Australia vs Sri Lanka result: Highlights, scorecard and man of the match

The Australia vs Sri Lanka result in the ongoing Cricket World Cup 2023 turned out to be on the expected lines as the five-time champions registered a comfortable victory over the Lankan Lions.

The match was hosted at Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow on Monday, October 16th. After two losses to begin the tournament, the five-time former champions defeated Sri Lanka by five wickets to finally get off the mark.

Sri Lanka won the toss and batted first. Their openers did a fantastic job to get them off to a great start. Pathum Nissanka made 61 off 67 while Kusal Perera struck 78 off 82. They were in a great position after 26 overs but then suffered a massive collapse. They lost their last nine wickets for just 52 runs, getting bowled out for 209. Adam Zampa was the pick of the bowlers for Australia with 4 for 47 while Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc bagged two scalps each. 

Chasing a big target, Australia lost a couple of early wickets when Dilshan Madushanka trapped David Warner and Steve Smith in his second over. However, Mitchell Marsh took the sting out of Sri Lanka's bowling with 52 off 51. Sri Lanka had a sniff yet again after dismissing Marsh but Marnus Labuschagne (40), Josh Inglis (58) and Glenn Maxwell (31*) finished the job for Australia. 

Sri Lanka’s Captain Dasun Shanaka Ruled Out of World Cup 2023

Australia vs Sri Lanka result: Sri Lanka won by five wickets 

australia vs sri lanka result
Photo by Icon sport

The match no. 14 of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 saw Australia produce a pretty solid performance to beat Sri Lanka by five wickets in Lucknow. 

Match Highlights

Sri Lanka openers putting on a show: Sri Lanka had an outstanding start to their innings, justifying the captain's decision to bat first. The pair of Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Perera batted saw off the initial period of fast bowling and cashed it on the poor deliveries. The duo added 125 runs for the first wicket in 21.3 overs before Nissanka was dismissed for 61. Perera went on to hit 78, building a strong platform for Sri Lanka.

Australia's comeback with the ball: The Pat Cummins-led looked pretty ordinary in the field in the first half of their bowling innings as Sri Lanka added 156/1 in 26 overs. Cummins, who had removed Nissanka earlier, then knocked over Perera. Adam Zampa backed his captain with an excellent spell, picking four wickets as they skittled out Sri Lanka for 209. 

Australia's run-chase: The men in yellow had a shaky start but Mitchell Marsh struck a fifty to get them on the track. Marnus Labuschagne made 40 off 60 as he and Josh Inglis added 77 runs for the fourth wicket. Inglis struck 58 off 59 while Glenn Maxwell smashed 31* off 21 as Australia clinched the game with 14.4 overs to spare.

Man of the Match | Australia vs Sri Lanka Result

Adam Zampa was awarded the Player of the Match for his brilliant bowling performance that set the game for Australia. He had in-form Kusal Mendis caught at deep midwicket before trapping Sadeera Samarawickrama LBW. He then had Chamika Karunaratne and Maheesh Theekshana plumb in front to finish with 4 for 47 in eight overs. 

Australia vs Sri Lanka Result Final Scorecard

The final scorecard of the Australia vs Sri Lanka game.

Sri Lanka Innings: 209 (43.3 Ov)

Pathum Nissanka 61678091.04
Kusal Perera 788212095.12
Kusal Mendis 9130069.23
Sadeera Samarawickrama 8810100.00
Charith Asalanka 25390164.10
Dhananjaya de Silva 7131053.84
Dunith Wellalage 290022.22
Chamika Karunaratne 05000.00
Maheesh Theekshana 481050.00
Dilshan Madushanka 0*6000.00


Mitchell Starc1004324.30
Josh Hazlewood713605.14
Pat Cummins703224.57
Glenn Maxwell9.303613.78
Adam Zampa814745.87
Marcus Stoinis201105.50

Australia Innings: 215/5 (35.2 Ov)

Mitchell Marsh 525190101.96
David Warner 11601183.33
Steven Smith 05000.00
Marnus Labuschagne 40602066.66
Josh Inglis 58595198.30
Glenn Maxwell 31*2142147.61
Marcus Stoinis 20*1021200.00


Lahiru Kumara4047011.75
Dilshan Madushanka923834.22
Maheesh Theekshana704907.00
Dunith Wellalage9.205315.67
Chamika Karunaratne301505.00
Dhananjaya de Silva301304.33