Shahrukh Khan headlines WPL 2024 star-studded opening ceremony

The much-awaited second edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) is set to get underway on February 23 and Shahrukh Khan will be one of the performers. The opening game of the tournament is scheduled to be played between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals and will commence at 7:30 PM IST. However, just before the season opener, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has organised a star-studded opening ceremony.

Excitement is building up with every passing hour about the opening ceremony, with the official Twitter handle of WPL confirming the stars who will perform on Friday (February 23). With the tagline ‘Cricket ka Queendom’, the buzz has already been created and the excitement has grown manifolds as superstar Shahrukh Khan will be performing at the opening ceremony.

The Bollywood actor who is loved worldwide enjoyed a blockbuster 2023 with all his three films – Pathaan, Jawan and Dunki – breaking records at the Box Office. Moreover, it was also his comeback in theatres after a long break since Zero was released. Interestingly, Shahrukh has also been associated with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) since 2008 as he is one of the team's owners.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) owner – Who is the owner of KKR in IPL 2024?

Shahrukh Khan to perform in WPL opening ceremony: Who are the others?

Shahrukh Khan

Coming back to the opening ceremony, the event will also see star actors like Kartik Aaryan, Sidharth Malhotra, Tiger Shroff, Varun Dhawan and Shahid Kapoor set the stage on fire ahead of the opening game of WPL 2024. The ceremony is scheduled to start at 6:30 PM IST with the match to commence an hour later.

As far as the WPL is concerned, the inaugural edition of the tournament was won by Mumbai Indians under the captaincy of Harmanpreet Kaur. A total of five teams are participating in this edition, like last year and each side will play a total of eight matches in the league stage.

The top team at the end of the league stage will directly qualify for the final while the second and third-placed teams will lock horns in the eliminator with the winner of this encounter making it to the title clash. Delhi Capitals, led by Meg Lanning, ended as the runners-up last year and they will be keen on lifting the trophy this time around.

Interestingly, the entire WPL season last year took place at the two venues in Mumbai. However, the BCCI has shifted the venues this time, and the tournament will take place in the caravan format. The 22-match T20 competition will see its first 11 matches being played at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bengaluru.

All the teams will then shift their base to the national capital Delhi as the remaining games are scheduled at the Arun Jaitley Stadium. The final will be played at the same venue on March 17, roughly less than a week before the 2024 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is scheduled to commence.


A strong believer in the fact that Kohli and Paes are the greatest Indian superstars!