2024 T20 World Cup: ICC announces venues

The ICC has officially declared that the USA leg of the 2024 T20 World Cup will be hosted in New York, Texas, and Florida.

This decision comes after comprehensive inspections earlier this year to assess the readiness of these locations for the tournament that will be played between June 4 and June 30 next year.

The event will be co-hosted by the West Indies and the USA. Venues for the games in the Caribbean will be announced later.

World Cup warm-up matches: Full match schedule and results

Know more about the venues for 2024 T20 World Cup

2024 T20 World Cup
Photo by Icon sport

In Texas, specifically in Grand Prairie, and in Broward County, Lauderhill, Florida, the infrastructure to host cricket matches already exists. However, the ICC has decided to take steps to enhance the stadium capacity at both of these venues to ensure they can accommodate the anticipated crowds.

Nassau County in New York has also been chosen as a venue for the 2024 T20 World Cup. The ICC has revealed that an agreement has been finalized for the construction of a modular stadium with a seating capacity of 34,000.

Morrisville in North Carolina, which had previously hosted Major League Cricket games alongside Grand Prairie, did not make the final selection despite being on the initial shortlist. In the case of New York, the original consideration was Van Cortlandt Park in The Bronx, within New York City.

However, the ICC has opted for a different location: Eisenhower Park, situated 30 miles east of Manhattan on the outskirts of New York City.

Why the 2024 T20 World Cup will be different

The 2024 T20 World Cup holds significant importance as it marks the beginning of a new era for the ICC.

It is the first of eight men's global events in the ICC's commercial cycle from 2024 to 2031, a cycle that was finalized in 2021. The decision to include the USA as a co-host alongside the West Indies is part of a strategic move by the ICC, driven by two key objectives. Firstly, the North American market has been identified as a potent market for cricket's growth.

Secondly, the ICC aspires to have cricket featured in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympic Games (LA28).

The format of the 2024 World Cup will also differ from the previous two editions in 2020-21 in the UAE and 2022 in Australia.

In the upcoming tournament, the 20 participating teams will be divided into four groups, each consisting of five teams, for the initial round. The top two teams from each group will then advance to the Super 8s stage. The Super 8 teams will be further divided into two groups, each comprising four teams, with the top two from each group proceeding to the semi-finals.


A strong believer in the fact that Kohli and Paes are the greatest Indian superstars!