum, losing wickets regularly. The Bangladeshi bowling proved too much for them, as they lost crucial wickets at regular intervals. At last, Afghanistan managed to post a total of 156 runs. 

Bangladesh’s innings: Bangladesh secured a comfortable victory against Afghanistan, effortlessly chasing down the target. Shanto and Miraz's steady partnership was pivotal. Two dropped catches favored Bangladesh, giving Miraz extra chances. Despite some early wickets, Afghanistan couldn't halt Bangladesh's composed approach, and they reached 156 runs with 92 balls left.

Bangladesh’s performance: A solid performance from Bangladesh, as they restricted Afghanistan to a modest 156 runs. Mehidy and Shakib, the all-rounders were clinical in picking up crucial wickets. The tight bowling and disciplined fielding set the stage for Bangladesh's comfortable chase. Miraz performed well with bat too, his partnership with Shanto got the job done for the Tigers.

Man of the Match | Afghanistan vs Bangladesh result

Mehidy Hasan Miraz deservedly earned the Man of the Match title for his pivotal role in Bangladesh's maiden victory in the 2023 World Cup. His remarkable all-round performance made the difference. Initially, he excelled with the ball, recording impressive figures of 3 wickets for just 25 runs in 9 overs. Later, with the bat, he played a crucial innings, scoring 57 runs off 73 balls, laced with 5 boundaries.

Afghanistan vs Bangladesh result: Final scorecard

The final scorecard of the Afghanistan vs Bangladesh match.

Afghanistan innings: 156 all out (37.2 overs)

Rahmanullah Gurbaz †c Tanzid Hasan b Mustafizur Rahman47624175.8
Ibrahim Zadranc Tanzid Hasan b Shakib Al Hasan22253188
Rahmat Shahc Litton Das b Shakib Al Hasan18251072
Hashmatullah Shahidi (c)c Towhid Hridoy b Mehidy Hasan Miraz18382047.36
Najibullah Zadranb Shakib Al Hasan5130038.46
Mohammad Nabib Taskin Ahmed6120050
Azmatullah Omarzaib Shoriful Islam222040110
Rashid Khanb Mehidy Hasan Miraz9161056.25
Mujeeb Ur Rahmanb Mehidy Hasan Miraz140025
Naveen-ul-Haqc Towhid Hridoy b Shoriful Islam06000
Fazalhaq Farooqinot out03000
Extras(w 8)8


Taskin Ahmed603215.33
Shoriful Islam6.213425.36
Mustafizur Rahman712814
Shakib Al Hasan803033.75
Mehidy Hasan Miraz932532.77

Bangladesh innings: 158/4 (34.4 overs)

Tanzid Hasanrun out (Najibullah Zadran)5131038.46
Litton Dasb Fazalhaq Farooqi13182072.22
Mehidy Hasan Mirazc Rahmat Shah b Naveen-ul-Haq57735078.08
Najmul Hossain Shantonot out59833171.08
Shakib Al Hasan (c)c Fazalhaq Farooqi b Azmatullah Omarzai14192073.68
Mushfiqur Rahim †not out230066.66
Extras(lb 3, nb 1, w 4)8


Fazalhaq Farooqi501913.8
Mujeeb Ur Rahman703004.28
Rashid Khan904805.33
Mohammad Nabi611803
Azmatullah Omarzai20914.5