Every captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL: List of all SRH skippers

A comprehensive look at every captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad from Kumar Sangakkara to the latest of SRH skippers, Pat Cummins.

Back in 2013, Sunrisers Hyderabad entered as a new team in the Indian Premier League (IPL). SRH was introduced after Deccan Chargers was dissolved following termination for breaching contract times. The Sunrisers retained 20 cricketers from the Chargers. Later, they filled 6 of their remaining 13 slots with players like Clint McKay, Thisara Perera, Daren Sammy, Nathan McCullum, Sudeep Tyagi and Quinton de Kock.

2016 was a significant year in their cricket history after they won the IPL title for the first time. David Warner inspired them to victory after beating Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) in the final at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Every captain of Punjab Kings

SRH hold a unique record as Mustafizur Rahman remains the only overseas cricketer in IPL history to win the Emerging Player award. In the last few seasons, the Sunrisers had to face challenges after they failed to make their way through to the playoffs. However, they remain a strong unit.

Every captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad: List of SRH skippers

Kumar Sangakkara2013
Cameron White2013
Shikhar Dhawan2013-14
Daren Sammy2014
David Warner2015-2021
Kane Williamson2018-22
Bhuvneshwar Kumar2019-23
Manish Pandey2021
Aiden Markram2023
Pat Cummins2024

Kumar Sangakkara

Former Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara captained the Sunrisers in 9 matches in 2013. Out of them, SRH won 4 and lost 4 while 1 game ended in no result. The elegant left-handed batter scored 120 runs for the Orange Army at an average of 13.33 and a strike-rate of 88.23 with a top score of 28.

It is safe to say that Sangakkara did not have the best times with SRH by any stretch of the imagination. Overall, in 71 IPL matches, the southpaw racked up 1687 runs at an average of 25.95 and a strike-rate of 121.19 with 10 fifties to his name.

Cameron White

Former Australian cricketer Cameron White captained the Sunrisers in 8 matches in 2013. Under his leadership, the Sunrisers won 5 games while they lost 3. In 14 games for SRH, White scored 234 runs at an average of 18 and a strike-rate of 109.34 with a top score of 52 to his name.

White was also a part of the RCB team in the IPL. In 47 IPL matches since his debut back in 2008, the hard-hitting scored 954 runs at an average of 26.50 and a strike-rate of 126.36 with a top score of 78 not out.

Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan captained the Sunrisers in 16 matches from 2013 to 2014. Under his captaincy, SRH won 7 times while they ended on the losing side 9 times. Although he did not quite succeed as their skipper, Dhawan did have an impressive run for them as a batter.

He remains the second-highest run-scorer for them, having racked up 2768 runs from 91 matches at an average of 35.03 and a strike-rate of 125.13 with 21 fifties to show for his efforts. After leaving the Sunrisers, Dhawan played for Delhi Capitals (DC) and is currently the skipper of the Punjab Kings (PBKS).

Daren Sammy

Daren Sammy has a massive reputation of captaining T20 teams, having led West Indies to multiple T20 World Cup titles in 2012 and 2016. He also captained the Sunrisers in 4 games back in 2014. Out of them, SRH won 2 and lost as many.

In 22 matches in his IPL career until now, Sammy scored 295 runs at an average of 19.67 and a strike-rate of 122.41 with a top score of 2016. He did not get a chance to play for SRH and in the IPL after the 2015 edition.

David Warner

David Warner happens to be the most successful skipper for the Sunrisers in the history of the IPL. In 67 matches that he led in, SRH won 35 of them while losing 30. 2 matches ended in no result. In 2016, he helped them make a name for themselves after winning the title.

In 95 matches for the Sunrisers in his career, Warner racked up 4014 runs at an average of 49.55 and a strike-rate of 142.59 with 2 centuries to his name. After spending 8 seasons with SRH, Warner moved to playing for the Capitals in the IPL.

Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson captained SRH in 46 matches from 2018 to 2022. Out of them, the Sunrisers won 22 while they lost 23. Williamson led the Orange Army for the entire season in 2018 when Warner was serving a ban following his involvement in the Cape Town ball-tampering scandal.

In that season, SRH finished as the runners-up after losing to the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the final. Williamson won the Orange Cap that season after he scored 735 runs from 17 games at an average of 52.50 with 8 fifties and a top score of 84 to his name.

Every captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad: SRH skippers
Photo by Icon Sport

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has always stood in for other captains while playing for the Sunrisers in the IPL. Under his captaincy, SRH won 2 out of 8 matches and lost 6. He is the all-time top wicket-taker for SRH as he has picked up 150 wickets from 136 matches with 2 four-wicket haul and 2 five-wicket hauls to show for his efforts.

Manish Pandey

Manish Pandey captained the Sunrisers in only 1 match back in the 2021 edition of the IPL, and could not lead them to victory. Having played in the IPL since the inaugural season back in 2008, Pandey has a significant amount of experience.

List of all KKR skippers

Aiden Markram

Aiden Markram has led Sunrisers Eastern Cape to back-to-back SA20 titles, but for SRH, he did not taste success as a skipper. In 13 matches in 2023, Markram could only led them to wins in 4 out of 13 matches.

Pat Cummins

Pat Cummins replaced Markram as the skipper of SRH ahead of the 2024 edition of the IPL. In the auction that took place last year in December, the Sunrisers shelled out a massive price of INR 20.50 crore for Cummins, who led Australia to glory in the WTC 2021-23 and ODI World Cup.


Rohit is an experienced cricket writer based in India