List of all ICC awards won by Virat Kohli

Since his debut in 2008, the Indian cricket legend has scaled mountains that many felt were impossible and here are all the ICC awards won by Virat Kohli. He continued to walk on the path of glory imperiously for over one-and-a-half decades. After a dry run between 2020 to 2022, the former Indian captain rose back to his old self with a sensational outing across formats.

Kohli's terrific run of form earned him the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award for the fourth time, which also turned out to be his 10th ICC annual individual trophy, while no other cricketer received more than five. While Australian skipper Pat Cummins bagged the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, Suryakumar Yadav was named T20 Cricketer of the Year and Usman Khawaja was named Test Cricketer of the Year. 

The 35-year-old first laid his hands on an ICC trophy in 2013 when he was named ODI Cricketer of the Year for his heroics in the preceding year (2012). So far, he has been a recipient of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, ODI Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year, Spirit of Cricket Award and to cap them all off, the ICC Cricketer of the Decade award as well.

Here’s a list of all ICC awards won by Virat Kohli accumulated by Indian cricket’s run machine in chronological order.

Virat Kohli withdraws from first two Tests against England

All ICC awards won by Virat Kohli

 ICC awards won by Virat Kohli
Photo by Icon Sport

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – 2012

The legend of Virat Kohli began shaping itself in 2012 when a young and fiery batter from Delhi began playing some whirlwind knocks. He finished that calendar year with 1,026 runs in 17 innings at an average over 90 and scored five centuries. While there were several noteworthy knocks, his century in Hobart against Sri Lanka in the Commonwealth Bank Tri-series and a career-best 183 against Pakistan stood apart. 

It was also the year he got his first Test century in Adelaide against Australia and went on to add two more to his tally in the longest format. 

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – 2017

In a format where he excels better than everyone in his generation, Kohli produced a career-best 1,460-run tally in 2017 in ODIs. This included six centuries and seven half-centuries, while also averaging above 75. It is one of the 10 ICC awards won by Virat Kohli.

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy – 2017

That remarkable run in ODIs also reflected in other formats, where he scored runs aplenty as well. It was his best year in Test cricket in terms of average (75.64) and accumulated 1,059 runs in only 10 matches, with three double centuries – against Bangladesh and two in consecutive matches against Sri Lanka. Although he got only 299 runs in 10 innings in the shortest format, he batted at an impressive strike rate of 152.77. 

He finished 2017 with 2,818 runs across three formats, his best calendar year to this day and the third-best calendar year tally for a cricketer in international cricket. His 11 centuries in that year is also the most by a captain across the world. Quite befittingly, Kohli was bestowed with the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the first time in his career.

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – 2018

A golden run of form in ODI cricket continued in 2018. It isn’t easy to complement the best year of your career with similar results, but somehow, Kohli’s hunger for runs in those years just had no limits. The star batter smashed 1,202 runs in only 14 matches, averaging a staggering 133.55. This included six centuries and three half-centuries and Kohli was named ODI Cricketer of the Year for the third time. It is one of the many ICC awards won by Virat Kohli.

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – 2018

For the first time in his career, the award in cricket’s most prestigious format looked towards Kohli in 2018. Having acquired a career-best 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08 in that calendar year, which included five centuries and five half-centuries, Kohli won his first and only Test COTY award.

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy – 2018

Having conquered the arena in Tests and ODIs so unanimously, this was one of the easiest picks for the jury. He became the first cricketer to score 11 centuries in a calendar year twice and amassed 2,735 runs. Kohli fell just short of his career-best tally from the preceding year, but interestingly, he had played nine innings more in 2017. 

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – 2019

His ICC award spree in those years had a special addition in 2019. During the ICC World Cup 2019 match against Australia, when a section of the Indian fans on the ground were booing Steve Smith, Kohli gestured for the fans to stop it and applaud the player instead. Kohli and Smith had quite a history before, but that incident won over the fans and earned the Indian captain the “ICC Spirit of Cricket Award. 

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Decade – 2010s 

Since scoring his first century against Sri Lanka back in 2010, Virat Kohli has set the cricketing world ablaze in ODI cricket, a format where his rise was so indomitable, that the world simply surrendered to his brilliance. He scored a staggering 11,125 runs from 2010 to 2019, nearly 3,000 runs more than the next-best batter, who was his Indian teammate Rohit Sharma. 

He averaged 60.79 and scored 42 centuries, 14 more than the second-best and 52 half-centuries, 10 more than the second-best. There was only one winner for the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Decade and it was the Indian run machine. 

ICC Cricketer of the Decade – 2010s

Only two other batters scored more Test runs than Virat Kohli from 2010 to 2019 – Alastair Cook and Joe Root, both of whom averaged under 50. However, India’s most successful Test captain scored 7,202 runs in 84 Test matches at an average of 54.97. 

He also finished as the highest run-scorer in T20Is in the said period, with 2,633 runs in 75 matches, redefining consistency across formats like never before. For his terrestrial heroics across formats, he was named ICC Cricketer of the Decade as well. The only award which slipped away at the Decadal event was in the Test format, which went to Steve Smith. 

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – 2023

It seemed like Kohli’s meteoric run of form had come to an end with very little of his glory left before he hung up his boots. However, he turned the tables and rolled back the clock in a way only he could’ve, smashing eight centuries in 2023, four of which came in the World Cup. Although India’s defeat in the final to Australia left everyone heartbroken, Kohli had scored 50 or more runs in nine out of 11 matches, rewriting all the World Cup records on his name and was rightly named the Player of the Tournament. 

Although there were some strong contenders in Shubman Gill and Travis Head for this award, Kohli took the award home having scored 1,377 runs in 27 matches and it makes it the tenth ICC awards won by Virat Kohli.


A strong believer in the fact that Kohli and Paes are the greatest Indian superstars!