Cricketers with the most Player of the Match awards in the IPL 

If you are looking to know about the players with the most Player of the Match awards in the IPL, you are in the right place. The ongoing 17th edition of the Indian Premier League, IPL 2024 has given us several memorable moments from T20 superstars and the future stars. From Jos Buttler to Travis Head to Jasprit Bumrah to Andre Russell to Yashasvi Jaiswal, the tournament has witnessed some terrific performances. That made us think about the players who have put on impactful performances for their IPL franchise over and over again. So without further delay, let's take a look at the players with most player of the match awards in the IPL. 

Players with the highest strike rate in IPL history

List of players with the most Player of the Match awards in the IPL

PlayerMatchesPlayer of the Match awardsCareer span
AB de Villiers184252008-2021
Chris Gayle 142222009-2021
Rohit Sharma251192008-2024
David Warner 183182009-2024
MS Dhoni257172008-2024
Virat Kohli 245172009-2024
Yusuf Pathan 174162008-2019
Shane Watson 145162008-2020
Ravindra Jadeja 233152008-2024
Andre Russell 119152012-2024

AB de Villiers – 25 awards 

AB de Villiers is one of the greatest players in the history of the IPL and without a doubt the best middle order batter. The South African star scored at a brisk rate more often than not and that meant whenever he scored big, it made a match-defining impact. It is no surprise he sits at the top amongst players with most Player of the Match awards in the IPL.

De Villiers played 184 matches in the IPL, representing two franchises – Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challengers Bengaluru. He made 5162 runs in his IPL career at an average of 39.70 while striking at 151.68. He smashed three centuries and 40 half centuries in the league. De Villiers won the player of the match award 25 times. 

Chris Gayle – 22 awards

Chris Gayle has etched his name in the history books as a cricketer with one of the biggest impacts on the IPL. The universe boss made the bowlers shiver during his time at the IPL. Gayle represented three IPL teams – Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bengaluru and Punjab Kings. He saw his most successful days at RCB. 

Gayle has the second most player of the match awards in the IPL, winning it on 22 occasions. He amassed 4965 runs from 142 games at an average of 39.72 and strike rate of 148.96. Gayle hammered six hundreds and 31 fifties in the league, and holds the record for the highest individual score in an innings.

Rohit Sharma – 19 awards

most Player of the Match awards in the IPL 
Photo by Icon Sport

Rohit Sharma's bigger IPL legacy might be as the guy who captained Mumbai Indians to five championships but he sits third on the list of most Player of the match awards in the IPL. He wasn't at his best with the bat in the IPL during 2016-23 but was a valuable asset before that, first for Deccan Chargers and then for MI.

Rohit won 19 player of the match awards in his IPL career, including one in the IPL 2015 final. He has 6514 runs from 251 games at an average of 30 and strike rate of 131. Rohit has two centuries and 42 half centuries in his IPL career.

David Warner – 18 awards

David Warner can't be too far behind when it comes to making an impact in the Indian Premier League. The Aussie star played for two IPL teams – Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad, winning a trophy with SRH as a captain. 

Warner won 18 player of the match awards in IPL, occupying fourth spot on this list. He has scored over 6500 runs from 183 games at an average of 40.77 and strike rate of 139.80. Warner has four hundreds and 62 fifties to his credit.  

MS Dhoni – 17 awards

Arguably the most iconic player in the history of the IPL, MS Dhoni is fifth on the list of players with most player of the match awards in IPL. The Chennai Super Kings legend has won the honour on 17 occasions. Apart from leading CSK to five titles, he played for Rising Pune Supergiants for two years. 

Dhoni carved out his legacy as the greatest finisher and has done that for CSK time and again. He has over 5100 runs to his name in the IPL, averaging 39.45 at a strike rate of 137 with 24 fifties. 

Virat Kohli – 17 awards

Virat Kohli is the leading run-scorer in the history of the Indian Premier League. It would be a surprise if he wasn't on this list. Kohli has only ever played for one franchise that is Royal Challengers Bengaluru. He has amassed over 7600 runs in the IPL at an average of 38 and strike rate of 130.90. He has the most (8) centuries in the league and 52 half centuries. 

Yusuf Pathan – 16 awards

Yusuf Pathan, one of the hardest hitters Indian cricket has ever seen, has seventh most player of the match awards in IPL. He played for Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad, and played a key role in IPL title victories for RR and KKR. Pathan scored 3204 runs at 30.5 average and 143 strike rate while also picking 42 wickets at 7.40 economy. 

Shane Watson – 16 awards

The Australian all-rounder played for Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bengaluru and Chennai Super Kings. He was instrumental in RR and CSK winning IPL trophies in 2008 and 2018, respectively. Watson scored 3874 runs in the IPL at 31.5 average and 138 strike rate, while also picking 92 wickets at 7.92 rpo. Watson won 16 player of the match awards in his IPL career. 

Ravindra Jadeja – 15 awards

The Indian left-arm spin all-rounder has been a key part of Chennai Super Kings and has won 15 player of the match awards. Ravindra Jadeja is an excellent bowler but also makes an impact with the bat on occasions. He has taken 156 wickets in the IPL at an economy of 7.61 and has scored over 2800 runs at a strike rate of 129. 

Andre Russell – 15 awards

Andre Russell is one of the most valuable assets in the T20 arena and he has had a great career in the IPL. He started with the Delhi franchise but Kolkata Knight Riders is where he unleashed his powers. He has won 15 player of the match awards, having played 119 games. He has hit over 2400 runs at a strike rate of 174.63 while averaging 30. Russell has also taken 105 wickets with his right arm pace. 


A strong believer in the fact that Kohli and Paes are the greatest Indian superstars!