West Indies T20I Squad announced for India series

The stage is set for an exhilarating showdown as the Cricket West Indies (CWI) Senior Men's Selection Panel revealed the West Indies T20I squad for the much-anticipated Series against India.

The thrilling cricket extravaganza kicks off on Thursday, August 3, at the iconic Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad.

Emphasizing their commitment to a formidable lineup, all 15 members of the squad are set to travel for each of the five matches. This unique approach allows for a dynamic 13-member squad selection for each match, culminating in the final XI.

Wicket-keeper/batsman Shai Hope and fast bowler Oshane Thomas make an impressive return to the West Indies T20I squad. While Thomas showcased his prowess in this format last in Pakistan in December 2021, Hope last left his mark in India in February 2022, both seeking to prove their mettle once again.

Lead Selector Desmond Haynes expressed the strategic vision behind the West Indies T20I squad.

“Our selection has the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup firmly in focus. We are meticulously crafting various strategies to find the ideal combinations. Our aim is to build a cohesive unit capable of rising to the occasion when we host the global event in under a year's time. Our lineup boasts true match-winners, and we shall embark on the right kind of preparation, commencing here in Trinidad on Thursday.”

Also Read: India vs West Indies 2023: Schedules, venues and Key players

With an eye on the future, Haynes added, “We also have an array of promising players who could be considered going forward, especially with the Caribbean Premier League commencing next month. Suffice to say, we anticipate more talents coming into the reckoning.”

The cricketing spectacle begins at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy on Thursday, followed by the second and third fixtures at the Guyana National Stadium on Sunday, August 6, and Tuesday, August 8. The series will climax with a sensational weekend at the Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida, featuring the final matches on Saturday, August 12, and Sunday, August 13. 

Full West Indies T20I Squad for five-match Series against India

  • Rovman Powell (Captain)
  • Kyle Mayers (Vice Captain)
  • Johnson Charles
  • Roston Chase
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Jason Holder
  • Shai Hope
  • Akeal Hosein
  • Alzarri Joseph
  • Brandon King
  • Obed McCoy
  • Nicholas Pooran
  • Romario Shepherd
  • Odean Smith
  • Oshane Thomas

Match Schedule

  • 3 August: 1st T20I, Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad
  • 6 August: 2nd T20I, National Stadium, Guyana
  • 8 August: 3rd T20I, National Stadium Guyana
  • 12 August: 4th T20I, Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida
  • 13 August: 5th T20I, Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida
  • **Start time at: 10:30am (9:30am Jamaica)**

Cricket enthusiasts eagerly anticipate the electrifying displays of talent, sportsmanship, and sheer grit that these T20I encounters promise to deliver. As the countdown commences, the cricketing world awaits in eager anticipation for the momentous series to unfurl, marking a thrilling chapter in the ongoing saga of cricketing excellence.

Prasenjit DeyPrasenjit Dey

Prasenjit Dey is an independent cricket journalist with Bylines across reputed publications like Cricbuzz, The Hindu, The Cricketer, Fancode, and The Quint Among Others. He has an experience of eight years in the field and is a valuable addition to the Cricnerds team. You can follow him on Twitter @CricPrasen.