CSK vs SRH head to head IPL record: Stats, total matches and history

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have tasted loads of success ever since they started playing in the IPL back in 2008. Having won as many as five titles, MS Dhoni and Co. have garnered popularity not only in India, but all around the world.

The Super Kings are also the defending champions after they beat the Gujarat Titans in the final last year. In the last two balls, Ravindra Jadeja hit Mohit Sharma for a six followed by a six

The Sunrisers, on the other hand, did not have the best of times in their last three seasons after they failed to make their way through to the playoffs.

On the head-to-head count, the Super Kings have beaten the Sunrisers 15 out of 20 times. CSK beat SRH by seven wickets when the two teams last met at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Ravindra Jadeja won the Player of the Match award after he finished with figures of 4-0-22-3, picking up the wickets of Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi and Mayank Agarwal. Chasing 135, the Super Kings romped home with eight balls to spare after Devon Conway scored an unbeaten 77 off 57 balls.

CSK vs SRH head to head

Matches played 20
CSK won 15
SRH won 5
Tie 0

CSK vs SRH match results

Due to the fact that both teams are from the southern region of the Indian subcontinent, the match between Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad is sometimes referred to as the South Indian Derby. The Indian Premier League's fifteenth season is approaching and will begin to play on March 26, 2022. Fans of the IPL are already excited about the competition and the fresh line-ups that each club has labored to develop. Let's examine the CSK vs SRH head-to-head statistics.

Date Winner Won By Venue
01-May-2022 Chennai Super Kings 13 runs Pune
09-Apr-2022 Sunrisers Hyderabad 8 wickets Mumbai
30-Sept-2021 Chennai Super Kings 6 Wickets Sharjah
28-April-2021 Chennai Super Kings 7 Wickets Delhi
13-Oct-2020 Chennai Super Kings 20 Runs Dubai
2-Oct-2020 Sunrisers Hyderabad 7 Runs Dubai
23-April-2019 Chennai Super Kings 6 Wickets Chennai
17-Apr-2019 Sunrisers Hyderabad 6 Wickets Hyderabad
27-May-2018 Chennai Super Kings 8 wickets Mumbai
22-May-2018 Chennai Super Kings 2 wickets Mumbai
13-May-2018 Chennai Super Kings 8 wickets Pune
22-April-2018 Chennai Super Kings 4 runs Hyderabad
2-May-2015 Sunrisers Hyderabad 22 runs Hyderabad
11-Apr-2015 Chennai Super Kings 45 runs Chennai
22-May-2014 Sunrisers Hyderabad 6 wickets Ranchi
27-April-2014 Chennai Super Kings 5 wickets Sharjah
8-May-2013 Chennai Super Kings 77 runs Hyderabad
25-April-2013 Chennai Super Kings 5 wickets Chennai

 CSK vs SRH IPL stats

Most runs

Suresh Raina has the highest runs in the CSK vs SRH head to head, followed by Dhoni and Williamson. Except for Dhoni, no other player on this list currently plays for CSK or SRH. They have either retired or moved to a different franchise altogether.

Player name Runs scored
Suresh Raina 434
MS Dhoni 424
Kane Williamson 417
David Warner 405
Shane Watson 353

Most wickets

Dwayne Bravo has had the greatest success among bowlers, having taken 20 wickets, followed by Rashid Khan (10) and Deepak Chahar (9). Bravo has retired from the game and is now the bowling coach for CSK. Rashid Khan currently plays for Gujarat Titans, and Shardul Thakur plays for KKR.

Player name Wickets
Dwayne Bravo 20
Rashid Khan 10
Deepak Chahar 9
Bhuveshwar Kumar 9
Shardul Thakur 8

Best match in Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad head to head

 The 2018 IPL final was played between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) on May 27, 2018, at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The match was a thriller, with both teams fighting hard to win the coveted trophy.

CSK won the toss and chose to bowl first. SRH struggled to get going initially, with their top order batsmen struggling against the disciplined CSK bowling. However, Kane Williamson played a brilliant knock, scoring 47 runs off 36 balls, and together with Yusuf Pathan (45 off 25 balls), helped SRH post a respectable total of 178 runs for the loss of six wickets in their 20 overs.

In response, CSK started off well, with Shane Watson at the helm; however, Faf du Plessis got out cheaply. Watson, in particular, was in blistering form, scoring a magnificent century off just 51 balls. Suresh Raina assisted him greatly, scoring 32 off 24 balls. SRH fought back with some tight bowling and fielding, and the match went down to the wire.

 Watson, however, did not lose his concentration and kept his cool to take his team home. It was a fitting end to a wonderful tournament for CSK, who had made a remarkable comeback to the IPL after a two-year ban.

Overall, the 2018 IPL final was an entertaining match, with some excellent performances from both teams. However, it was CSK who emerged victorious, winning their third IPL title.

It will be a great contest between these two teams when they face each other in the upcoming 2023 IPL match.