List of records held by Rohit Sharma in the IPL

Rohit Sharma has been one of the star attractions in the IPL. Rohit, who began his IPL career with Deccan Charger in IPL 2008, shifted his base to Mumbai Indians in IPL 2011. Ever since Sharma has been a key player for the Mumbai-based franchise in the IPL. In IPL 2013, Rohit was handed over the captaincy duties mid-way through the season and turned fortunes by helping the side to their first-ever IPL title in 2013.

With some of the greatest IPL moments witnessed in the past few seasons, Rohit Sharma has been at the heart of this success for MI. Not only has he delivered as a captain but has also contributed with the bat in hand. 

With another approaching IPL season, we turn back the clock to take a look some of the records held by Rohit Sharma in the IPL:

5. IPL Hat-trick

Sharma took an IPL hattrick in 2009 vs MI
Sharma took an IPL hattrick in 2009 vs MI

We have seen Rohit Sharma changing the course of the match with his bat from nowhere in the IPL.  But there was a moment when HITMAN turned the game with his golden arm when he played for Deccan Chargers in 2009 with an IPL hat-trick. A hat-trick in the IPL is a dream for any spinner but being a part-time off-spinner, Rohit has a badge of hat-trick honour to his name as well.

Moreover, Rohit Sharma is the only Indian cricketer in the IPL to have scored a hundred and taken a hat-trick in the league. Notably, Rohit claimed his maiden IPL hat-trick against his current team Mumbai Indians while playing for Deccan Chargers in IPL 2009. 

ALSO READ Top five Most successful IPL captains


4. Most IPL Titles

Rohit is the most successful IPL Captain
Rohit has won 4 IPL trophies with Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma is indeed the most successful player in IPL history. He has won five IPL trophies in the past twelve years of the IPL. In 2009, he was a part of the IPL-winning Deccan Chargers squad. His next four IPL trophies have come while leading the Mumbai Indians outfit in blue. He has led the franchise to IPL victories in 2013, 2015, 2017, and in 2019. In doing so, Rohit Sharma has also earned a distinguished achievement of being the only IPL captain to win four IPL trophies. 


3. Most Match appearances in IPL

Rohit has played 188 IPL matches so far

IPL schedule usually gets hectic for players with consecutive matches with a nominal rest period between match days. As a result, most players tend to miss matches due to health or injury concerns. Despite such hectic IPL scheduling during the Indian summer, some of the players manage to feature in most of their team's matches throughout a season. 

Rohit Sharma is one of the few players in the IPL, who have played over 150 IPL matches in the league so far. He currently ranks third on the list of most matches played in the IPL. With 188 matches, Rohit is only behind Suresh Raina (193) and MS Dhoni (190) in terms of appearances made in the IPL. It is highly likely that Rohit would be playing his 200th IPL match this season in UAE


2. Most Runs in IPL

Rohit Sharma IPL runs
Rohit is the third-highest run-getter in IPL history

Rohit Sharma is one of the most prolific run-scorers in the IPL. With 4898 runs in 188 IPL matches, Rohit is ranked third in the list of most IPL runs. He's behind only Virat Kohli (5412), the leading IPL run-scorer, and Suresh Raina in terms of run scored in the IPL. However, Rohit holds the record for most IPL runs for Mumbai Indians in IPL history. In IPL 2020, Rohit will have an opportunity to take his IPL tally of runs past the 5000-run mark. The Mumbai-batsman would love to score plethora of runs this IPL season in guiding his team to the last four in the tournament.


ALSO READ Five Best IPL knocks played by MS Dhoni


1. Most consecutive appearances in IPL

Rohit Sharma for Mumbai Indians
Rohit Sharma missed an IPL match after 133 consecutive appearances

In IPL 2019, Rohit Sharma narrowly missed out on equalling the record for most consecutive appearances in Indian Premier League for a team. Rohit, who played 133 consecutive IPL matches for Mumbai Indians, had to miss on a match against Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2019. With 134 consecutive IPL appearances for Chennai Super Kings, Suresh Rains holds the record while Rohit takes the second spot in this elusive list.