India vs South Africa T20 World Cup Stats, Records, and Scorecard


The exhilarating rivalry between Indian batting and South African bowling will enter its newest chapter at the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. While South Africa will be looking to win their maiden title, India will be eyeing to bring the elite trophy back home with them.

The two powerhouses will face each other on October 30, 2022, in Perth.

India vs South Africa T20 World Cup head-to-head

Date Winner Margin Venue
September 20, 2007 India 37 runs Durban
June 16, 2009 South Africa 12 runs Nottingham
May 2, 2010 India 14 runs Gros Islet
October 2, 2012 India 1 run Colombo
April 4, 2014 India 6 wickets Dhaka

India vs South Africa T20 World Cup 2007

India knocked out hosts South Africa out of the inaugural T20 World Cup with a stellar performance. India took the field without their main man Yuvraj Singh and put up 153/5 on the board with the help of Rohit Sharma’s unbeaten 50 and MS Dhoni’s 33-ball 45.

The bowlers then flattened the Protean batting line-up. RP Singh and S Sreesanth took wickets regularly, ensuring South Africa ended with 116/9.

India vs South Africa T20 World Cup 2009

South Africa registered their only T20 World Cup win over India in Nottingham. The low-scoring fixture got off to a slow start, with the Proteas posting 130/5 with AB de Villiers hitting 63 off 51. India started strongly with openers Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma putting on 48 runs in 6.2 overs. A collapse after that saw India finish at 118/8.

Also read -> T20 World Cup Winners List – All teams from 2007 to 2022

India vs South Africa T20 World Cup 2010

It was the Suresh Raina show as the southpaw slammed the maiden T20I century by an Indian. Raina raced to the hundred in 60 balls, smacking elite pacers Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel. Yuvraj and Dhoni chipped in to take India to 186/5. 

South Africa’s chase featured a gutsy Jacques Kallis playing a lone hand, as the team fell 15 runs short. 

India vs South Africa T20 World Cup 2012

The two rivals played out a last-over thriller in Colombo. Batting first, India scored a competitive 152/6 thanks to Suresh Raina’s 34-ball 45. In reply, Faf du Plessis nearly took South Africa home with a feisty 65 off 38 balls. However, the other contributions didn’t matter much as Indian seamer L Balaji defended 14 runs in the last over.

T20 legend Yuvraj Singh won the Man of the Match award because of his 15-ball 21 and 2 wickets for 23.

India vs South Africa T20 World Cup 2014

In the 2014 semifinal in Dhaka, South Africa elected to bat first. Captain Faf du Plessis (41-ball 58) and JP Duminy (40-ball 45*) put on a 71-run stand. Swashbuckler David Miller then finished the innings in style with 23 runs off 12 balls to take South Africa to 172 in 20 overs.

The target was stiff, but the chase master Virat Kohli had other plans. Kohli thumped an unbeaten 72 off 44 balls to help India reach the target in the final over to make the finals.

T20 India vs South Africa squads


BCCI has selected a formidable Indian contingent for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 which will be held in Australia from Oct 13 to Nov 16. Much has changed for India since the last edition in 2021. However, it remains to be seen if the change in leadership can bring about a change in fortunes.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (Vice Captain), Dinesh Karthik (Wicket Keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel. Injured Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement is still awaited.

Image courtesy @BCCI


With only the notable omission of Rassie van der Dussen who is still nursing a fractured finger, the phenomenal Proteas have selected a strong squad. The pace battery would be their biggest asset in Australia. It would be further enriched with the inclusion of the experienced Wayne Parnell.

Squad: Temba Bavuma (Captain), Heinrich Klaasen, Quinton de Kock, Keshav Maharaj, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Aiden Markram, Wayne Parnell, Lungi Ngidi, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Tristan Stubbs, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rillee Rossouw, Kagiso Rabada.

T20 India vs South Africa key players: India

Dinesh Karthik

The giant of domestic cricket has remained an in-and-out story in the Indian team until 2021. The veteran keeper has the self-belief to handle big-match pressure and is often used by skipper Rohit Sharma to keep the batting order fluid. 

Karthik’s belligerent strike rate of 146.4 and the recently gained reputation as a finisher make him a key player for India in this year's tournament.

Hardik Pandya

The swashbuckling all-rounder can dent any opposition with his devastating batting and more than handy bowling skills. Ever since his return to the field in April, he has led Gujrat Titans to their fairytale IPL win, delivered the match-winning six in the Asia cup opener against Pakistan, and even downed England in England to win the bilateral T20 series. 

Also read -> India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2022 Odds and Predictions

With a batting strike rate of 148.49 and 54 wickets under his belt, his fast bowling too will cause a lot of headaches for the opposition.

T20 India vs South Africa key players: South Africa

Quinton de Kock

An immensely talented and popular name in the International arena, Quinny recently achieved the milestone of being the fastest South African batsman to reach 2,000 T20I runs. The magnificent wicketkeeper and fearless opener have a strike rate of 134.12 in T20I. 

De Kock is currently the second most experienced player in the lineup and the Proteas team will depend on him to provide that usual solid start that he normally gives.

David Miller

Miller has roared back into form. The six-hitting machine from South Africa comes into the tournament with more than 100 T20I caps under his belt. The finisher has a batting strike rate of 145.49 and is coming fresh from a 106 not out in the second T20I against India in Guwahati. 

South Africa’s highest run-getter in T20Is is geared up to play his role to perfection.