Rajasthan Royals (RR) Owner – Who is the Team Owner of Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021?

Rajasthan Royals (RR) is one of the eight initial franchises founded in the inaugural IPL edition in 2008. The franchise represents the state of Rajasthan and is based out at their home ground in Jaipur’s Sawai Mansingh Stadium. The Royals were crowned the IPL winners in the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2008 under the leadership of Shane Warne.  During the initial few years at the IPL, RR always took pride in unearthing some great raw Indian talent that would take the world stage by storm in the years to follow.

The franchise paved way for players like Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, in allowing them with the platform to prove their mettle and blossom at such a recognized level as IPL. However, after witnessing success during the initial few years, the franchise has failed to replicate its success in the last decade. RR even faced a two-year ban (in 2016, 2017) after being involved in the match-fixing scandal, which has made it impossible for the franchise to cast home in the minds of IPL fans across India.


Rajasthan Royals Owner | Team Details

Team NameRajasthan Royals
Current OwnerManoj Badale (majority stake)
CEOMike Fordham
CaptainSanju Samson
CoachKumar Sangakkara (Director of Cricket Operations)


ALSO READ List of all IPL Team Owners


Who is the Team Owner of Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021?

Manoj Badale in the Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021
Manoj Badale in the Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021 (Image Source: BCCI/IPL)

Rajasthan Royals (RR) is owned by Manoj Badale along with several investors in the IPL. In IPL 2008, the franchise was sold to Emerging Media IPL for a bid worth $67 million, making it the least expensive bid among all the eight IPL teams. It was believed that Bollywood star Shilpa Shetty along with husband Raj Kundra had bought an 11.7% share as Rajasthan Royals’ owner in 2008. However, post the IPL 2015, Raj Kundra was banned for life after being involved in the controversy around the match-fixing scandal.


Rajasthan Royals CEO at the IPL Auction table in 2021
Rajasthan Royals’ CEO Mike Fordham at the IPL Auction table in 2021

As of IPL 2021, Manoj Badale (Emerging Media IPL Ltd. (EMIPL)) – the Rajasthan Royals owner leads the stake in the franchise with little over 50 percent (~50.1%). The other investors in the franchise include Suresh Chellaram and Lachlan Murdoch. It is believed that EMIP, run by Manoj Badale, has bought 13.4% percent of stakes in the franchise from Kelowna Investment Ltd, a Nigeria-based company run by Indian businessman Suresh Chellaram.


Rajasthan Royals (RR) Team Brand Value 

Who Much Do Rajasthan Royals’ Owners Earn?

Expo Dubai UAE 2020 is the Principal Sponsor for Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021
Expo Dubai UAE 2020 is the Principal Sponsor for Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021 (Image Source: Twitter/Rajasthan Royals)

Ever since their return to IPL in 2018, Rajasthan Royals (RR) has incorporated a change in strategy of going after the big-ticket player during the IPL auction. The franchise went about securing English all-rounder Ben Stokes and Indian pacer Jaydev Unadkat for a whopping sum in the auction. However, despite some renowned names featuring in their ranks, Rajasthan has failed to enhance their team brand value in the IPL.

A lot of it is contributed by their failure to qualify in the top-4 in the last two IPL seasons (in 2019 & 2020). In IPL 2020, the Royals suffered an 8.1% dip in their team brand value 2020 from INR 271 Crores to INR 241 Crores, according to the Duff & Phelps report. However, in IPL 2021, the franchise has managed to witness a considerate rise in their sponsorship revenue after onboarding top brands like Jio, Coalgate, and Red Bull.


Rajasthan Royals Sponsors in IPL 2021

Rajasthan Royals' secured sponsorship with STUDDS for IPL 2021
Rajasthan Royals’ secured sponsorship with STUDDS for IPL 2021


Principal Sponsors: Expo 2020 Dubai UAE, BKT, Jio, KEI

Associate Sponsors: Studds, Coalgate, Goel TMT, Goel Pipes

Official Partners: Kingfisher, Dream11, MX TakaTak, G-Shock, Dettol, Go-Pro, Nine, Kotak

(Source: Rajasthan Royals)