Pakistan to stage CT 2025: ICC confirms hosts for 2024-2031 Men’s tournament

International Cricket Council (ICC) recently announced the hosts for the upcoming ICC Men's events to be held between 2024 and 2031. In a bid to promote the sport globally, the governing body had earlier announced a global ICC event each year in the upcoming cycle. While there was great anticipation as to which country will bag the hosting rights for the respective event, ICC has declared 14 countries to host the events till 2031. A total of 11 Full Members and three Associate Members have been selected to host two ICC Men's Cricket World Cups, four ICC Men's T20 World Cups, and two ICC Men's Champions Trophy events during 2024-2031.

Beginning with a T20 World Cup in 2024, West Indies and the USA will co-host the marquee event in its ninth edition. It will be the first instance that a global ICC event will be staged in the USA. T20 World Cup will mark its return to the Caribbean shores after a span of 15 years since 2009. 

Pakistan will host the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025

In a huge development at the ICC board meeting, Pakistan was awarded the hosting rights for the Champions Trophy to be held in 2025. After scrapping the Champions Trophy with a T20 World Cup in 2017, the apex cricket body announced the return of the 50-over championship in June last year. As a result, the CT 2017 defending champions, Pakistan, will have an opportunity to defend the title at their home in 2025. After being in negligence for 29 years, Pakistan cricket fans will witness a full-fledged ICC tournament being staged at their home since 1996.


India bag hosting rights for three major ICC tournaments

To nobody's surprise, India bagged the bulk of the hosting rights for the upcoming ICC events starting 2024. BCCI will co-host the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 alongside Sri Lanka before being the sole host for the Champions Trophy in 2029. The action for the ICC Cricket World Cup will again return to India and Bangladesh in 2031. It is worth remembering that India also holds the hosting rights for the upcoming World Cup in 2023.

Associate Members to host an ICC event for the first time 

There are 11 full members and three associate members who will host two ICC Men's Cricket World Cups, four ICC Men's T20 World Cups, and two ICC Men's Champions Trophy events. Namibia and the USA will host an ICC World Cup event for the first time. Along with that, India, South Africa, Australia, Bangladesh, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Zimbabwe will also host an ICC event during this period. 

ICC Chair Greg Barclay said, “It is fantastic to be returning to so many previous hosts, but what is exciting about this process is the countries who will stage ICC events for the first time including the USA which is a strategic growth market for us. This allows us to deepen our connection with fans in traditional cricket nations and also reach new fans around the world.”

Summary of ICC Events from 2024 to 2031

West Indies & USA – June 2024 – ICC Men's T20 World Cup

Pakistan – February 2025 – ICC Men's Champions Trophy

India & Sri Lanka – February 2026 – ICC Men's T20 World Cup

South Africa, Zimbabwe & Namibia – October/November 2027 – ICC Men's Cricket World Cup

Australia & New Zealand – October 2028 – ICC Men's T20 World Cup

India – October 2029 – ICC Men's Champions Trophy

England, Ireland & Scotland – June 2030 – ICC Men's T20 World Cup

India & Bangladesh – October/November 2031 – ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 

Ravi Panchal

Ravi Panchal