DC vs KKR head-to-head IPL record: Stats, total matches and history

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) failed to qualify for the playoffs in the 2023 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Shreyas Iyer missed the season due to an injury and Nitish Rana failed to deliver as their captain.

The Knights will be looking to put in a much better performance this time around. They shelled out a staggering amount of INR 24.75 crores to secure the services of Australian fast bowler Mitchell Starc, who played two seasons for the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) back in 2014 and 2015.

The Capitals, on the other hand, are still waiting for their maiden IPL title. Back in 2020, they came close but lost to the Mumbai Indians (MI) at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Last season, the Capitals had a disastrous outing after they failed to advance to the playoffs after winning only five out of 14 matches.

Both teams are locked on 16 wins apiece since their first meeting back in 2008. In their previous meeting, the Capitals beat the Knights by four wickets at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi.

Ishant Sharma picked up the wickets of Nitish Rana and Sunil Narine to finish with figures of 4-0-19-2.

DC vs KKR head-to-head record

Here is a look at how the current DC vs KKR head-to-head record stands

Matches Played 33
KKR won 16
DC won 16
Tie 0
No result 1

DC vs KKR IPL match results

The Knight Riders have had the upper hand over the Capitals since the start of the IPL. But since 2018, DC have started to dominate the Knights, having won nine out of 12 matches.

Here is a more detailed look at how this rivalry has unfolded:

Date Winner Won By Venue
28-Apr-2022 Delhi Capitals 4 wickets Mumbai
10-Apr-2022 Delhi Capitals 54 runs Mumbai
13-Oct-2021 Kolkata Knight Riders 3 Wickets Sharjah
28-Sep-2021 Kolkata Knight Riders 3 Wickets Sharjah
29-Apr-2021 Delhi Capitals 7 Wickets Ahmedabad
24-Oct-2020 Kolkata Knight Riders 59 Runs Abu Dhabi
3-Oct-2020 Delhi Capitals 18 Runs Sharjah
12-Apr-2019 Delhi Capitals 7 Wickets Kolkata
30-Mar-2019 Delhi Capitals One-over eliminator Delhi
27-Apr-2018 Delhi Daredevils 55 Runs Delhi
16-Apr-2018 Kolkata Knight Riders 71 Runs Kolkata
28-Apr-2017 Kolkata Knight Riders 7 Wickets Kolkata
17-Apr-2017 Kolkata Knight Riders 4 Wickets Delhi
30-Apr-2016 Delhi Daredevils 27 Runs Delhi
10-Apr-2016 Kolkata Knight Riders 9 Wickets Kolkata
7-May-2015 Kolkata Knight Riders 13 Runs Kolkata
20-Apr-2015 Kolkata Knight Riders 6 Wickets Delhi
7-May-2014 Kolkata Knight Riders 8 Wickets Delhi
19-Apr-2014 Delhi Daredevils 4 Wickets Dubai
1-May-2013 Delhi Daredevils 7 Wickets Raipur
3-Apr-2013 Kolkata Knight Riders 6 Wickets Kolkata
22-May-2012 Kolkata Knight Riders 18 Runs Pune
7-May-2012 Kolkata Knight Riders 6 Wickets Delhi
5-Apr-2012 Delhi Daredevils 8 Wickets Kolkata
28-Apr-2011 Kolkata Knight Riders 17 Runs Delhi
7-Apr-2010 Kolkata Knight Riders 14 Runs Kolkata
29-Mar-2010 Delhi Daredevils 40 Runs Delhi
10-May-2009 Delhi Daredevils 7 Wickets Johannesburg
5-May-2009 Delhi Daredevils 9 Wickets Durban
22-May-2008 Abandoned Delhi

DC vs KKR IPL stats

Most runs

Gautam Gambhir, who has played for both Kolkata and Delhi, is the leading run-scorer in matches between the two teams. He has scored 569 runs. Shreyas Iyer has also scored over 500 runs. David Warner, Prithvi Shaw and Robin Uthappa feature in the list as well.

Player Name Runs
Gautam Gambhir 569
Shreyas Iyer 552
David Warner 456
Prithvi Shaw 405
Robin Uthappa 392

Most wickets

Umesh Yadav and Sunil Narine jointly holds the record of most wickets in matches between the Capitals and the Knight Riders. Both bowlers, who will be playing for KKR, have 25 wickets apiece to their names. Andre Russell, Kuldeep Yadav and Morne Morkel also feature in the list. m

Player Name Wickets
Umesh Yadav 25
Sunil Narine 25
Kuldeep Yadav 15
Andre Russell 14
Morne Morkel 12

Best match in the Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders head-to-head

The match at the Arun Jaitley Stadium was an absolute thriller after the game went into the Super Over. Prithvi Shaw won the Player of the Match award, although he missed out on scoring his maiden hundred in the IPL.

Here is a look at how the match unfolded:

After being put in to bat first, the Knights set the Capitals a target of 186. Andre Russell was KKR’s star performer after he raced to 62 off 28 balls with four fours and as many as six sixes. Dinesh Karthik also chipped in with a handy knock of 50 off 36.

Karthik and Russell helped KKR make a comeback after the team was reduced to 61 for five in 9.1 overs. The duo put on 95 runs for the sixth wicket off 52 balls.

The Capitals were cruising at one stage, but KKR clawed their way back to take the match into the Super Over. Shaw scored 99 runs off 55 balls with 12 fours and three sixes. He got out in the penultimate over after which Delhi somehow failed to win in the stipulated 20 overs.

Prasidh Krishna bowled for KKR in the Super Over and conceded only 10 runs. He also picked up the wicket of Shreyas Iyer after being hit for a four.

With KKR being asked to chase 11, Andre Russell started with a four off Kagiso Rabada. But Rabada made a stupendous comeback by bowling a dot ball.

In the very next delivery, the speedster castled Russell and the dismissal almost sealed the fate of the match. Karthik and Robin Uthappa thew their bats around for the remaining three balls, but to no avail.


Rohit is an experienced cricket writer based in India