KKR demolishes DC by 106 runs: A look at the biggest wins in IPL by teams

KKR smashed DC by 106 runs on Wednesday and that brings us to what are some of the biggest wins in IPL history. Over the years, the Indian Premier League has produced countless nail-biting thrillers but it has also given us several one-sided hammerings as well. Today we shed light on the top 10 biggest wins in IPL by margin of runs. 

List of the biggest wins in IPL by margin of runs 

biggest wins in IPL
Photo by Icon Sport

Mumbai Indians hold the record for the biggest win in the IPL, having defeated Delhi Capitals by 146 runs. Royal Challengers Bengaluru are an entertaining side and it comes as no surprise that they are on this list in the winners column four times and on the receiving end thrice.  

Leading run-scorer of each IPL team: Virat Kohli nears 8k for RCB

Check out the below list of the biggest wins in IPL by margin of runs. 

WinnerMarginTargetOppositionGroundMatch Date
Mumbai Indians146 runs213Delhi CapitalsDelhi6 May 2017
Royal Challengers Bengaluru144 runs249Gujarat LionsBengaluru14 May 2016
Kolkata Knight Riders140 runs223Royal Challengers BengaluruBengaluru18 Apr 2008
Royal Challengers Bengaluru138 runs227Punjab KingsBengaluru6 May 2015
Royal Challengers Bengaluru130 runs264Pune WarriorsBengaluru23 Apr 2013
Sunrisers Hyderabad118 runs232Royal Challengers BengaluruHyderabad31 Mar 2019
Royal Challengers Bengaluru112 runs172Rajasthan RoyalsJaipur14 May 2023
Punjab Kings111 runs233Royal Challengers BengaluruDharamsala17 May 2011
Kolkata Knight Riders106 runs273Delhi CapitalsVisakhapatnam3 Apr 2024
Rajasthan Royals105 runs193Delhi CapitalsWankhede30 May 2008

1. Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals – 146 runs

Mumbai Indians clinched the record for the biggest win in IPL after smashing Delhi Capitals by 146 runs in the 45th match of the 2017 season. Batting first at Delhi, MI posted 212 runs in their 20 overs on the back of Lendl Simmons’ 66 off 43 and Kieron Pollard’s unbeaten 63 off 35. Hardik Pandya also hit 29 not-out in 14 deliveries. MI were on the money from the first ball as they bowled out DC for just 66. Harbhajan Singh and Karn Sharma snared three wickets each while Lasith Malinga picked two scalps. MI topped the points table this season and went on to win their third IPL title. 

2. Royal Challengers Bengaluru vs Gujarat Lions – 144 runs 

IPL 2016 saw the best of Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers as RCB reached the final. In the 44th match of the season, RCB annihilated the now defunct Gujarat Lions by 144 runs at Bengaluru. Batting first, the pair put on a 229-run partnership for the second wicket. Kohli scored 109 off 55 while de Villiers destroyed the bowlers with 129 not-out in 52 deliveries. Defending 248, Chris Jordan claimed 4 for 11 while Yuzvendra Chahal bagged 3 for 19 as they bowled out the opponents for 104. 

3. Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bengaluru – 140 runs 

The first ever match of the Indian Premier League is third on the list of biggest wins in IPL. KKR hammered RCB by 140 runs at M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Brendon McCullum stole the show with his incredible knock of 158 not-out in 73 balls as KKR posted 222 runs in their 20 overs. The scoreboard pressure was too much for RCB as they got skittled out for 82. Ajit Agarkar picked three scalps while Ashok Dinda and Sourav Ganguly bagged two each. 

4. Royal Challengers Bengaluru vs Punjab Kings – 138 runs 

In IPL 2015, RCB defeated Punjab Kings by 138 runs at their home venue. This is the fourth biggest win in IPL history by margin of runs. Chris Gayle starred with the bat, smashing a superb 117 off 57 while de Villiers also struck 47 not-out in 24 deliveries to power the total to 226. Mitchell Starc was at the peak of his powers in 2015 and he picked 4 for 15 in this game. Sreenath Aravind also bagged four wickets as RCB bowled out Punjab for 88. 

5. Royal Challengers Bengaluru vs Pune Warriors – 130 runs 

This was the match where RCB put on the highest team total in IPL, which remained a record until recently. In IPL 2013, Chris Gayle obliterated the Pune Warriors bowling attack on his way to 175 not-out in 66 balls. RCB smashed 263 in 20 overs and restricted Pune to 133/9. Ravi Rampaul, Jaydev Unadkat and Gayle picked two wickets each as they won the game by 130 runs. 

6. Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bengaluru – 118 runs 

Sunrisers Hyderabad occupy sixth spot on the list of biggest wins in IPL history. They defeated RCB by 118 runs at Hyderabad in IPL 2019, courtesy of carnage from Jonny Bairstow and David Warner. Bairstow blasted 114 off 56 while Warner struck an unbeaten century off 55 balls. Mohammad Nabi then picked 4 for 11 as SRH bowled out RCB for 113. 

7. Royal Challengers Bengaluru vs Rajasthan Royals – 112 runs

RCB makes yet another appearance on the list, having beaten Rajasthan Royals by 112 runs in the last IPL season. Batting first, Bengaluru posted 171 in 20 overs with Faf du Plessis and Glenn Maxwell hitting fifties. In the second innings, Wayne Parnell starred with 3 for 10 as they shot out RR for just 59. 

8. Punjab Kings vs Royal Challengers Bengaluru – 111 runs

This was the match Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh took down RCB at Dharamsala. The 63rd match of the IPL 2011, the duo added 206 runs for the second wicket. Gilchrist smashed a terrific 106 off 55 while Marsh struck 79* off 49. Piyush Chawla picked 4 for 17 as Punjab Kings bowled out RCB for 121 and clinched the game by 111 runs. 

9. Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals – 106 runs

KKR's victory over Delhi Capitals on 3rd April 2024 makes it to the top 10 biggest wins in IPL by margin of runs. Sunil Narine hit 85 off 39 while Angkrish Raghuvanshi made 54 off 27. Andre Russell also struck a 19-ball 41 as they posted 272 – the second highest total in IPL. KKR restricted Delhi to 166 to register a 106-run victory. 

10. Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Capitals – 105 runs 

In the semifinal of the inaugural IPL season in 2008, Rajasthan Royals defeated Delhi Capitals – the then Delhi Daredevils by 105 runs. Shane Watson scored 52 off 29 while Yusuf Pathan added 45 off 21 to power the team to 192. Watson and Munaf Patel then claimed three wickets each to skittle out Delhi for 87. Rajasthan Royals went on to clinch the title by beating Chennai Super Kings in the final.