Most sixes in IPL

Indian Premier League is widely renowned as the most innovative cricket tournament in the world for the innovations they make every season to keep the audience at the edge of their seat. Every cricket fan watches IPL for entertainment purposes where they truly want to witness sixes hit by the batters. 

Batters with the most sixes in IPL history –

Batsman Number of Sixes
Chris Gayle 357
AB de Villiers 251
Rohit Sharma 250
MS Dhoni 235
Virat Kohli 229
Kieron Pollard 223
David Warner 217
Suresh Raina 203
Shane Watson 190
Andre Russell 183

From Chris Gayle to current generation cricketer Rinku Singh they are closely keeping an eye on the most number of sixes smashed. 

Chris Gayle

The Universe Boss from Jamaica holds the record for the most number of sixes hit by the batter in this cash-rich IPL with 357 maximums in his 141 innings playing for Kolkata Knight Riders, Punjab Kings, and Royal Challengers Bangalore. He was a muscular man back in those days and sending balls out of the ropes wasn’t a difficult task for him.

Chris Gayle's 175* is the highest Individual Score in T20 Cricket

He has created many other records including the most number of sixes in an innings when he hammered 17 sixes against Pune Warriors in 2013 and he made an unbeaten 175* which is yet to be broken yet. As a matter of respect for him, Royal Challengers has retired his jersey number 333.

AB De Villiers

Widely known as a 360-degree player, Abraham Benjamin de Villiers (ABD) has named Bengaluru as his 2nd home. He has become a household name in Karnataka for his impeccable batting which is filled with a wide range of shots. He is 2nd on the list with 251 sixes

He was part of Delhi Capitals in the first 3 seasons and the rest is history when he joined Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011. He has single-handedly won many games for RCB and played his last season in 2021, finishing his IPL career with a tally of 5162 runs in 170 innings with an outstanding strike rate of 151.68.

AB De Villiers' highest score of 133* against MI in 2015 IPL

He smacked 12 sixes in an inning during his fine knock of 129* runs against Gujarat Lions in 2016. He was included in the RCB Hall of Fame recently.

Rohit Sharma

He is one of those limited Indian cricketers to be part of every season of the IPL since its inception in 2008. Termed as ‘Hit Man’ who has won 6 IPL trophies representing Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians has hit 250 sixes in 228 innings.

Rohit Sharma IPL runs

Rohit is currently the 4th in the all-time leading run-scorers list with 6058 runs at an average of 30.29. It’s surprising to see he has crossed the 3 figure mark only once. He scored his only IPL century in 2012 against Kolkata Knight Riders.

MS Dhoni 

The former Indian skipper and the current Chennai Super Kings captain ‘Thala’ MS Dhoni occupy the 4th spot in the list with 235 sixes. Known for his ability to take the game deep makes him one of the best finishers in the world. Under his captainship, Chennai Super Kings has won 4 IPL titles. 

MS Dhoni CSK skipper


An unbeaten 84* runs from just 48 balls against arch-rivals Royal Challengers Bangalore at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in 2019 stands as his top innings in this competition although he failed to take his side home as Super Kings lost the game by a mere one run.  

Virat Kohli

The run-machine Virat Kohli who has taken Indian cricket to a different level with his class batting and aggressive captaincy stands in the 5th position with 229 sixes in the IPL. He is not someone who hits sixes consistently but finds his name on the list. He is the hot favorite cricketer to the fans for the standards he has set on the field. 

Virat Kohli

Virat is likely to be the first man to score 7000 runs in this competition and is currently just short of 97 runs. He also holds the record for most runs scored in a single IPL season with 973 runs in 16 matches in the 2016 edition. King Kohli is the only cricketer to have represented a single franchise in all 16 editions.

Kieron Pollard

Pollard came into the limelight in the 2009 champions league, when he steered Trinidad and Tobago to a famous win with his unbeaten knock of 54* against New South Wales. He was then bought by Mumbai Indians in a 2010 auction. He went on to play 189 matches and smoked 223 sixes which keeps him in the 6th place on the list. 

Kieron Pollard

Pollard last played his IPL fixture against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2022. He clobbered 10 sixes in an innings against Punjab Kings and his knock of 83 runs from just 31 balls helped Mumbai Indians to win. 

David Warner

The diminutive dashing opening batter from Australia has won the Orange Cap thrice in 2019, 2017, and 2015 editions. He stands in the 7th position having hit 217 sixes in 169 IPL matches. He is the only overseas cricketer to surpass the 6000 run mark in the history of the tournament. 

David Warner

Warner slammed 8 sixes in an innings against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2017 and his incredible knock of 126 won him the Player of the Match award. He is going strong in the 2023 season, scoring 306 runs in 7 innings. 

Suresh Raina

Raina has been called Mr IPL by his fans for his consistent performances over the years. He featured in 134 matches on the trot for Chennai Super Kings which is a unique record by a player without missing a match for a single franchise. 


Mr IPL is 8th on the list with 203 sixes in 200 innings. He ended his illustrious IPL career, amassing 5528 runs at an average of 32.52. He was also well remembered for his fine fielding efforts and took 109 catches. 

Shane Watson

The 2nd Aussie cricketer in the list with 190 sixes and placed himself in the 9th position. A hard hitter who can play anywhere in the batting order and a skilful bowler who provides breakthroughs. He played a significant role in taking Rajasthan Royals to the title win in the inaugural edition of the IPL where he was adjudged as the Player of the Tournament. 

Shane Watson

Shane Watson was with Chennai Super Kings when he played his last IPL match in November 2020. He had an astonishing IPL career where he mustered 3874 runs in 145 matches at an average of 30.99 and picked up 92 wickets. 

Andre Russell

No ground is big enough for the stature of Andre Russell who makes six-hitting look so simple. He makes it to the list having hit 183 sixes in his 89 innings and stands in the 10th position. He hammered 11 sixes in an innings against Chennai Super Kings in 2018 at Chepauk and remained unbeaten on 88* runs from just 36 balls.

Andre Russell

Russell currently represents Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2023 edition and has scored 107 runs in 7 matches and picked up 3 wickets.

IPL 2023 – Who will hit most sixes?

The 16th edition of the IPL has been a huge hit with the tournament returning to the home and away format. The fan's presence in the stands makes it even more electrifying. Veteran South African batter Faf du Plessis who represents RCB has scored 25 sixes which is the most so far this year followed by fellow teammate Glenn Maxwell who has hit 23 sixes. 

Kolkata Knight Riders batter Rinku Singh became an overnight star when he smashed 5 consecutive sixes in the 13th match against Gujarat Titans in the final over to secure an improbable 3-wicket win for his side. He has hit 17 sixes in 7 matches so far and it wouldn’t be any surprise if he tops the list this year.