Highest T20 run chase of all time: Punjab Kings create history

Punjab Kings broke the record for the highest T20 run chases of all time when they chased down 262 in the Indian Premier League on April 26th. Today we will talk about the highest run chase across all of competitive T20 cricket.  

When the T20 format was invented, chasing big targets was seen as a huge task but as the game has evolved, teams do not feel intimidated with high required rates. Before further delay, let's take a look at the top 10 highest T20 run chase of all time.

Fastest IPL hundreds: Jonny Bairstow enters top ten

Highest T20 run chase of all time 

TeamTargetOversOpposition VenueDate
Punjab Kings26218.4Kolkata Knight RidersEden Gardens26 Apr 2024
South Africa25918.5West IndiesCenturion26 Mar 2023
Middlesex25319.2SurreyThe Oval22 Jun 2023
Australia24418.5New ZealandAuckland16 Feb 2018
Bulgaria24319.4SerbiaSofia26 Jun 2022
Multan Sultans24319.1Peshawar ZalmiRawalpindi10 Mar 2023
St Kitts & Nevis Patriots24218.5Jamaica TallawahsBasseterre10 Sep 2019
Quetta Gladiators24118.2Peshawar ZalmiRawalpindi8 Mar 2023
West Indies23219.2South AfricaJohannesburg11 Jan 2015
Islamabad United22920Multan SultansRawalpindi10 Mar 2024

Punjab Kings 

Highest T20 run chase
Photo by Icon Sport

Punjab Kings broke the record for the highest T20 run chase on Friday night when they stunned Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens. This was a historic match as several records tumbled, including the one for the most sixes in a T20 with 42 sixes in two innings. 

Chasing a mammoth target of 262, Punjab Kings needed a strong start and Jonny Bairstow and Prabhsimran Singh hammered 93 runs in the powerplay. Prabhsimran smashed 54 off 20 whereas Bairstow went on to hammer an unbeaten 108 in 48 deliveries. He was supported well by Shashank Singh, who struck 68 not-out in just 28 balls as Punjab Kings finished the run chase in 18.4 overs. 

South Africa

On 26th March 2023, South Africa and West Indies played a run fest at SuperSport Park in Centurion. South Africa recorded the then highest successful T20 run chase as they chased down 259 by six wickets. Quinton de Kock and Reeza Hendricks started the chase in explosive style, blasting 102 in the powerplay. The pair went on to add 154 runs for the opening wicket in just 10.5 overs. De Kock blasted a century off 44 balls while Hendricks struck 68 off 28. Aiden Markram scored an unbeaten 38 off 21 as they completed the chase in 18.5 overs. This remains the highest successful run chase in T20 internationals. 


Middlesex are placed third on the list of the highest T20 run chase of all time, having achieved this feat against Surrey at the Oval in a Vitality Blast game. Chasing 253, Stephen Eskinazi and Joe Cracknell smashed 90 runs for the first wicket in 6.3 overs. Eskinazi hit 73 off 39 before Max Holden struck 68* in 35 deliveries. Ryan Higgins also smashed 48 off 24. It was a team effort from Middlesex with Holden staying unbeaten to get his side over the line with 4 balls to spare. 


Australia are fourth on the list of highest T20 run chase of all time. They held the record for the highest successful run chase in T20 cricket for four years. In February 2018, Australia chased down 244 versus New Zealand at Eden Park, Auckland. David Warner and D'Arcy Short provided them with a great start, scoring 121 runs in just 8.3 overs. Warner hit 59 off 24 while Short made 76 in 44 balls. Glenn Maxwell smashed 31 off 14 before Aaron Finch scored 36 not-out in 14 balls to clinch the game with 7 balls to spare.


In June 2022, Bulgaria recorded the then highest T20 run chase when they chased down 243 at National Sports Academy in Sofia. Chasing a big target, Bulgaria didn't have a great start as openers struggled to get going. Saim Hussain then hammered 71 in just 24 deliveries while Kevin D'Souza struck 66 off 27. Hristo Lakov couldn't strike at a good rate but remained unbeaten on 48 off 40 to ensure Bulgaria crossed the line with two balls to spare.

Multan Sultans 

The Pakistan Super League 2023 witnessed several high-scoring games. Multan Sultans made history in one of the games as they recorded the highest successful chase in the PSL. They lost both the openers early but Rilee Rossouw and Kieron Pollard added 99-run stand in 7.1 overs. Pollard hit 52 off 25 whereas Rossouw went on to smash 121 in just 51 deliveries. Anwar Ali then struck 8-ball 24 not-out to get Multan Sultans over the finishing line. 

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots 

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots occupy seventh place on the list of the highest T20 run chase of all time. They hold the record for the highest successful run chase in the history of CPL, having chased down 242 against Jamaica Tallawahs at Warner Park, Basseterre in 2019. Devon Thomas hit 71 off 40 while Evin Lewis smashed 53 in just 18 deliveries. Laurie Evans made a 20-ball 41 before Fabian Allen took them over the line with 7 balls to spare.

Quetta Gladiators

Just two days before Multan Sultans broke the record, Quetta Gladiators pulled off the highest successful run chase in the PSL. Jason Roy was the star of the night as they mowed down 241 versus Peshawar Zalmi at Rawalpindi. Roy single-handedly kept the run chase going, completing his century off 44 deliveries. He kept going and remained unbeaten on 143 off just 63. Mohammad Hafeez hit 41 not-out in 18 balls as they finished the chase with 10 balls to spare. 

West Indies 

In January 2015, West Indies were given a target of 232 by South Africa at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg and they did it with 4 balls remaining. Chris Gayle was the hero for them, blasting 90 off just 41 deliveries. Marlon Samuels also struck 60 off 39 before Daren Sammy scored a 7-ball 20 not-out to clinch the game.

Islamabad United

The 10th spot in the club of the highest T20 run chase of all time goes to Islamabad United, who chased down 229 against Multan Sultans in March 2024. Islamabad lost two wickets in the first two overs but Colin Munro and Shadab Khan brought them back on track with a 141-run partnership. Shadab scored 54 off 31 whereas Munro hammered 84 in 40. Imad Wasim later hit an unbeaten 30 off 13 as they won the game on the final ball.