CSK vs KKR head to head IPL record: Stats, total matches and history


The match between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is one of the most heated in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The two teams have faced 28 times in the past, with CSK having more victories than KKR. While the Chennai team has won 18 times, KKR has won a total of 9 times.

The rivalry between CSK and KKR is not just limited to on-field performances. The two teams also have a strong social media presence and their fans engage in friendly banter online. Both the franchises are very strong thanks to their fan base.

The two teams had a disappointing tournament in 2022, failing to qualify for the playoffs. However, CSK vs KKR promises to be a thrilling contest as both the teams are eyeing for the playoff spot this season. CSK already have one foot in the top 4 after defeating DC in their previous match. KKR on the other hand are struggling after losing their previous match to RR. This will be a must win match for them.

CSK vs KKR head to head

So far, the Chennai Super Kings have a significant lead over the Kolkata Knight Riders. CSK has won 18 of the 27 games they have played against KKR. These two teams played in the 2021 IPL final, which CSK won by 27 runs against KKR.

Matches played 28
CSK won 18
KKR won 9
Tie 1

CSK vs KKR match results

CSK and KKR last played in Match No. 33 of the IPL 2023 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, when the Super Kings won by 49 runs. Rahane was named Player of the Match after his blistering innings of 71 off 29 balls.

Tournament Venue Winner Margin
2023 IPL Kolkata CSK 49 runs
2022 IPL Mumbai KKR 6 Wickets
2021 IPL Dubai CSK 27 runs
2021 IPL Abu Dhabi CSK 2 Wickets
2021 IPL Mumbai CSK 10 runs
2020 IPL Abu Dhabi KKR 10 Runs
2020 IPL Dubai CSK 6 Wickets
2019 IPL Chennai CSK 7 Wickets
2019 IPL Kolkata CSK 5 Wickets
2018 IPL Chennai CSK 5 wickets
2018 IPL Kolkata KKR 6 wickets
2015 IPL Chennai CSK 2 runs
2015 IPL Kolkata KKR 7 wickets
2014 IPL Ranchi CSK 34 runs
2014 IPL Kolkata KKR 8 wickets
2013 IPL Kolkata CSK 4 wickets
2013 IPL Chennai CSK 14 runs
2012 IPL Chennai KKR 5 wickets
2012 IPL Kolkata CSK 5 wickets
2012 IPL Chennai KKR 5 wickets
2011 IPL Chennai CSK 2 runs
2011 IPL Kolkata KKR 10 runs
2010 IPL Kolkata CSK 55 runs
2010 IPL Chennai CSK 9 wickets
2009 IPL Centurion KKR 7 wickets
2008 IPL Chennai CSK 9 wickets
2008 IPL Kolkata CSK 3 runs

 CSK vs KKR IPL stats

Most runs

Suresh Raina has scored the most runs (747) in the IPL T20 matches between CSK and KKR, followed by MS Dhoni (550) and Faf du Plessis (437). Among the players in this list, only MS Dhoni and Andre Russel play for these respective teams. The others have either retired or play for another franchise in the IPL.

Player name Runs
Suresh Raina 747
MS Dhoni 552
Faf du Plessis 437
Robin Utthapa 377
Andre Russel 353

Most wickets

Among the bowlers, Sunil Narine has taken the most wickets (21), followed by Ravindra Jadeja (19), R Ashwin (16), and Dwayne Bravo (15). Piyush Chawla presently plays for Mumbai Indians, while Ashwin currently plays for RR. Dwayne Bravo has retired from the IPL and is currently in charge of CSK.

Player name Wickets
Sunil Narine 21
Ravindra Jadeja 19
R Ashwin 16
Dwayne Bravo 15
Piyush Chawla 12

Best match in the Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders head to head

The 2021 Indian Premier League (IPL) final was played between the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on October 15, 2021.

The match was held at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Chennai Super Kings won the toss and elected to bat first, setting a target of 193 runs for Kolkata Knight Riders. FAF du Plessis was the top scorer for CSK as he scored 86 runs in the first innings of the match setting up a great total.

In response, Kolkata Knight Riders put up a solid batting performance, with opener Venkatesh Iyer scoring a half-century and Shubman Gill contributing 51 runs. However, they lost wickets at regular intervals and ultimately fell short of the target, finishing with a total of 165 runs for 9 wickets in their 20 overs.

Chennai Super Kings won the match by 27 runs and were crowned champions of the 2021 IPL season. The victory marked the fourth time that CSK had won the IPL, having previously won the tournament in 2010, 2011, and 2018.

These teams meet once again to set up a heavyweight round 2 clash in the 2023 IPL. This will be a must win clash for the Kolkata Knight Riders in order to stay in the race for playoffs.