India Cricket World Cup wins: 1983 and 2011 teams remembered

As the whole country and the world gears up for the biggest carnival in cricket that is the 2023 ODI World Cup, we rewind the clock and relive the previous India cricket World Cup wins, in 1983 and 2011.

Also read: World Cup 2023 schedule to remain unchanged amidst security concerns

India Cricket World Cup wins

The 1983 Miracle 

June 25, 1983 was a defining moment in Indian cricket history as it acted as a launchpad for the powerhouse that the country has become in this sport.

A team that was considered a joke heading into the tournament, Kapil Dev led his men to a historic World Cup title. Underdogs beating the giants, it was an ultimate triumph. It was a moment that inspired a generation of young kids to take up the sport seriously, a moment that produced legendary cricketers for India. 

It wasn't only the Indian public that had written off the Indian team but the players themselves looked at it as a formality. Except for one man. Captain Kapil.

India were grouped alongside West Indies, Australia and Zimbabwe, and getting out of the group stage looked far-fetched.

But they stunned the two-time defending champions West Indies in the opening game by 34 runs. Yashpal Sharma starred with 89 runs while Ravi Shastri and Roger Binny bagged three wickets each.

In the second game, they defeated Zimbabwe by five wickets after restricting the opponents to only 155.

The great start didn't last long as Australia hammered India in the next fixture by 162 runs while West Indies also had their revenge with a 66-run smashing.

After two consecutive losses, India were in a must-win situation against Zimbabwe. Things looked dire when they lost half the side for just 17 runs but Kapil produced a knock that still remains one of the greatest ever, smashing 175 not-out off 138 deliveries. Following a 31-run victory over Zimbabwe, India smashed Australia by 118 runs to secure their spot in the semifinals.  

Mohinder Amarnath starred for India in the semifinal against England, where they came out on top by six wickets. Amarnath picked 2 for 27 in his 12 overs before scoring 46 runs with the bat. Yashpal Sharma and Sandeep Patil registered fifties as they chased down 214 with ease. 

Reaching the final was already an incredible achievement for India. They were up against Clive Lloyd's West Indies, an invincible and intimidating unit.

Batting first, India could only post 183 on the board. For a moment it looked like Viv Richards was taking the game away with his 33 runs off just 27 balls before he miscued a shot and Kapil clinged on to an iconic catch running backwards.

Amarnath and Madan Lal claimed three wickets each to bowl out the opponents for 140 as India clinched the trophy, making it one of the most memorable India cricket World Cup wins.

India's Journey in 1983 World Cup 

DateOpponentResult Venue
June 09, 1983West IndiesWon by 34 runsManchester
June 11, 1983ZimbabweWon by 5 wicketsLeicester
June 13, 1983AustraliaLost, by 162 runsNottingham
June 15, 1983West IndiesLost by 66 runsThe Oval
June 18, 1983ZimbabweWon by 31 runs Tunbridge Wells
June 20, 1983AustraliaWon by 118 runsChelmsford
June 22, 1983England (Semi final)Won by 6 wickets Manchester
June 25, 1983West Indies (Final)Won by 43 runsLord's 

2011 World Cup: A dream come true 

India cricket world cup wins
Photo by Icon Sport

Indian fans and the cricket team had to wait for 28 years for their second ODI World Cup.

The pre-tournament buzz was unlike the sport had ever seen. It was a home world cup for India and potentially the last opportunity for the God of Cricket Sachin Tendulkar to lift the trophy. India had a strong side heading into the tournament and expectations were high. Safe to say, the MS Dhoni-led side lived up.

India began the tournament with a clash against Bangladesh in Mirpur. They hammered the opponents by 87 runs on the back of Virender Sehwag's 175 and Virat Kohli's century. India posted 370 on the board before Munaf Patel bagged 4 for 48 with the ball. 

India's second group game against England ended in a thrilling tie.

Tendulkar scored a brilliant century while Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh made fifties as they posted 338 runs on the board. However, the bowling unit didn't have any answers to Andrew Strauss who made 158. They had 29 runs to defend in the final two overs but couldn't get the job done. 

The men in blue then made light work of Ireland and Netherlands but lost to South Africa by three wickets in a close finish.

Tendulkar made 111 as the top three put them in a strong position with 267/1 before they suffered a big collapse and bowled out for 296. India then hammered West Indies by 80 runs in the final group fixture. 

India had to face the defending champions Australia in the quarter-final, where they came out on top by five wickets. The bowling attack did a good job to restrict the Aussies to 260 before Tendulkar, Gambhir and Yuvraj scored fifties. 

The semi final was a high-pressure event with India taking on the arch rivals Pakistan. Tendulkar scored 85 runs while Suresh Raina made a crucial 36 not-out to help the side get to 260. Each of India's five bowlers bagged two wickets each to clinch the victory by 29 runs. 

It was India vs Sri Lanka in the final with everything on the line. The Lankan lions batted first and posted a strong total of 274 on the back of Mahela Jayawardene's unbeaten hundred.

India lost both the openers early but Gambhir and Kohli added 83 runs to stabilise the innings. Gambhir and Dhoni then put together a 109-run stand. Gambhir made 97 while the captain hammered an unbeaten 91. Dhoni's iconic six to finish things off had the entire country erupt with joy as a historic India cricket World Cup wins was registered.

Yuvraj scored 362 runs in the tournament and claimed 15 wickets with the ball, and for that he was awarded the player of the tournament. Tendulkar was the top run-scorer for India with 482 runs while Zaheer Khan topped the bowling chart with 21 wickets. 

Emotional scenes followed as Indian players carried Tendulkar on their shoulders while the entire nation came out on the streets to celebrate the triumph.

India's journey in 2011 World Cup

DateOpponentResult Venue
February 19, 2011BangladeshWon by 87 runsMirpur
February 27, 2011EnglandTiedBengaluru
March 06, 2011IrelandWon by 5 wickets Bengaluru
March 09, 2011NetherlandsWon by 5 wickets Delhi
March 12, 2011South AfricaLost by 3 wickets Nagpur
March 20, 2011West IndiesWon by 80 runs Chennai 
March 24, 2011Australia (Quarter final)Won by 5 wickets Ahmedabad 
March 30, 2011Pakistan (Semi final)Won by 29 runs Mohali
April 02, 2011Sri Lanka (Final)Won by 6 wickets Wankhede 

A strong believer in the fact that Kohli and Paes are the greatest Indian superstars!