MI vs CSK Head to Head IPL Records, Stats, and All Match Results


Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, the two franchises based in Mumbai and Chennai respectively are among the most followed IPL franchises since the conception of the Indian Premier League. Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard contributed significantly to MI’s success, while MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina are the superstars of the Chennai Super Kings.

mi vs csk head to head

In detail, let’s look at the MI vs CSK head to head IPL records, Stats, and history.

MI vs CSK Head-to-Head Records

If we look at MI vs CSK head to head records, Mumbai Indias won 5 IPL championships, the most in the history of IPL, while CSK, just marginally behind, won 4 IPL trophies. Only 6 times in the last 15 years of IPL, we have got a winner other than CSK or MI.

Head to head MI and CSK locked horns in 36 games, from which Mumbai Indians won 21 games, while CSK won 15. It includes 34 IPL matches, of which MI won 20 games and CSK 14. Out of two Champion Leagues outings, MI and CSK claimed one game each.

MI vs CSK all IPL match results

Let’s have an overview of all the clashes between CSK and MI.

Date Venue Winner Won by Tournament
23-Apr-08 Chennai CSK 6 runs 2008 IPL
14-May-08 Mumbai MI 9 wickets 2008 IPL
18-Apr-09 Cape Town MI 19 runs 2009 IPL
16-May-09 Port Elizabeth CSK 7 wickets 2009 IPL
25-Apr-10 Mumbai MI 5 wickets 2010 IPL
6-Apr-10 Chennai CSK 24 runs 2010 IPL
25-Apr-10 Navi Mumbai CSK 22 runs 2010 IPL
22-Apr-11 Mumbai MI 8 runs 2011 IPL
4-Apr-12 Chennai MI 8 wickets 2012 IPL
6-May-12 Mumbai MI 2 wickets 2012 IPL
23-May-12 Bangalore CSK 38 runs 2012 IPL
6-Apr-13 Chennai MI 9 runs 2013 IPL
5-May-13 Mumbai MI 60 runs 2013 IPL
21-May-13 Delhi CSK 48 runs 2013 IPL
26-May-13 Kolkata MI 23 runs 2013 IPL
25-Apr-14 Dubai CSK 7 wickets 2014 IPL
10-May-14 Mumbai CSK 4 wickets 2014 IPL
28-May-14 Mumbai CSK 7 wickets 2014 IPL
17-Apr-15 Mumbai CSK 6 wickets 2015 IPL
8-May-15 Chennai MI 6 wickets 2015 IPL
19-May-15 Mumbai MI 25 runs 2015 IPL
24-May-15 Kolkata MI 41 runs 2015 IPL
7-Apr-18 Mumbai CSK 1 wicket 2018 IPL
28-Apr-18 Pune MI 8 wickets 2018 IPL
3-Apr-19 Mumbai MI 37 runs 2019 IPL
26-Apr-19 Chennai MI 46 runs 2019 IPL
7-May-19 Chennai MI 6 Wickets 2019 IPL
12-May-19 Hyderabad MI 1 Run 2019 IPL
19-Sep-20 Abu Dhabi CSK 5 Wickets 2020 IPL
23-Oct-20 Sharjah MI 10 Wickets 2020 IPL
19-Sep-22 Delhi MI 4 Wickets 2021 IPL
1-May-21 Dubai CSK 20 runs 2021 IPL
21-Apr-22 Mumbai CSK 3 wickets 2022 IPL
12-May-22 Mumbai MI 5 Wickets 2022 IPL

If we look at MI vs CSK head to head records, the two giants’ first-ever IPL clash was on 23 April 2008 at Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium, in which CSK triumphed by 6 runs after putting 208 on the board. Matthew Hayden (46-balls 81) was the star performer of the match.

In 2014, CSK defeated MI in all three clashes in IPL 2014. In 2019, Mumbai Indians dominated Chennai Super Kings and won all four games played against CSK during their course to become the title holder. Between 2018 and 2019, Mumbai Indians won 5 matches in a row against CSK. The maximum duration of games CSK remained unbeaten against MI is 4, which was during 2014-15.

MI vs CSK in IPL Finals

MI vs CSK head to head records show that CSK and MI locked horns in as many as 4 IPL finals – in 2010, 2013, 2015, and 2019. Out of these four IPL Final encounters, CSK triumphed only once – in the 2010 IPL final as they defeated the archrivals Mumbai Indians by 5 wickets despite a cameo from Kieron Pollard (27 from 10 balls).

In 2013, Pollard (unbeaten 60 from 32 balls) powered MI to grab their maiden IPL title, defeating CSK by 23 runs. Rohit Sharma (26-balls 50) and Lendl Simmons (68 runs from 45 balls) helped MI to beat CSK by 41 runs and lift their second IPL trophy. In 2019, MI trumped CSK once again, thanks to Pollard (unbeaten 41) and a superb spell of bowling from Malinga.

Also read -> 6 Ball 6 Six Record List

The latter successfully defended 13 runs in the last over, including the wicket off the last ball of the game when CSK needed 2.

mi vs csk head to head

In 2015 IPL final, MI piled on 202 batting first at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. Thanks to excellent half-centuries from Simmon and Rohit Sharma and cameos from Pollard and Rayudu. It proved too much CSK as they lost the final by 41 runs.

MI vs CSK all-time IPL Stats | Top Performers

Let’s check out the top batters and bowlers from both sides in all MI vs CSK head to head matches.

Top Batters

The below table lists the top batters in the MI vs CSK head to head rivalry, along with the relevant stats.

Player Team Mat Runs HS Ave SR 100 50
Suresh Raina CSK 32 736 83 28.31 140.19 0 6
Rohit Sharma MI 26 711 87 29.63 128.34 0 7
MS Dhoni CSK 35 710 63 37.37 136.02 0 3
Kieron Pollard MI 29 636 87 35.33 169.6 0 4
Sachin Tendulkar MI 13 370 74 30.83 116.72 0 3
Faf du Plessis CSK 16 365 58 24.33 127.18 0 3

Just considering CSK vs MI head to head records, Suresh Raina (CSK), one of the finest T20 batsmen, has been the top batter from both teams with 736 runs from 32 innings. He scored at an average of 28.31 a strike rate of 140.19. He scored 6 half-centuries and his highest score is 83. Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma is the second on the list with 711 runs, while MS Dhoni (CSK) is behind him by just 1 run to be the third-highest run-scorer overall.

Pollard (636 runs) cannot be missed in this list for the plenty of runs he scored while playing for MI. Sachin Tendulkar (370 runs) and Faf du Plessis (365 runs) are among the significant contributors for MI and CSK, respectively, in these CSK vs MI head to head contests.

Among the best batters in head to head MI vs CSK matches, MS Dhoni has the highest average at 37.37, whereas Pollard has the highest strike rate at a whopping 169.6.

Top Bowlers

Let's now look at some of the top bowlers in CSK vs MI head to head matches. There are some all-time IPL legends in this list. Just have a look at their stats.

Player Team Mat Runs Wkts Ave Econ SR
Lasith Malinga MI 23 651 37 17.59 7.27 14.51
Dwayne Bravo CSK 21 577 32 18.03 7.98 13.56
Harbhajan Singh MI 23 554 24 23.08 6.67 20.75
Ravindra Jadeja CSK 25 557 18 30.94 8.7 21.33
Kieron Pollard MI 29 405 15 27 8.59 18.87
Mohit Sharma CSK 11 320 15 21.33 8.07 15.87

The head to head MI vs CSK records project Lasith Malinga (MI) as the top bowler with 37 wickets from 23 games, with a brilliant average of 17.59 and a strike rate of 14.51. He has the lowest average among all the bowlers in the above list. Additionally, his superb economy of 7.27 is the second lowest as well. No wonder Bumrah rules in the MI vs CSK rivalry and in the IPL overall.

Dwayne Bravo (CSK) is next with 32 wickets from 21 matches, while Harbhajan, the “Turbanator” has grabbed 24 wickets for MI against CSK. Harbhajan with an economy of just 6.67 has the lowest economy among the above set of bowlers.

Also read -> IPL 2023 Schedule

Ravindra Jadeja is the fourth-best bowler (CSK) with 18 wickets, while Kieron Pollard and Mohit Sharma have got 15 wickets each for MI and CSK, respectively.