Complete List of All the IPL Hattricks in History

A Hattrick is when a bowler takes 3 wickets in 3 successive deliveries. Hat-trick happens rarely and has a huge impact on the outcome of the game. Thus, it holds a special place in cricket statistics. Hattricks have taken place multiple times in the Indian Premier League (IPL) since its establishment in 2008. In a competition like the IPL, if a player performs really well, the game might be over in a matter of minutes. This is especially true when a bowler records a hattrick during an innings. It is consequently extremely tough for the opposing side to recover from the early loss of wickets.

 Hattricks are uncommon in the IPL, and there have been seasons where no bowler has taken a hattrick. On the other hand, numerous hat-tricks have occurred in a handful of the seasons. In this post, we will go through all of the hattricks that have occurred in IPL history.

Rashid Khan of Gujarat Titans is the most recent addition to the select list of players who have recorded a hattrick in the Indian Premier League. Rashid accomplished the feat after dismissing Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, and Shardul Thakur in match 13 of the IPL 2023.

Player Bowling Figures Against Year
Lakshmipathy Balaji 5/24 KXIP 2008
Amit Mishra 5/17 DEC 2008
Makhaya Ntini 4/21 KKR 2008
Yuvraj Singh 3/22 RCB 2009
Rohit Sharma 4/6 MI 2009
Yuvraj Singh 3/13 DEC 2009
Praveen Kumar 3/18 RR 2010
Amit Mishra 4/9 KXIP 2011
Ajit Chandila 4/13 PWI 2012
Sunil Narine 3/33 KXIP 2013
Amit Mishra 4/19 PWI 2013
Pravin Tambe 3/26 KKR 2014
Shane Watson 3/13 SRH 2014
Axar Patel 4/21 GL 2016
Samuel Badree 4/9 MI 2017
Andrew Tye 5/17 RPS 2017
Jaydev Unadkat 5/30 SRH 2017
Sam Curran 4/11 DC 2019
Shreyas Gopal 3/12 RCB 2019
Harshal Patel 4/17 RCB 2021
Yuzvendra Chahal 5/40 KKR 2022
Rashid Khan 3-35 KKR 2023

 These are all the hattricks that have been recorded in the IPL so far. Each of these performances has been a special moment in IPL history, with the bowlers making significant contributions to their team's success.

Rashid Khan SRH IPL 2020

Lakshmipathi Balaji – first hattrick in the IPL (2008)

 Lakshmipathy Balaji recorded the first hat-trick in Indian Premier League (IPL) history while playing for the Chennai Super Kings in the tournament's first season in 2008.

Balaji accomplished this feat at Mohali on May 10, 2008, during a match against the Kings XI Punjab. He dismissed Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, and VRV Singh in the 18th over in succession to become the first bowler in IPL history to achieve a hat-trick.

Balaji's hattrick is still remembered as one of the greatest moments in IPL history, and it set the tone for many more such memorable moments in the tournament in the years to come.

Players with more than one hattrick in the IPL

Position Player Matches Overs Wickets Hat-Tricks Economy
1 Amit Mishra 154 540.5 166 3 7.35
2 Yuvraj Singh 132 144.5 36 2 7.43


In the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL), only two players have taken multiple hat-tricks. They are as follows:

Amit Mishra – Mishra is the first IPL player to have three hat-tricks. This achievement was accomplished despite playing for three separate teams: the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in 2008, the Deccan Chargers (now defunct) in 2011, and the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2013. Mishra is also the first bowler in IPL history to have taken two hat-tricks in the same season, accomplishing this feat in 2011 with the Deccan Chargers.

Yuvraj Singh is the only other player in IPL history to have taken numerous hat-tricks. This achievement was accomplished while playing for Kings XI Punjab in 2009 and Pune Warriors India in 2014.

Mishra and Yuvraj are known for their excellent bowling skills and ability to turn matches around with their performances. Their multiple hat-tricks in the IPL are a testament to their talent and their impact on the tournament over the years. 

Most hattricks in a season

Player name Year Number of hattricks
Balaji, Amit Mishra, Ntini 2008 3
Yuvraj Singh (2), Rohit Sharma 2009 3
Badree, Tye, Unadkat 2017 3

The greatest number of hat-tricks taken in a single season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is three, and this feat was achieved in the 2008, 2009, and 2017 seasons of the IPL. The 2009 edition of the IPL had the same amount of hattricks as the inaugural edition, although not by three separate players.

Yuvraj Singh got an auction price of INR 16 Crores in IPL 2015

Yuvraj Singh of PBKS recorded two straight hat-tricks in the tournament. The first game was a defeat against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). On the other hand, his second hattrick against the Chargers proved critical in propelling his side to victory.

Rohit Sharma, perhaps the most unusual name on this list, was the second player to score a hattrick in 2009. At the time, he was a Chargers player, and his hattrick came against MI, a team he would later lead to five IPL titles.

t20 schedule india vs england

The 2017 season witnessed 3 hattricks as well in the IPL for the third time in history. The first was Badree's four-wicket haul, but it was in vain because RCB failed to defend a 142-run total. Tye completed the second hat-trick of the season for the Gujarat Lions against the Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS). Unadkat completed the season's last hattrick against SRH.


Finally, hat-tricks are one of the most thrilling and unforgettable moments in Indian Premier League (IPL) history. Lakshmipathy Balaji took the first hattrick in the IPL in 2008, and other bowlers have subsequently repeated the feat.

Amit Mishra and Yuvraj Singh are the only players who have taken numerous hat-tricks in the IPL, with three bowlers achieving this feat during the 2008 and 2017 seasons. Hattricks not only highlight the bowlers' skill and talent, but they also have the capacity to change the course of a match and produce moments that spectators and players alike will remember.

This year, Rashid Khan has already had a hattrick for Gujarat Giants. We predict that there will be at least 2 more hattricks this season mainly because of the extended run of matches and a higher number of teams participating in the tournament.

While completing a hattrick is an expression of pleasure and accomplishment for the bowler, it also contributes significantly to the team's victory. Hattricks frequently occur at critical points in a match and can tip the scales in the team's favour, resulting in a victory that would otherwise be elusive.

As the IPL grows in popularity, we can expect to witness many more hat-tricks in the future, and these moments will continue to thrill and please cricket fans all around the world.