List of all IPL Teams with their Owners | IPL Team Owners

IPL Team Owners | IPL 2021

Each team in the IPL is either owned by an individual or a group of people. It is these IPL team owners who manage their franchises as they continue to play a major role in shaping the IPL since 2008. Here's a look at IPL team owners who own their respective franchise in IPL 2021:


Click here to see Who will win today's IPL match?

List of All Team Owners in IPL 2021

IPL Team Owners Name Best IPL Season Team Brand Value
Chennai Super Kings  Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited Champions (2010, 2011, 2018) INR 611 Cr
Delhi Capitals GMR Group and JSW Group Finalists (2020) INR 370 Cr
Punjab Kings Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, Karan Paul Finalists (2014) INR 318 Cr
Mumbai Indians Reliance Industries Champions (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020) INR 761 Cr
Kolkata Knight Riders Red Chillies Entertainment and Mehta Group Champions (2012 and 2014) INR 543 Cr
Sunrisers Hyderabad Sun TV Network Champions (2016) INR 442 Cr
Rajasthan Royals Manoj Badale Champions (2008) INR 249 Cr
Royal Challengers Bangalore United Spirits Finalists (2016) INR 536 Cr

(Team brand value is estimated before IPL 2021)


More info about IPL Team owners in 2021

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) IPL Team owner 2021

IPL Team owners
CSK IPL Team owner in 2021 (Image Source: Indian Express)

The Chennai-based franchise, Chennai Super Kings is owned by Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited. Earlier, India Cements owned CSK from 2008 to IPL 2014, but due to conflict of Issue, the CSK IPL Team ownership was changed to a separate entity as CSK cricket ltd. N.Srinivasan, the vice-chairman and the MD of India Cements happens to be the key figure in CSK's cricket-related activities.


Delhi Capitals (DC) IPL Team Owner 2021

Delhi Capitals Owner - Parth Jindal & Kiran Kumar Grandhi
Delhi Capitals Owner – Parth Jindal & Kiran Kumar Grandhi (Image Source: BCCI/IPL)

Delhi Capitals is a joint venture under the ownership of the GMR group and the JSW group with equal shares in the franchise. In 2018, the GMR group sold 50% shares to JSW, extending the team ownership between the two co-owners. Parth Jindal, the Managing Director of the JSW (Jindal South West) is the chairman of Delhi Capitals. Parth is an active member who looks after the functioning of the franchise. He was also seen at the IPL auction in 2020.


Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) IPL Team Owner 2021

IPL Team Owners
Anand Kripalu owns RCB in IPL 2021 (Image Source: IPL/BCCI)

United Spirits has been the parent company to own Royal Challengers Bangalore since IPL 2008. However, Vijay Mallya was always regarded as the RCB team owner before he stepped down as the director of Royal Challengers Sports Private Limited (RCSPL) in 2016. The change in team ownership ahead of IPL 2016 did bring a change of fortunes for RCB as they witnessed their best IPL season in 2016. For the last five years, United Spirits are the sole team owner for RCB.



Rajasthan Royals (RR) IPL Team Owner 2021

Rajasthan Royals Owner – Manoj Badale (Image Source: Twitter/IPL)

Rajasthan Royals Owner Manoj Badale is the majority stake holder in Rajasthan Royals (RR). Badale's Emerging Media IPL ltd. (EMIPL) owns a little over 50 per cent (~50.1%) stake in the franchise along with a few other investors including Suresh Chellaram, who earlier owned the majority stake in the Rajasthan Royals setup. Other team owners for Rajasthan Royals in IPL include Lachlan Murdoch who owns 11.7% shares in the franchise.


Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) IPL Team Owner 2021

IPL Team Owners
Shahrukh Khan is co-owner for KKR in the IPL (Image Source: IPL/BCCI)

Shahrukh Khan's Red Chillies Entertainment company and Mehta Group are the two team owners for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL. With stakes of 55% and 45% respectively, Shahrukh, and the Mehta Group  – headed by Juhi Chawala and her husband Jay Mehta, bought KKR in IPL 2008 for a price of $75.09 million. During most KKR matches in the IPL, both the team owners are spotted cheering for the ‘Men in Purple' in the stadium.


Mumbai Indians (MI) IPL Team Owner 2021

The most successful IPL franchise, Mumbai Indians is owned by Reliance Industries since the inaugural IPL edition in 2008. Akash Ambani, the son of Mukesh Ambani, Chairman and MD of Reliance Industries, actively takes part in the functioning of the IPL  franchise alongside his mother, Nita Ambani. The two have been seen cheering for Mumbai not only at the stadiums but even giving a pep talk in the MI dressing room on various occasions. Undoubtedly, Ambanis are the most passionate IPL team owners among all the teams.

Punjab Kings (PBKS) IPL Team Owner 2021

IPL Team Owners
Preity Zinta is co-owner of KXIP in IPL (Image Source: CricTracker)

Punjab Kings is majorly owned by Dabur's Mohit Burman with maximum shares (46%) in the franchise. Ness Wadia (23%), Priety Zinta (23%), and Karan Paul (8%) are the other three owners for Punjab in the IPL. However, Preity Zinta is the face of Punjab Kings. Despite underperforming in most IPL seasons, Zinta has been a key supporter for Punjab over the years. She has been regularly spotted at all IPL matches for the Punjab-based franchise.


Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) IPL Team Owner 2021

SRH Owner Kaviya Maran
SRH owner along with daughter Kaviya Maran and wife Kaveri Maran during the IPL 2021 (Image Source: BCCI/Sportzpics)

The Hyderabad-based franchise, SRH is owned by Sun TV Network since IPL 2013. The franchise replaced Deccan Chargers after the 2012 IPL edition to represent Hyderabad in the IPL. Kalinithi Maran, the CEO of the Sun TV Network is the SRH IPL Team Owner while her daughter, Kaviya Maran, has been spotted cheering for the team on various occasions in the stadiums.

IPL Owner – Who owns the IPL?

Indian Premier League (IPL) is an Indian domestic T20 tournament owned by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). BCCI has a separate governing body that takes the decisions pertaining to all the activities involving IPL. Currently, Brijesh Patel is the chairman of the IPl governing council.


How to Watch IPL 2021 Live for Free?

Indian Premier League (IPL) is undoubtedly the most followed T20 cricket leagues around the globe. All IPL followers can follow CricNerds or binge on how to watch IPL live guide for live IPL action in 2021.

Kartik Bansal

Kartik Bansal

An avid Cricket Follower