Consecutive Test series wins at home: India extend lead with 17 victories

India holds the record for the most consecutive Test series wins at home with their streak standing at an impressive 17. They extended their streak after securing a series win over England on Monday, where they defeated the visitors by five wickets at Ranchi. 

Test cricket has seen some great sides over the years, such as Australia from the 1990s, Ricky Ponting’s Australia, West Indies from the 1970-80s, South Africa in the late 2000s and the Indian cricket team from 2016-2021.

Home dominance in Test cricket is a direct indication of how strong a team is and how well the conditions suit them. Over the decades, teams have consistently looked to gain home advantage but only a few have gone on to notable winning streaks. 

Let's take a look at the teams with the most consecutive Test series wins at home.

Ashwin joins list of players with 1000 runs and 100 wickets against a team in Tests

Teams with the most consecutive Test series wins at home

TeamConsecutive series wins at homeFromTo
India17February 2013Present
Australia10November 1994January 2001
Australia10July 2004November 2008
West Indies8March 1976February 1986
South Africa7March 1998November 2001
England 7May 2009June 2012
South Africa7August 2016January 2019

India – 17 wins (Feb 2013-Present)

India holds the record for the most consecutive Test series wins at home with their streak standing at an impressive 17
Picture: BCCI

The Indian cricket team is on an unprecedented run of home dominance, having extended their streak to 17 following a 3-1 series victory over England with a match to go. It's been 11 years since India lost a series at home, with their last defeat coming in 2012 against England. 

Facing India in India is by far the toughest challenge in the sport. India have made the most of their home advantage where the countries from outside of the subcontinent struggle to deal with low-bounce and turning pitches. The neighbouring cricket nations aren't nearly strong enough to take on India. 

Led by MS Dhoni, then Virat Kohli and now Rohit Sharma, India have been unbeaten at home and the big credit of that goes to a menacing spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. They have also had strong pace bowling options in Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah, making it incredibly hard for the opponents to breach through. India have also had batters who could go on to play marathon innings at home. 

In this period, India have defeated Australia and England thrice each while beating South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and West Indies twice each. India hosted Afghanistan in one Test in 2018, winning by an innings and 262 runs. 

Australia – 10 wins (Nov 1994-Jan 2001)

The Australian cricket team of the 1990s occupies the second spot on the list of teams with the most consecutive Test series wins at home. From November 1994 to January 2001, Australia won 10 consecutive series on their home soil. 

Australia is a unique venue compared to the rest of the world with most of the pitches in the country having high pace and bounce. And for that reason, visiting Australia has never been easy. During the 1990s, they had bowlers such as Glenn McGrath, Damien Fleming and Shane Warne. In Mark Taylor, Ricky Ponting and the Waugh brothers, had a formidable batting line-up.

Led by Mark Taylor, Australia clinched the Ashes twice in 1994-95 and 1998-99 while also beating Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies, New Zealand and South Africa once each. After Steve Waugh took over the reins, Australia defeated Pakistan, India and the West Indies. They also went on a record 16-match winning streak from 1999 to 2001.

Australia – 10 wins (Jul 2004-Nov 2008)

Ricky Ponting's Australia is regarded as one of the greatest Test sides ever. They were almost invincible winning across conditions and formats. They won 10 consecutive series between July 2004 to November 2008, during which they won 23 Tests and lost only once. 

Australia had an incredible batting unit with the likes of Ponting, Matthew Hayden, Damien Martyn, Michael Hussey, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds and Adam Gilchrist. In the bowling unit, they had McGrath, Warne, Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie, Stuart Clark and others. 

In this period, Australia beat Sri Lanka and New Zealand twice, and England, South Africa, West Indies, India, Pakistan and World XI once. They also levelled their earlier record of most consecutive Test wins overall, winning 16 Tests from December 2005 to January 2008. 

West Indies – 8 wins (Mar 1976-Feb 1986)

The West Indies side from the 1970s-80s is arguably the most feared team in the history of the game. Clive Llyod led a side that had intimidating batters and bowlers as they ran through the opponents at home or away. From March 1976 to February 1986, West Indies won eight consecutive Test series on their home turf. 

The bowling unit of Joel Garner, Malcolm Marshall, Michael Holding, Andy Roberts and Colin Croft remains unmatched to this day. In the batting line-up, they had Lloyd, Vivian Richards, Desmond Haynes, Gordon Greenidge and Richie Richardson. 

In this period, the West Indies defeated India, Australia and England twice while beating Pakistan and New Zealand once each. 

South Africa – 7 wins (Mar 1998-Nov 2001)

South Africa sits in fifth place in the list of most consecutive Test series wins at home. From March 1998 to November 2001, the Proteas won seven consecutive series on their home soil. They had Allan Donald, Shaun Pollock, Makhaya Ntini and Jacques Kallis tearing down opposing batting units while Gary Kirsten, Daryll Cullinan, Lance Klusener and Kallis piled on runs. South Africa defeated Sri Lanka twice, and West Indies, England, Zimbabwe, New Zealand and India once each.

England – 7 wins (May 2009-Jun 2012)

England had an outstanding unit in the late 2010s, where several teams were doing well at home. They had a strong batting unit with Andrew Strauss, Ian Bell, Alastair Cook, Kevin Pietersen and Matt Prior. With the ball, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Tim Bresnan and Graeme Swann were excellent. They won the 2009 Ashes by 2-1 and defeated West Indies twice in this streak. Their other series victories at home were against Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India and Bangladesh.

South Africa – 7 wins (Aug 2016-Jan 2019)

South Africa make their second appearance on this list of most consecutive Test series wins at home. They won seven home series on the trot between August 2016 to January 2019. They had Dean Elgar, AB de Villiers, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock scoring runs for fun while Vernon Philander, Duanne Olivier, Kagiso Rabada and Keshav Maharaj ran through the batting units. The Proteas overcame New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, India, Australia and Pakistan in these seven series.


A strong believer in the fact that Kohli and Paes are the greatest Indian superstars!