Leading run-scorer of each IPL team: Virat Kohli nears 8k for RCB

If you are looking to know about the leading run-scorer of each IPL team, this is just the right place. The Indian Premier League has seen some great performers over the years, be it with the bat or ball. 

The IPL has a general three-year cycle before a mega auction takes place which scatters the players. But the retentions have allowed some players to make long-standing affiliations with certain IPL teams. Some of the iconic player-franchise partnerships include MS Dhoni and Chennai Super Kings, Virat Kohli and Royal Challengers Bengaluru, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah at Mumbai Indians. 

Today we take a look at the batters who have amassed the most runs for each of the 10 currently active IPL franchises. 

Virat Kohli hits a century – List of most T20 fifties by a player 

Leading run-scorer of each IPL team

Virat Kohli is the leading run-scorer in IPL history and he has only played for one franchise. But what about other IPL teams and their top batters? Below is the list of the leading run-scorer of each IPL team till April 1st, 2024. 

IPL TeamBatterInningsRunsAverage50+
Chennai Super KingsSuresh Raina195552933.140
Delhi CapitalsRishabh Pant 100293534.5217
Gujarat TitansShubman Gill36144845.2511
Kolkata Knight RidersGautam Gambhir 121334531.2630
Lucknow Super GiantsKL Rahul2696343.779
Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma 206538329.4136
Punjab KingsKL Rahul55254855.6225
Rajasthan RoyalsSanju Samson 129351230.5323
Royal Challengers BengaluruVirat Kohli 246786837.8261
Sunrisers HyderabadDavid Warner 95401449.5542

Suresh Raina – CSK – 5529 Runs

Suresh Raina played for Chennai Super Kings from 2008 to 2021 and was a key part of their success in the early years. At his peak, he was one of the most prolific batters in the Indian Premier League. Raina scored 5529 runs from 195 innings, averaging 33.1 at a strike rate of 138.91. The left-hand batter has two hundreds and 32 fifties for CSK and is the leading run-scorer of each IPL team, CSK.

Rishabh Pant – DC – 2935 Runs

Rishabh Pant has been a part of Delhi Capitals since 2016. In this period, he has become their leading run-scorer in the IPL. Pant has played 101 matches for DC and has scored 2935 runs at an average of 34.52 and strike rate of 147.56. The left-hander has one century and 16 half-centuries in the league. In 2018, Pant had one of the greatest IPL seasons with 684 runs at a 52.6 average and 173.6 strike rate.

Shubman Gill – GT – 1448 Runs

Gujarat Titans are into their third IPL season and Shubman Gill has been a key part of the franchise since its inception. He is their leading run-scorer with 1448 runs at an average of 45.25 while striking at 147. Gill has registered three hundreds and eight fifties for GT. He had an incredible season in IPL 2023, where he piled on 890 runs at 59.3 average and 157.8 strike rate. 

Gautam Gambhir – KKR – 3345 Runs

Gautam Gambhir was the man who led Kolkata Knight Riders to two IPL championships and was a glue in their batting line-up. He remains KKR's leading run-scorer to this day, with 3345 runs from 121 innings. Gambhir averaged 31.26 and struck at 124.72 for KKR while scoring 30 fifties.

KL Rahul – LSG – 963 Runs

KL Rahul was the first pick by Lucknow Super Giants when they were introduced in the IPL in 2022. He tops the run-scoring chart for LSG as of April 1st, with 963 runs from 26 innings at an average of 43.77. Rahul's strike rate of 128 has been an issue. He has registered two hundreds and seven fifties for LSG. 

Rohit Sharma – MI – 5383 Runs

Rohit Sharma changed the fortunes of Mumbai Indians in many ways. As a captain, he led them to five IPL trophies and one CLT20 title. As a batter, Rohit hasn't had great success in the last few years but in his early years at MI, he was their best batter. He is the leading run-scorer for Mumbai Indians, with 5383 runs in 206 innings at an average of 29.41 and a strike rate of 130. Sharma has hit 35 fifties and one hundred for MI, topping the list of leading run-scorer of each IPL team.

KL Rahul – PBKS – 2548 Runs

KL Rahul was a crucial cog in the wheel for Punjab Kings between 2018 to 2021. He remains the leading run-scorer for PBKS, having smashed 2548 runs in just 55 innings at an average of 56.62 and strike rate of 139.76. Rahul hit 23 fifties and two hundreds for Punjab Kings. 

Sanju Samson – RR – 3512 Runs

Sanju Samson has been a part of Rajasthan Royals since 2013, barring two years in 2016-17. He is their leading run-scorer in the IPL, having scored 3512 runs from 129 innings. Samson averages 30.53 and has a strike rate of nearly 139. The current RR captain has two hundreds and 21 fifties while playing for the franchise. 

Virat Kohli – RCB – 7868 Runs

 leading run-scorer of each IPL team
Photo by Icon Sport

Virat Kohli was picked up by Royal Challengers Bengaluru ahead of the inaugural IPL edition and he has been at the franchise for every single season. The run-machine that he is, Kohli is the leading run-scorer for not just his team but in the entire league. Kohli has amassed 7868 runs in 246 innings at an average of 37.82 while striking at 131.22. Kohli has smashed seven centuries and 54 half-centuries. In IPL 2016, he struck 973 runs which remains the record for the most runs in a season. He tops the list of leading run-scorer of each IPL team, nearing 8,000 runs for RCB.

David Warner – SRH – 4014 Runs

David Warner is one of the greatest batters in IPL history. He has represented two IPL teams, Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad. The Aussie star led SRH to one IPL trophy and was their most important batter during his time there between 2014 and 2021. Warner remains the leading run-scorer for SRH with 4014 runs at an average of 49.55 and a strike rate of 142.59. He hit two hundreds and 40 fifties for the franchise. Warner is the only player to have won the Orange Cap thrice, all coming at SRH. 


A strong believer in the fact that Kohli and Paes are the greatest Indian superstars!