IPL Orange Cap 2021: Most Runs in IPL 2021

Orange Cap is an IPL award presented to the player who scores the most runs in an IPL season. The first-ever Orange Cap winner in IPL 2008, Shaun Marsh registered a tally of 616 runs for Punjab Kings to bag the prestigious award. Likewise, every IPL season, the Orange Cap winner is bagged by the player scoring the most runs in the IPL edition. It will be interesting to see which player bags the Orange Cap in IPL 2021. Currently, Shikhar Dhawan has scored the most runs in IPL 2021 and is the proud owner of the Orange Cap in 2021.

Here's the list of players who have scored the most runs after the PBKS vs DC match in IPL 2021:

IPL Orange Cap 2021

POS PLAYER Mat Inns NO Runs HS Avg BF SR 100 50 4s 6s
Shikhar Dhawan
8 8 1 380 92 54.28 283 134.27 0 3 43 8
KL Rahul
7 7 2 331 91* 66.20 243 136.21 0 4 27 16
Faf du Plessis
7 7 2 320 95* 64.00 220 145.45 0 4 29 13
Prithvi Shaw
8 8 0 308 82 38.50 185 166.48 0 3 37 12
Sanju Samson
7 7 1 277 119 46.16 190 145.78 1 0 26 11
Mayank Agarwal
7 7 1 260 99* 43.33 184 141.30 0 2 24 11
Jos Buttler
7 7 0 254 124 36.28 166 153.01 1 0 27 13
Rohit Sharma
7 7 0 250 63 35.71 195 128.20 0 1 18 11
Jonny Bairstow
7 7 1 248 63* 41.33 175 141.71 0 2 20 15
Glenn Maxwell
7 6 0 223 78 37.16 154 144.80 0 2 21 10

(Stats Courtesy: IPLT20.com)

ALSO READ List of Orange Cap winners (2008-2020)

To score runs consistently in such a competitive T20 league is no easy task, especially when there are loads of talented batsmen playing for their respective franchise. The Orange Cap in the IPL is also a recognition of the player's ability to exhibit consistency throughout the entire course of the tournament. There are numerous occasions during an IPL season that the Orange Cap keeps juggling between players who are leading the batting charts at the end of a particular match in the edition.


Rules – Orange Cap in IPL 2021 

1. A player with the most runs in the season entitled as the owner of the Orange Cap.

2. At the end of the season, a Cap-shaped Orange trophy is presented to the winner. However, during the tournament, the highest run-scorer at the end of every match is presented with a usual Orange Cap.

3. The owner of the Orange Cap is entitled to wear it during the fielding innings even if any of the opposition batters overtakes his tally of runs.

Shikhar Dhawan holds the Orange Cap in IPL 2021
Shikhar Dhawan holds the Orange Cap in IPL 2021 (Image Source: BCCI/IPL)


Interesting facts about Orange Cap Award in IPL

1. Only once in the history of IPL has a player from the IPL winning team won the Orange Cap. In IPL 2014, Robin Uthappa won the Orange Cap for scoring 562 runs in the entire tournament. Uthappa played a huge role in Kolkata Knight Riders' win in IPL 2014.

2. Chris Gayle is the only player to retain the Orange Cap in IPL. Playing for RCB, Gayle ended as the highest run scorer in IPL in two successive seasons in 2011 and 2012. He scored 608 runs in 2011 while bettered his runs tally to register 733 runs in IPL 2012.

3. Virat Kohli has scored the most runs in a single edition of the IPL to win the Orange Cap. Kohli registered a record tally of 973 runs in IPL 2016. The RCB skipper fell agonizingly close to breaching the 1000-runs mark in a single IPL season. He scored four centuries during his dream run in IPL 2016.

4. Sachin Tendulkar was the first Indian player to win the Orange Cap at the end of an IPL season. Tendulkar scored 618 runs in IPL 2010 to claim the Orange Cap. Captaining Mumbai Indians, Sachin took his team to the IPL final but failed to cross the winning line.

5. Brendon McCullum was the first player ever to wear the Orange Cap in the inaugural IPL season. At the end of the first week in IPL 2008, McCullum was leading the run-scoring charts courtesy of his unbeaten 158-run blitz against RCB in the opening IPL encounter.

6. Sunrisers Hyderabad has had maximum players winning the Orange Cap (4) in the IPL for a franchise. Between IPL 2017 and IPL 2019, the duo of Kane Williamson and David Warner ensured that the Orange Cap award stayed with the Hyderabad-based franchise.

7. No Uncapped player has ever won an Orange Cap in the IPL. In IPL 2021, players like Ruturaj Gaikwad and Rahul Tripathi are among the top run-scorers in the season. Their respective franchise will hope that they can finish in the Top-5 list for the players with the most runs in IPL 2021.


IPL Orange Cap FAQs

1. What is Orange Cap?

Orange Cap is the IPL award presented to the batsman with the most runs in an IPL edition.


2. Who won the Orange Cap award in IPL 2020?

In IPL 2020, Orange Cap was won by KL Rahul for scoring the most – 670 runs in the entire season.


3. Who has won the Orange Cap in IPL most times?

David Warner has won the Orange Cap three times in his IPL career so far. Warner won the award for scoring the most runs in IPL 2015, 2017, and 2019.

Kartik BansalKartik Bansal

An avid Cricket Follower