India vs Pakistan result: Highlights, scorecard and man of the match

The India vs Pakistan result at the 2023 World Cup turned out to be a lopsided one as India convincingly defeated Pakistan by seven wickets. Pakistan, after a promising start, suffered a dramatic middle-overs collapse, losing eight wickets for just 36 runs, culminating in a total of 191.

The Indian bowlers showcased a collective effort, with five bowlers sharing the ten wickets. Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan were the notable contributors for Pakistan, scoring 50 and 49 respectively.

ICC World Cup 2023 predictions: Odds, favourite, who will win?

Choosing to bowl first, India's decision seemed to pay off as they kept the Pakistani batsmen under constant pressure. Despite a steady partnership between Babar and Rizwan, Pakistan's innings unraveled post the 155-run mark. Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja were particularly effective, exploiting the conditions and the batsmen's weaknesses.

India vs Pakistan result
Photo by Icon Sport

Chasing a modest target, India's captain Rohit Sharma led from the front with a scintillating 86, including some breathtaking strokes. Shubman Gill, returning from illness, and Virat Kohli provided valuable support. However, it was Shreyas Iyer's unbeaten 53 that ensured India's smooth sail to victory.

The atmosphere was electric, with nearly 100,000 supporters witnessing India's dominant performance, placing them in a favorable position in the World Cup race.

India vs Pakistan result: India win by 7 wickets

In a high-voltage encounter of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, arch-rivals India and Pakistan faced off at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad. Pakistan, batting first, could only muster a total of 191, thanks to a disciplined bowling performance from the Indian bowlers.

India's chase was spearheaded by captain Rohit Sharma's blistering innings, and they comfortably reached the target with 7 wickets in hand and 117 balls to spare.

The match was a spectacle for the packed house in Ahmedabad, with India continuing their World Cup dominance over Pakistan.

Match Highlights

  • Pakistan's innings saw contributions from Babar Azam (50) and Mohammad Rizwan (49). However, they faced a middle-order collapse, losing eight wickets for just 36 runs.
  • Jasprit Bumrah was the standout bowler for India, picking up 2 wickets for just 19 runs. Spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja also chipped in with two wickets each.
  • Rohit Sharma's explosive batting was the highlight of India's chase. He scored a quickfire 86, including his 300th ODI six.
  • Shubman Gill, returning from illness, and Shreyas Iyer also made valuable contributions to the chase.
  • Pakistan's bowlers struggled to make an impact, with Shaheen Afridi being the only one to pick up a wicket among the pacers.

Man of the Match | India vs Pakistan Result

Jasprit Bumrah was named the Player of the Match for his exceptional bowling performance. His figures of 2-19 in 10 overs were instrumental in restricting Pakistan to a below-par score. Bumrah's ability to bowl tight lines and lengths, combined with his lethal yorkers, made it difficult for the Pakistani batsmen to score freely.

His wickets included the crucial dismissal of Mohammad Rizwan, who was looking set for a big score. Bumrah's performance was a testament to his reputation as one of the best death bowlers in the world.

Bumrah’s double-wicket over changed the course of Pakistan’s innings. Seeing them collapse from 155/2 to 191 all out, their worst ever collapse in a World Cup game. 

Mickey Arthur criticises World Cup atmosphere after India’s convincing win over Pakistan

India vs Pakistan Final Scorecard

The final India vs Pakistan scorecard:

Pakistan Innings: 191-10 (42.5 Ov)

Babar Azam (c)50587086.21
Rizwan (wk)49697071.01
Saud Shakeel6100060.00
Iftikhar Ahmed4410100.00
Shadab Khan250040.00
Mohammad Nawaz4140028.57
Hasan Ali12192063.16
Shaheen Afridi2*100020.00


Hardik Pandya603425.70
Kuldeep Yadav1003523.50
Ravindra Jadeja9.503823.90

India Innings: 192-3 (30.3 Ov)

Rohit Sharma (c)866366136.51
Shubman Gill161140145.45
Virat Kohli16183088.89
Shreyas Iyer53623285.48
KL Rahul (wk)19*292065.52


Shaheen Afridi603626.00
Hasan Ali603415.70
Mohammad Nawaz8.304705.50
Haris Rauf604307.20
Shadab Khan403107.80

Rohit is an experienced cricket writer based in India