IPL History: 3 one-sided IPL finals in the last twelve years

Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most competitive T20 leagues around the globe. Each year, franchisees battle it out against each other to win the coveted IPL trophy. Teams that make the top-4 need to play some consistent cricket over the course of the entire tournament. IPL final is always the most-anticipated game in the entire season. The two best teams lock horns to get their hands on the elusive IPL trophy.

However, even in the IPL history, a few IPL finals haven't lived up to the fans' expectations. Some of the matches have been way too one-sided despite a highly competitive edition before the eventual knockout.


Here's a look at 3 one-sided IPL finals in the history of the tournament:


1.  IPL Final 2011, Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (Chennai)

Murali Vijay powered CSK to a high-score in IPL final
Murali Vijay powered CSK to a high-score in IPL final 2011

After emerging winners in the IPL final in 2010, Chennai Super Kings made its way to the second consecutive IPL final in 2011. Hosts CSK faced Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at Chepauk stadium in Chennai. It was an anti-climax end to the season as Dhoni-led side completely outplayed RCB in a rather one-sided IPL final.

Batting first, CSK posted a huge total of 205 courtesy a 159-run opening stand between Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey. With a tough task in hand, RCB could never get going especially after the dismissal of their star batter Chris Gayle in the very first over. Despite some middle-order contributions from the lower-order, RCB could only manage to score 147 runs in their 20 overs. It was a completely outright win for CSK as they successfully defended their IPL title by winning the Final by a margin of 58 runs.


2. IPL Final 2013, Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings (Kolkata)

Mumbai Indians won the IPL final in 2013
Mumbai Indians won the IPL final for the first time in 2013

IPL final in 2013 gave birth to one of the more fiercest IPL rivalries of all-time. After losing out to Chennai in the IPL final in 2010, this was viewed as an opportunity for Mumbai Indians to avenge the loss in 2010 against CSK. However, batting first, MI was in all sorts of trouble after losing early wickets. It was almost certain that their dream of winning the IPL would soon diminish yet again in the Final. However, a late surge from Kieron Pollard powered the team to a fighting total of 148 in their 20 overs.

In reply, Chennai were off to an abysmal start. At one stage, the ‘Men in Yellow' were reeling at 39 for 6 chasing 149 to win their third IPL title. In an attempt to claim victory, Chennai fell 23 runs short of the target, handing a rather easy win to Mumbai in the IPL final. They folded out for 125 runs as MI were crowned IPL champions for the first time in the IPL history.


3. IPL Final 2015, Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings (Kolkata)

Mumbai Indians were crowned champions in IPL 2015

In a re-match of the IPL Final 2013, Mumbai Indians were up against Chennai Super Kings at Kolkata's Eden Gardens for IPL Final 2015. Both the teams were chasing yet another IPL trophy as another chapter in the great rivalry unfolded at the iconic venue. Batting first, Rohit Sharma-led side made full use of the batting conditions as they posted a huge total of 202 runs. Leading from the front, Rohit played a 26-ball blinder to score a valuable fifty in the final.

Chasing a huge total in the IPL final, Chennai Super Kings couldn't get off to a great start despite a partnership between Smith and Raina. The middle-order crumbled and lost wickets in heaps to concede the advantage to the opposition. Mumbai won their second IPL final in three years. CSK were bundled out for 161 as Mumbai emerged winners by 41 runs.