IPL 2020: The tale of IPL Finals featuring Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians has been the most successful franchise in the history of the league. With as many as four titles, the Rohit Sharma-led side has really been the side to beat in the twelve editions of the league so far. The franchise didn't have the best of the starts during the first few IPL seasons. Despite some of the greats featuring in their ranks, MI failed to break into the top-4 in the first two seasons.

However, it was in IPL 2010 that the franchise witnessed a great turnaround and finished as the table-toppers in the season. It was a dream run for the ‘Men in Blue' as they won 10 out of their 14 league matches to top the points table. Playing their first final in IPL 2010, Mumbai Indians succumbed under pressure and failed to cross the final hurdle and lost to Chennai Super Kings, who were eventually crowned champions in IPL 2010.

IPL 2010 final scorecard

Ever since the IPL final in 2010, Mumbai Indians have featured in four other finals and have won each of the encounters to be crowned champions in four different editions. Here, we take a look at each of the IPL final featuring Mumbai Indians:

1. IPL Final 2010

Image result for ipl final 2010
Mumbai Indians couldn't close out the match in IPL final 2010

It was not the best of the IPL finals for Mumbai Indians in 2010. Led by Sachin Tendulkar, the franchise made some basic errors after inflicting the damage early in the CSK's innings. Chasing 169 to win, they shuffled their batting order and had to pay the price. None of their moves paid rich dividends as CSK easily strolled their way to be named as 2010 IPL winners. Mumbai lost the final by 22 runs.

2. IPL Final 2013

Related image
Mumbai secured their maiden IPL title win in 2013

It was a re-match of the IPL final in 2010. Mumbai Indians finished second while CSK were the table-toppers at the end of the league stage. However, it was Mumbai which prevailed in the final to win their maiden IPL title in 2013. Batting first, MI could only score 148, and that too courtesy off a blinder from Kieron Pollard whose 32-ball 60 helped his team to post those many runs.

With past experience of winning the IPL final, CSK were touted as favourites to claim their third title. However, the experience in the MI ranks proved too good for the Yellow Army as their batting order collapsed like nine pins to hand Mumbai a 23-run win in the IPL final 2013. The Rohit Sharma-led side was fittingly crowned 2013 IPL winners.

IPL 2013 final scorecard

3. IPL Final 2015

In 2015, the rivalry between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings saw another chapter being added. Though it was a one-sided affair this time as the men from Mumbai dominated the final clash of the season. Batting first, Mumbai Indians scored a mammoth total of 202. Skipper Sharma was the chief tormentor with the bat, scoring a 26-ball 50 to empower his team to such a huge total.

Chennai Super Kings never looked assured during the chase as the scoreboard pressure played to their demise. None of their batters could score in the final as MI bagged their second title in three years. After winning the 2015 IPL final, Mumbai became only the second franchise after CSK to lift the IPL trophy twice.

Catch all IPL top stories and related news

4. IPL Final 2017

Image result for ipl final 2017 MI
Mumbai Indians – 2017 IPL winners (Pic Credits Hindustan Times)

In a low-scoring thriller in Hyderabad, Mumbai Indians were up against Rising PuneSuperGiant in the IPL final 2017. Before the IPL final, the two teams previously met thrice and Pune emerged on the winning side on each occasion. However, in the final, it was somehow destined for the Rohit-led team to claim a come from behind victory as they sprung a major surprise in the dying moments of the game.

Defending 129, Mumbai was down for a majority of their second innings. However, a few quick wickets towards the back end of Pune's innings helped MI crawl their way back into the game. And soon after, the likes of Jasprit Bumrah and Mitchell Johnson made full use of the slight window that opened for their team to stage a comeback in the final. In the end, Pune fell short by a run as MI created history to become the most successful franchise in the IPL history by winning their third title.

5. IPL Final 2019

Image result for ipl final 2019 scorecard
Lasith Malinga showed why experience is still greatly valued in T20s (Pic Credit: NDTV Sports)

In their fifth appearance in the IPL final, Mumbai Indians were up against their rivals at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. The IPL final 2019 delivered the expected drama as it was an edge of seat thriller between the two best teams in the IPL history. Mumbai yet again failed to put up a huge score as they ended their first innings at 149.

Though it was not a huge score, their bowling attack had enough arsenal to defend any score on their day. It was one of the days to remember for the MI fans as Chennai capitulated in the end as they lost the match by 1 run. It was absolute ecstasy for Rohit and brigade as they pulled off a win from nowhere. Undoubtedly Mumbai was the better team on the day as they registered their fourth IPL win.