India World Test Championship Schedule: When will the WTC final be played?

India’s World Test Championship schedule started with their five-match Test series against England. But one of the Tests had to be postponed to 2023 due to issues surrounding the Covid-19 pandemic. The series was drawn 2-2 after England won the rescheduled Birmingham Test by seven wickets.

Thereafter, India faced New Zealand in their World Test Championship schedule. They failed to win the first Test by a whisker but made sure of winning the second Test at the Wankhede Stadium to claim the two-match series 1-0.

India’s next campaign in the World Test Championship schedule was against Dean Elgar’s South Africa. The visitors started the series with a 113-run win at the SuperSport Park in Centurion, but the Proteas came back to win the next two Tests to claim the series 2-1.

It was also the series after which Virat Kohli stepped down as the skipper of the Indian Test team. Jasprit Bumrah captained India in the Birmingham Test against England as Rohit Sharma, who replaced Kohli as India’s full-time skipper, was recovering from an injury.

India’s last series in 2022 was against Bangladesh in the latter’s backyard. India won the first Test in Chattogram comfortably but found themselves in all sorts of trouble in Mirpur. But a brilliant seventh wicket stand between Ravi Ashwin and Shreyas Iyer took India past the finish line.

India’s last and final assignment in their World Test Championship schedule was against Australia. The hosts started the series with wins in Nagpur and Delhi, meaning that they also retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

The Aussies came back with a victory in Indore, but after the Ahmedabad Test was drawn, India won the series 2-1. India also climbed to the No.1 rankings in Tests following the series.

READ: India squad for WTC Final

India World Test Championship Schedule

List of series

Date Opponent Venue Result
04-08 August 2021 England Nottingham Match drawn
12-16 August 2021 England Lord’s India won by 151 runs
25-18 August 2021 England Leeds England won by an innings and 76 runs
02-06 September 2021 England The Oval India won by 157 runs
25-29 November 2021 New Zealand Kanpur Match drawn
03-06 December 2021 New Zealand Mumbai India won by 372 runs
26-30 December 2021 South Africa Centurion India won by 113 runs
03-06 January 2022 South Africa Johannesburg South Africa won by 7 wickets
11-14 January 2022 South Africa Cape Town South Africa won by 7 wickets
04-06 March 2022 Sri Lanka Mohali India won by an innings and 222 runs
12-14 March 2022 Sri Lanka Bangalore India won by 238 runs
01-05 July 2022 England Birmingham England won by 7 wickets
14-18 December 2022 Bangladesh Chattogram India won by 188 runs
22-25 December 2022 Bangladesh Mirpur India won by 3 wickets
09-11 February 2023 Australia Nagpur India won by an innings and 132 runs
17-19 February 2023 Australia Delhi India won by 6 wickets
01-03 March 2023 Australia Indore Australia won by 9 wickets
09-13 March 2023 Australia Ahmedabad Match drawn
India World Test Championship schedule
Photo by Icon Sport

World Test Championship final date

India are now set to face Australia in the final of the WTC at the Kennington Oval. The World Test Championship final date is from June 7 to 11. Australia, led by Pat Cummins, finished on top of the WTC table with a win percentage of 66.67, thanks to 11 victories in 19 Tests. They had 152 points at the end of the league stage.

India, on the other hand, finished second in the WTC points table with 10 wins from 18 matches. Rohit’s men finished the league stage with 127 points. South Africa also had a chance to advance to the final, but they failed to make it through to the grand finale. Last time around India also played in the final of the WTC but lost to Kane Williamson’s New Zealand at Edgbaston.


Rohit is an experienced cricket writer based in India