Leading wicket-taker of each IPL team

Today we bring all the information about the leading wicket-taker of each IPL team in one place. The Indian Premier League is a place where stars are made and legends stamp their legacy. Over the years, the league has produced some top quality bowling performances. Some have gone on to solidify their legacies. 

The IPL has had some legendary bowler-franchise pairings over the years such as Lasith Malinga and Mumbai Indians, Sunil Narine and Kolkata Knight Riders, Yuzvendra Chahal and Royal Challengers Bengaluru, Dwayne Bravo and Chennai Super Kings, Jasprit Bumrah and Mumbai Indians. 

Today we take a look at the bowlers who have claimed the most wickets for each of the 10 currently active IPL franchises. 

Rohit Sharma with unwanted record: Players with most ducks in IPL history

Leading wicket-taker of each IPL team

Leading wicket-taker of each IPL team
Photo by Icon Sport

Yuzvendra Chahal is the leading wicket-taker in the history of IPL. He has played for three different franchises and his best came at Royal Challengers Bengaluru. But what about the other nine teams and their top bowlers. Below is the list of leading wicket-taker of each IPL team as of 6th April 2024.

IPL TeamBowlerInningsWicketsEconomyBBI
Chennai Super KingsDwayne Bravo1271548.324/42
Delhi CapitalsAmit Mishra1031107.375/17
Gujarat TitansRashid Khan37507.614/24
Kolkata Knight RidersSunil Narine1731846.665/19
Lucknow Super GiantsRavi Bishnoi32308.233/28
Mumbai IndiansLasith Malinga1391957.125/13
Punjab KingsPiyush Chawla87847.524/17
Rajasthan RoyalsShane Watson84677.553/10
Royal Challengers BengaluruYuzvendra Chahal1131397.584/25
Sunrisers HyderabadBhuvneshwar Kumar1331477.615/19

Dwayne Bravo – CSK – 154 Wickets

Chennai Super Kings and Dwayne Bravo had a long and fruitful partnership. After moving from Mumbai Indians to CSK, Bravo became their designated death overs specialist and remains their all-time leading wicket-taker. Bravo picked 154 wickets in the yellow jersey from 130 games at an economy of 8.32 and strike rate of 16.33. Bravo won the Purple Cap on two occasions in 2013 and 2015. His 32 wickets in the IPL 2013 remains a record as the joint most wickets in a season and is the leading wicket-taker of each IPL team.

Amit Mishra – DC – 110 Wickets

Amit Mishra is currently the most capped player for Delhi Capitals, having played 103 matches from 2008 to 2021. Amidst all the inconsistency, he was one constant at DC. The leg-break bowler is the leading wicket-taker for DC with 110 wickets at an economy of 7.37. Mishra took two four-wicket hauls and one five-for during his time at the franchise. 

Rashid Khan – GT – 50 Wickets

Rashid Khan, one of the best bowlers in the IPL, was picked up by Gujarat Titans in a draft ahead of the IPL 2022 after the Afghan spinner parted ways with Sunrisers Hyderabad. Rashid is the leading wicket-taker for Gujarat Titans with 50 wickets from 37 games. He has an economy of 7.62 and a strike rate of 17.62. In the IPL 2023, Rashid was the second highest wicket-taker behind his teammate Mohammed Shami, with 27 wickets. 

Sunil Narine – KKR – Wickets

There are certain players in the IPL history, who have only ever played for one franchise. Sunil Narine is one of those, having represented Kolkata Knight Riders since 2012. Despite facing several challenges, he continued to make an impact for the team. Narine is their leading wicket-taker with 166 wickets from 165 matches at an economy of just 6.74. Narine in his early years was monumental in KKR winning two IPL titles in 2012 and 2014. He snared 67 wickets in three seasons during 2012-14 at an incredible economy of 5.78. 

Ravi Bishnoi – LSG – 30 Wickets

Lucknow Super Giants were introduced ahead of IPL 2022 and Ravi Bishnoi has played the joint most matches for them along with Krunal Pandya. The leg-break bowler is the leading wicket-taker for LSG with 30 wickets from 32 games at an economy of 8.23. He makes the list of leading wicket-taker of each IPL team.

Lasith Malinga – MI – 195 Wickets

Lasith Malinga has the claim to be the top two pacers in IPL history, with the other one being his successor at Mumbai Indians – Jasprit Bumrah. Malinga dominated the league with his slingy action, pinpoint yorkers and slower balls. He played for only one franchise and picked 195 wickets in just 122 games during 2009-19. Malinga won the Purple Cap in IPL 2011 and was an important figure in Mumbai Indians’ four IPL championship victories. 

Piyush Chawla – PBKS – 84 Wickets

Piyush Chawla was a part of Punjab Kings from 2008 to 2013 and still remains the leading wicket-taker for the team. The leg-spinner played 87 matches for PBKS and picked 84 wickets at an economy of 7.52. 

Shane Watson – RR – 67 Wickets

Rajasthan Royals have been a part of the IPL since 2008 barring two seasons but have had consistency in their squad over the years. So it doesn't come as a surprise that a batting all-rounder Shane Watson is their all-time leading wicket-taker. Watson played for RR from 2008 to 2015, picking 67 wickets from 84 games at an economy of 7.55. Watson was a key figure at the franchise and was the tournament MVP in their title win in 2008. 

Yuzvendra Chahal – RCB – 139 Wickets

Yuzvendra Chahal had a very successful partnership with Royal Challengers Bengaluru between 2014 to 2021. The leg-spinner played 113 matches for RCB and became their leading wicket-taker with 139 wickets. Chahal had an economy of 7.58 while playing for RCB, which seems even impressive when you consider that majority of the matches came at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.  He still makes the leading wicket-taker of each IPL team list.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar – SRH – 147 Wickets

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been a part of Sunrisers Hyderabad since 2014 and it is no surprise that he is their leading wicket-taker. The medium pacer has played 133 matches for the franchise and has taken 147 wickets at an economy of 7.61. He is the only bowler apart from Bravo to have won the Purple Cap twice. Bhuvi did that in consecutive seasons in IPL 2016 and 2017, picking 49 wickets in two editions.