Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Team Players List IPL 2021: Retained and Released Players list

Chennai Super Kings had an awful season in IPL 2020. Ahead of the IPL 2021 mini-auction, CSK has released a few players ahead of IPL 2021.


CSK IPL Squad 2021 | CSK IPL 2021 Squad List

MS Dhoni (Captain), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, DJ Bravo, Sam Curran, Shardul Thakur, Ambati Rayudu, Josh Hazlewood, Faf Du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, KM Asif, N Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, R. Sai Kishore, Cheteshwar Pujara, Moeen Ali, Krishnappa Gowtham, Robin Uthappa, Karn Sharma, M Harishankar Reddy, Hari Nishaanth


List of players retained by CSK in IPL 2021

Dhoni and Raina will be retained by CSK in the IPL 2021
The partnership of Dhoni-Raina has been the backbone for CSK in IPL

1. MS Dhoni

Will Dhoni play IPL 2021? Will Dhoni be retained by CSK in IPL 2021? These questions were answered after CSK team owner N Srinivasan confirmed that Dhoni will be retained by Chennai Super Kings for the upcoming edition of the IPL in 2021. After finishing seventh last season, CSK fans would hope for a better performance from the three-time IPL champions in 2021. The 14th edition of the IPL could possibly mark the swansong for Dhoni in his IPL career.


ALSO READ Best Playing 11 for CSK in IPL 2021


2. Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina opted out of IPL 2020 and returned home before the tournament began in UAE. However, despite that fact, CSK has already made clear its intentions to retain Raina ahead of IPL 2021. After a major batting failure throughout the season in 2021, CSK will expect Raina to bolster their batting at No.3 in the upcoming season.


3. Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja has made remarkable progress in his career as a T20 player. With an enhancement in his batting credibility, Jadeja has become more than a reliable all-rounder even in the shortest format of the game. Under Dhoni, who seems to extract the maximum out of Jadeja's potential, the all-rounder has enjoyed great success at CSK. Even in IPL 2021, the 32-year old will be one of the few players to be retained by CSK.


List of all players who are retained by CSK in IPL 2021:

  1. MS Dhoni
  2. Suresh Raina
  3. Ravindra Jadeja
  4. Josh Hazlewood
  5. DJ Bravo
  6. Sam Curran
  7. Sai Kishore
  8. Ruturaj Gaikwad
  9. N Jagadeesan
  10. Shardul Thakur
  11. Deepak Chahar
  12. Faf du Plessis
  13. Mitchell Santner



List of players released by CSK in the IPL 2021 auction

5 players CSK might release ahead of IPL 2021
CSK have released a few players in IPL 2021

1. Kedar Jadhav

Kedar Jadhav had an awful season for CSK in IPL 2020. The middle-order batsman coped a fair share of criticism for his slow strike rate during the middle overs. In a total of eight matches in IPL 2020, the Maharashtra-born player could only muster a paltry 62 runs for the ‘Men in Yellow'.


2. Piyush Chawla

Piyush Chawla was one of the most expensive buys for CSK at the IPL auction 2020. However, the leg-spinner couldn't make enough contribution with the ball for his newest franchise in 2020. Chawla picked up a total of six wickets in 7 outings in 2020 at an economy rate in excess of nine.


List of all players who are released by CSK ahead of IPL 2021 auction:

  1. Piyush Chawla
  2. Shane Watson
  3. Monu Singh
  4. Harbhajan Singh
  5. Kedar Jadhav
  6. Murali Vijay