Rohit Sharma becomes second-quickest to 10,000 ODI runs

Indian captain Rohit Sharma has etched his name in the annals of One Day International (ODI) cricket history by becoming the 15th player to amass a remarkable 10,000 runs in this format, achieving the feat against Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup.

This significant achievement places him in an elite league, with the last person to reach this milestone being Chris Gayle in 2019.

The moment of glory arrived during the seventh over of India's Super Four match against Sri Lanka when Rohit flicked a well-pitched delivery from Kasun Rajitha over the bowler's head, and the ball soared over the long-off boundary for a magnificent six.

Rohit's journey to this milestone was nothing short of remarkable, making him the second-fastest player to achieve this feat. He achieved this milestone in just 241 innings, a number that is second only to his compatriot and captain, Virat Kohli, who reached 10,000 runs in a mere 205 innings.

Rohit Sharma Centuries | List of All Rohit Sharma ODI, Test, T20I and IPL Centuries

Rohit made his ODI debut in 2007 against Ireland. Since then, he has consistently performed at a high level, maintaining an impressive batting average of 49. His list of accomplishments in ODIs is staggering, with 30 centuries to his name, making him the joint third-highest century-maker in ODI cricket. Alongside these centuries, he has also registered fifty half-centuries. He also has three double hundreds.

One of the most iconic moments in Rohit's ODI career was his record-breaking innings of 264 runs, the highest individual score in the history of ODIs.

In terms of power hitting, Rohit has been a dominant force, holding the record for the most number of sixes by an Indian batsman in ODIs, with an impressive tally of 285. This places him third in the world, behind only Shahid Afridi and Chris Gayle.

It's worth noting that among active cricketers, Rohit Sharma and Kohli are the only two players in the 10,000-run club.

Among the current crop of active cricketers, only three Bangladeshis – Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, and Shakib Al Hasan – have crossed the 7,000-run mark in ODIs, emphasizing the rarity of achieving 10,000 runs in this format.

Rohit Sharma joins an elusive club

rohit sharma
Photo by Icon sport

The journey to 10,000 ODI runs is an exclusive club, and Rohit joins the ranks of cricket legends like Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Sanath Jayasuriya, Brian Lara, Rahul Dravid, Ricky Ponting, Jacques Kallis, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, and Chris Gayle, who have previously achieved this remarkable milestone.

Player NameODI Runs
Sachin Tendulkar (India)18426
Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)14234
Ricky Ponting (Australia)13704
Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka)13430
Virat Kohli (India)13024
Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)12650
Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan)11739
Jacques Kallis (South Africa)11579
Sourav Ganguly (India)11363
Rahul Dravid (India)10889
MS Dhoni (India)10773
Chris Gayle (West Indies)10480
Brian Lara (West Indies)10405
Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)10290
Rohit Sharma (India)10001*

A strong believer in the fact that Kohli and Paes are the greatest Indian superstars!