Most runs in IPL History | List of Highest Run Scorers in IPL history | Most IPL runs as Captain

Indian Premier League (IPL) has had a rich history as part of Indian cricket in its first twelve editions. In terms of runs scored, Virat Kohli holds the record for most runs in IPL history. The RCB skipper has scored 5412 runs in the first twelve editions of the IPL including five centuries and 36 fifties. Following Kohli, Suresh Raina, often known as Mr. IPL, holds the second spot on the list of highest run-scorers in the IPL.


Virat Kohli becomes the first players to score 6000 runs in IPL history

In the RCB vs RR match in IPL 2021, Virat Kohli became the first batsman in the history of IPL to cross the 6000-run mark. Kohli has played 196 matches in IPL, scoring runs at an average nearing 39. The RCB skipper leads the run-scoring chart with 40 fifties and five centuries in his IPL career. Interestingly, Kohli has scored all his IPL runs while playing for the single franchise at the Royal Challengers Bangalore.


List of Highest run-scorers in IPL history | Most Runs in IPL

Virat Kohli
Suresh Raina
Shikhar Dhawan
David Warner
Rohit Sharma
AB de Villiers
Chris Gayle
MS Dhoni
Robin Uthappa
Gautam Gambhir


Most runs in an IPL season

Kohli IPL centuries tally
Kohli scored an unbelievable four IPL centuries in 2016

Virat Kohli tops the IPL list for the highest run-scorers in an IPL season. In 2016, Kohli scored an unbelievable 973 runs in 16 games at an average of 81.08 and a strike rate of 152.03. In IPL 2016, Kohli was the peak of his powers which included four centuries for the RCB captain. It was a record-breaking season for Kohli who narrowly missed the 1000-run mark in a single edition of the IPL.

1Virat Kohli (RCB, 2016)161697311381.08152.03478338
2David Warner (SRH, 2016)171784893*60.57151.42098831
3Kane Williamson (SRH, 2018)17177358452.50142.40086428
4Chris Gayle (RCB, 2012)1514733128*61.08160.74174659
5Michael Hussey (CSK, 2013)17177339552.35129.50068117


List of Overseas Players with most runs in IPL

Warner has scored IPL runs for an overseas player
Warner has scored IPL runs for an overseas player

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s captain in IPL 2020, David Warner has scored the most runs for an overseas player in IPL history. With 5254 runs in 142 matches, Warner has scored the most runs by any overseas player in the IPL. However, he holds the fourth spot in the list of all-time leading run-scorers in the IPL.

1David Warner142142525412642.71141.54448510195
2AB De Villiers1691564849133*40.40152339390235
3Chris Gayle1321314772175*41.13151631384389
4Shane Watson1451413874117*30.99138421376190
5Kieron Pollard1641473023158*29.93159015196198


Most runs as Captain in IPL

Warner has scored IPL runs for an overseas player
Virat Kohli dominated the CSK bowlers indicating signs of a return to form

Currently, Virat Kohli leads the batting charts with the most runs in IPL history as captain. In 133 matches as captain, Kohli has scored 4344 runs in his IPL career. Most recently in the ongoing IPL 2020 edition, Kohli surpassed MS Dhoni to claim the record for most runs as captain in IPL. With 4275 runs in 182 matches, Dhoni takes the second spot. In the list of IPL captains, apart from Dhoni, only Rohit Sharma and David Warner might look to threaten Kohli’s tally for most runs in IPL as captain in the upcoming few years.

Virat KohliRCB4810133
MS DhoniCSK, RPS4475196
Gautam GambhirKKR, DD3518129
Rohit SharmaMI, DCH3251123
David WarnerDC, SRH293171

(Stats updated till IPL 2020)