Cricket Australia announces schedule for Int’l summer 2020/21, includes 4 Tests against India

Cricket Australia (CA) announces the schedule for the international home summer comprising five Tests, 9 ODIs and 7 T20Is. Australia's home summer begins in August as they face Zimbabwe in a three-match ODI series. The decision comes in a day after announcing the dates for the bumper 4-match Test series against India in December.

After a lot of speculations around a hampered cricket summer due to global pandemic, CA believes that cricket won't be compromised in what reckons to be a great season of cricket in Australia.


Australia to face India in a 4-match Test series

The home team will host India in a 4-match Border Gavaskar Trophy. In 2018, India secured a 2-1 win over the hosts in what was a historic achievement for the visitors. However, with a more settled unit, India will face fresh challenges when they embark on their tour down under. In a change of venues, Gabba will host the inaugural Test while Adelaide is announced to host the much-anticipated Day-night Test from December 11. The Kohli-led side would then battle it out in three ODIs to close out their tour down under in 2020/21.

India claimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 2018 ion the Australian soil
India claimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 2018 on the Australian soil

Apart from the four Tests, Australia will also host Rashid Khan's Afghanistan in an only Test at the Perth Stadium in a Day-Night fixture prior to the India series.


5 IPL Players who might incur a huge loss in IPL 

Most Runs in T20 Internationals


The rest of the limited-overs assignment will see the home tea lock horns against India, West Indies, New Zealand, and Zimbabwe. West Indies and India will feature in a three T20Is before the T20 World Cup while BlackCaps face-off in a three-match ODI affair followed by a solitary T20I.


Here's the complete schedule for Australia's upcoming home summer:


Gillette Men's ODI Series v Zimbabwe

First ODI: August 9, TBC

Second ODI: August 12, TBC

Third ODI: August 15, Riverway Stadium, Townsville


Gillette Men's T20 INTL Series v West Indies

First T20: October 4, Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Second T20: October 6, Cazaly's Stadium, Cairns

Third T20: October 9, Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast


Gillette Men's T20 INTL Series v India

First T20: October 11, the Gabba, Brisbane

Second T20: October 14, Manuka Oval, Canberra

Third T20: October 17, Adelaide Oval


Men's Test v Afghanistan

Only Test: November 21-25, Perth Stadium (day-night)


Men's Test Series v India

First Test: December 3-7, the Gabba, Brisbane

Second Test: December 11-15, Adelaide Oval (day-night)

Third Test: December 26-30, MCG

Fourth Test: January 3-7, SCG


Gillette Men's ODI Series v India

First ODI: January 12, Perth Stadium

Second ODI: January 15, MCG

Third ODI: January 17, SCG


Gillette Men's ODI Series v New Zealand

First ODI: January 26, Adelaide Oval

Second ODI: January 29, Manuka Oval, Canberra

Third ODI: January 31, Blundstone Arena, Hobart


Gillette Men's T20 v New Zealand

Only T20: February 2, SCG